Getting a new bike, Getting a new bike

TSDEX.95
post Sep 14 2013, 04:19 PM, updated 13y ago

Getting a new bike cant decide

sorry i m not sure if i m in the right place.

Cant decide between the Honda CBR 150 or Kawasaki ninja 150rr need some experience biker help here.I never rode

a bike before so which is better smile.gif

1) which has cheaper maintenance ?
2) how often need to service?
3) Petrol consumption ?

if you got other bike to suggest please tell me target is a 150cc bike.

Thx guys really need your help in this

ZintanthraX
post Sep 15 2013, 03:28 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(DEX.95 @ Sep 14 2013, 04:19 PM)
Getting a new bike cant decide

sorry i m not sure if i m in the right place.

Cant decide between the Honda CBR 150 or Kawasaki ninja 150rr need some experience biker help here.I never rode

a bike before so which is better  smile.gif

1) which has cheaper maintenance ?
2) how often need to service?
3) Petrol consumption ?

if you got other bike to suggest please tell me target is a 150cc bike.

Thx guys really need your help in this
1) maintenance wise both are almost the same.
2) depends on how you ride. just need to change the engine oil every once in a while.
3) ninja have higher FC compared to cbr. plus ninja is a 2 stroke bike, so you need to spend on the 2T.

want a fast bike : ninja

want a fuel save bike : cbr

current trend : ninja

higher rate of getting stolen : ninja
wordtalks
post Sep 15 2013, 11:17 AM

ɾıɥƃɟǝpɔqɐŕ�
718 posts

CBR 150 not sure Malaysia have or not... kinda rare?
Kawa 150rr is 2 stroke, which means preng prengggg sound. LOL

Which not choose yamaha fz150i?
better also for beginner but for your info, the 3 bikes above is manual. Not automatic, if you want automatic, maybe can start with honda ex5.. but then again its kapcai.
diablokun
post Sep 15 2013, 03:21 PM

7th toruk makto
1,078 posts

you'll pay extra money for the name..."honda"...always a step above compared to the rest of the maker...

compared those two, just go for kawa...price is cheaper, maintenance as well...petrol consumptions wise, both is OK...
SUSjolokia
post Sep 15 2013, 11:21 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

U never rode a bike before ? mean u don't even had a B2 licence ? in that case first go register at a driving school...lol..

Anyway I would not advice u to get a bike with clutch as ur first bike, u need to control the balance & braking first before learning how to control the clutch.

Still

Kawasaki Ninja 150RR vs Honda CBR150

Good looks - Ninja offcoz, CBR kind of "small" & look funny if u r big size fellow.

Quality - Ninja have better frame & more rigid swing arm, CBR quite plain in term of equipment.

Maintenance - Ninja been 2 stroke need constants service including de carbon cylinder, CBR 4 stroke engine mean less maintenance. (note : if the mechanic accidentally scratch ur Ninja cylinder wall using pneumatic steel brush mean u end up with huge repair cost)

FC - Ninja need both Fuel & 2T oil to run meaning higher cost, even by comparing on fuel consumption alone CBR still win.

Lastly if u don't have a "Safe" place to park ur bike forget about Ninja, other Ninja will kidnap ur Ninja ...lol...

If u r getting these 2 full faring bike be prepare to spend $$$ coz one fall cost u a bomb to replace those nice faring.

Lastly u can too consider Yamaha FZ150 as it a naked bike meaning no faring to scratch. .lol..I am not sure both Ninja & CBR had that middle// double stand, if not lubricating the chain may be a task, I know coz used to rode a TZM many years ago.

megahertz
post Sep 16 2013, 03:47 AM

i always smiling, problem?
1,846 posts

Honda CBR 150
- dont hv brand new stock anymore unless u buy 2nd
- even u buy 2nd, spare parts quite rare cos the bike itself very rare

Kawasaki ninja 150rr
- 2 stroke, mean high maintenance for 2T oil
- fastest bike for 150cc
- kinda thief magnet, most rempit use this bike

why not yamaha FZ150?
- most cheapest than those 2
- plenty of spare parts
- good FC, fuel injection, good for daily ride

u boring with kapchai?, (mind u this bike is not mean for speeding and not fast, just have good pickup)
- buy any scrambler bike like KLX150/d-tracker150, DTM, others than that, im not sure about the quality for those china scrambler

any yamaha/honda scooter also quite good for bike beginner, with auto gear, more space to store ur helmet, smooth ride.
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 12:16 PM

