4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V5, 14.1.B.1.532 Out - Big In Every Way!

Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 01:11 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Sep 16 2013, 12:17 AM)
No I meant that Android 5.0 - Key Lime Pie will be available for it in the future. I know after this is Android 4.4 - Kit Kat. I meant after Kit Kat. thumbup.gif
It won't call Key Lime Pie also even when v5.0 is out.

Android follow ABC and K already taken by Kit Kat. The next sweet will be start with L.
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 10:52 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Sep 16 2013, 10:38 AM)
I used my friends HTC One for a week and I really hated Sense UI. Dunno why. hmm.gif
Me also, so you not the only one. Hehe....

The UI is smooth but I don't like it. I find it not enough user friendly compare with Pure Android, Sony UI, Samsung UI, Lenovo UI or XiaoMi UI.
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 11:21 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

Off Topic: Check out the sample photos I taken using XiaoMi MI-2s, the output is speechless awesome! OMG! the best phone camera I ever use!

Mi-2s (32GB edition only) using same sensor as Xperia Z but the output is heaven and hell!

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=63212322

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 16 2013, 11:26 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 11:52 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(iitadakimas @ Sep 16 2013, 11:47 AM)
Is there any wake/sleep cases/functionality for Xperia Z Ultra?

Coming from a S4 user I really miss that feature a lot. To have to press such a small power button on such a huge phone is quite uncomfortable.
Nope, unless you want to install those proximity sensor app that can make any cover case with such functions but drain battery.

The power button at center, I find it comfortable, I am ex-owner.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 16 2013, 11:53 AM
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 01:47 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Sep 16 2013, 12:16 PM)
i recommend use smart cover pro.. which very useful and use proximity sensor but not so battery drains..
I think that the better.
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 08:47 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 16 2013, 08:34 PM)
You are wrong. My toys is using myself money to buy. I saving RM500 per month, means RM6000 per year brows.gif

And the RM500 is gave from my mom, her salary... fuiyohh I don't dare to say
That is not your earn money. Be remember that.

And learn take care stuff! even though that is not your hard earn money.
Andrewtst
post Sep 16 2013, 08:51 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Sep 16 2013, 08:23 PM)
I'm a gadget freak lah bro! Lappy just upgrade from Asus to Alienware. Will use it for a year lah then upgrade again. smile.gif
I know your parents is superb duperb rich.

But bear in mind all is your parents hard earned money. Nothing proud to show off unless it is your own earn money to get it. smile.gif
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 01:52 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

Just check around XDA. The Fake Hang & SOD issue still there.

I feel lucky selling it off now. Release my tension about this stupid issue.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread...=2447091&page=2

Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 01:57 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Hertz96 @ Sep 17 2013, 01:54 AM)
Yeap. Just saw it too. Headache with Sony already. They're releasing an update without any updates. doh.gif
Yep... Speechless...

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 17 2013, 01:55 AM)
Ahha! Tablet Z right?
Ya, the only Sony device left with me now.
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 09:17 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

If LTE is working by just flashing LTE ROM to non LTE version, it is a great news for all user that purchase non LTE version.

Once confirm, I will let my friend know doing it.
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 01:40 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 17 2013, 01:35 PM)
Not necessary. Example Samsung , HTC phones will definitely hard brick if you flash a LTE ROM on to a GSM phone. Was surprised this Sony XZU could be flash as possibly the LTE was just disabled only

I already sold my unit, or else probably I can test it. Haha!

Not sure to said Sony kind enough or ... stupid enough, if it really can activate by only changing ROM.

Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 03:26 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(leechunghan @ Sep 17 2013, 03:18 PM)
WT.... i tot only rm3XX - 6XX only..  cry.gif  doh.gif  rclxub.gif
Impossible, especially the QX100 model, QX100 is Zeiss. Zeiss is world well known great lenses company.
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 03:49 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 17 2013, 03:47 PM)
Flashing wrong ROM also void warranty mah right?  icon_question.gif
Flashing wrong ROM and if the phone is completely dead, easier to claim warranty depends on how you talk. hehe...
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 07:13 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 17 2013, 07:08 PM)
ok.. tested.. fake hang still there. yawn.gif
Pray Sony see this thread or anyone post at Sony own forum about this issue.
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 08:40 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Sep 17 2013, 08:20 PM)
calling andrewtst lol
Don't call me. I am officially retired from Sony phone. No longer have XZU and XZ.

The only left out is XTZ.

tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: Sep 17 2013, 08:41 PM
Andrewtst
post Sep 17 2013, 10:20 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(weileong @ Sep 17 2013, 09:33 PM)

My six sense told me i'll like it. tongue.gif
My six sense as well. Hehe!
Andrewtst
post Sep 18 2013, 10:54 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 18 2013, 10:33 AM)
just some thoughts this morning..

i'm sad to see how people discriminate this phone, yes due to some glitches, while ignoring the good things about it.. the awesome display, high end specs, remarkably thin (still owning the title for the biggest-thinnest portable device up to date), expandable storage, water proof and dust proof, capable of playing 4k video, less if not none radio problem (wifi, 3g, GPS etc.).. i remember just a year back, this is what i wish to have, everything that i wish has been fulfilled by Sony.

I not only discriminate this phone (A bit strong said discriminate la), I also did to others phone that not meet my requirement.

Some of my Android phone/tablet experience.
  • HTC Google Nexus One - I am pretty impress that time, I never complain any of it, except it look really ugly.
  • Samsung Galaxy S II - I9100G Edition - I shot like hell everywhere that time, even worst than I shoot XZU. Crazy hanging device.
  • Samsung Galaxy S III - I also complain on it home launcher keep restarting and crazy lag after long on. But I not that crazy shoot about it.
  • Samsung Google Nexus 10 - I also shoot everywhere due to it extreme not stable condition. 2nd crazy hanging device I ever use.
  • Samsung Galaxy Note II - I never own this, but my sister, 2nd Android phone I feel worth to get, awesome experience.
  • Sony Xperia Z - extreme stable, the most stable android phone I ever use, solid, the only complain is the viewing angle issue and camera, later firmware finally make the camera usable.
  • Sony Xperia Tablet Z - my second tablet, stable and smooth, no complain.
  • Sony Xperia Z Ultra - My believe on Sony is gone, it is not stable to me, already 6 or 7 firmware out, I dunno what those firmware do, it fixed nothing, existing bugs is there and extra add-on more bugs. At least 6 bugs I encounter before I sell it. Sorry, it is too many bugs to me already and those bugs is annoyed me. Example the Chinese-English Keyboard, YouTube video and also the fake hang and SOD, it make me more caution on remembering tick the optimize backlight before shutdown and also need to assure battery never flat. I know some unit look same when tick or untick optimize backlight but mine is big different. Also the camera output is crazy crap, my friend ask me is your camera VGA quality! It is unusable in indoor. Even outdoor also not good. Old phone like S II can get better result than it.
  • XiaoMi MI-2s - no complain till now, extreme awesome camera. I find it even better than Note 3 for latest snap by PhoneArena.

Andrewtst
post Sep 18 2013, 12:16 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 18 2013, 11:52 AM)
i've seen a few device with much more problem than this, and the problems are not tolerable because it interfere with the common operation of the phone.. but the bugs on XZU is negligible because i don't mind leave the optimise backlight ticked, in fact i will not know about the buy if you did not pointed out. tongue.gif

the YouTube video i guess its Chrome browser problem.. recently i use Boat browser more, and i played Youtube video posted in this forum with no problem. can anyone double check?

about the camera, thats exaggerated, not that BAD. sweat.gif perhaps due to your total disappointment, so it has become your allergy. or simply your XZU camera have problem as well?  shocking.gif

regarding firmware fix, this phone has been out say like 3 months? do you know what is the longest time taken for Samsung to fix their TW bugs in previous models?  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  i remember FC(force-close) issues and some other issues has become our daily meal in some phone models before, the manufacturer simply can't solve the problem, until user forgot and move on to other phone.  biggrin.gif
Before that I also though is Chrome issue, but is not lo. I already get back my Tablet Z, I don't have issue watch inside Chrome or download the YouTube via JetVD, it run perfectly fine in Tablet Z and XiaoMi MI-2s.

The optimize backlight is affected me, you seen I post before on and off comparison right, my unit is big different.

The camera really bad la, it is the worst phone camera I ever use in recent 2 years. The over compression and noise filtering is unacceptable, and auto mode in dark place is over noise, Sony push too high the ISO, it is over limit.

I didn't face FC issue in my Samsung device, only face crazy hang in S II, that phone I sell within a month use, same as this Z Ultra.
Andrewtst
post Sep 18 2013, 04:05 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 18 2013, 04:02 PM)
No optical zoom.mentioned. Means??
No lah, how to do optical zoom in that tiny lens, you don't see it push out right.

It is digital zoom.
Andrewtst
post Sep 18 2013, 04:11 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,771 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 18 2013, 04:07 PM)
Digital zoom not that good right?
Off course, Digital zoom is some sort like fake zooming, it just enlarge the potion of the area you zoom practically.
Last time Nokia 808 success due to it superb big MP which will be useful even it is digital zoom.

Phone cannot do Optical zoom as impossible, it will be too bulky. I know now got one with Optical zoom phone - Samsung Galaxy S4 Zoom, you can notice how bulky that phone are.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0527sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 12:19 AM