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Sep 15 2013, 03:28 AM)
1) maintenance wise both are almost the same.
2) depends on how you ride. just need to change the engine oil every once in a while.
3) ninja have higher FC compared to cbr. plus ninja is a 2 stroke bike, so you need to spend on the 2T.

want a fast bike : ninja

want a fuel save bike : cbr

current trend : ninja

higher rate of getting stolen : ninja
O I dint know both maintenance is the same. But roughly how much is to change the oil, sry noob here. Thx for the information smile.gif
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 12:22 PM

QUOTE(wordtalks @ Sep 15 2013, 11:17 AM)
CBR 150 not sure Malaysia have or not... kinda rare?
Kawa 150rr is 2 stroke, which means preng prengggg sound. LOL

Which not choose yamaha fz150i?
better also for beginner but for your info, the 3 bikes above is manual. Not automatic, if you want automatic, maybe can start with honda ex5.. but then again its kapcai.
Hmm starting with kapcai no problem, just that I kinda like sports bike and would not want spend much on it maybe max will go up to 250cc but of cause must have enough experience. Yamaha fz150i, Ok later I will take a look. Thx for your information

TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 12:24 PM

QUOTE(diablokun @ Sep 15 2013, 03:21 PM)
you'll pay extra money for the name..."honda"...always a step above compared to the rest of the maker...

compared those two, just go for kawa...price is cheaper, maintenance as well...petrol consumptions wise, both is OK...
Is it ture I heard the bike salesman said Kawa 150 rr high maintenance because every month Nedd change oil? Sry for asking this kinda questions smile.gif
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 12:36 PM

QUOTE(jolokia @ Sep 15 2013, 11:21 PM)
U never rode a bike before ? mean u don't even had a B2 licence ? in that case first go register at a driving school...lol..

Anyway I would not advice u to get a bike with clutch as ur first bike, u need to control the balance & braking first before learning how to control the clutch.

Still

Kawasaki Ninja 150RR vs Honda CBR150

Good looks - Ninja offcoz, CBR kind of "small" & look funny if u r big size fellow.

Quality - Ninja have better frame & more rigid swing arm, CBR quite plain in term of equipment.

Maintenance - Ninja been 2 stroke need constants service including de carbon cylinder, CBR 4 stroke engine mean less maintenance. (note : if the mechanic accidentally scratch ur Ninja cylinder wall using pneumatic steel brush mean u end up with huge repair cost)

FC - Ninja need both Fuel & 2T oil to run meaning higher cost, even by comparing on fuel consumption alone CBR still win.

Lastly if u don't have a "Safe" place to park ur bike forget about Ninja, other Ninja will kidnap ur Ninja ...lol...

If u r getting these 2 full faring bike be prepare to spend $$$ coz one fall cost u a bomb to replace those nice faring.

Lastly u can too consider Yamaha FZ150 as it a naked bike meaning no faring to scratch. .lol..I am not sure both Ninja & CBR had that middle// double stand, if not lubricating the chain may be a task, I know coz used to rode a TZM many years ago.
Haha u have a point there I m getting my licence next month, but planning to get a bike soon. Alot of ppl tell me to get a bike with no clutch cuz is easy. Is it hard to control both the ninja and cbr besides the clutc? And is there any good looking bike at 150cc without clutch can recommend? Thx this really helps
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 12:48 PM

QUOTE(megahertz @ Sep 16 2013, 03:47 AM)
Honda CBR 150
- dont hv brand new stock anymore unless u buy 2nd
- even u buy 2nd, spare parts quite rare cos the bike itself very rare
Kawasaki ninja 150rr
- 2 stroke, mean high maintenance for 2T oil
- fastest bike for 150cc
- kinda thief magnet, most rempit use this bike
why not yamaha FZ150?
- most cheapest than those 2
- plenty of spare parts
- good FC, fuel injection, good for daily ride
u boring with kapchai?, (mind u this bike is not mean for speeding and not fast, just have good pickup)
- buy any scrambler bike like KLX150/d-tracker150, DTM, others than that, im not sure about the quality for those china scrambler

any yamaha/honda scooter also quite good for bike beginner, with auto gear, more space to store ur helmet, smooth ride.
[QUOTE]

Haha wow I dint know honda cbr bike now only can get 2nd hand type only, was planning to drop by a honda bike showroom next week just to enquire the cbr. Anyways I heard maintenance for ninja 150RR is like a bomb in long run is it true u must change the oil every month heard it from ppl and the salesman? About the kapcai no offence to kapcai user but I think the design looks very classic, my intension is to get a sports bike type, just to play not racing just raiding, plus I am not that big and tall around 168cm only. Hmm do u have any bike In mind that doesn't have clutch and doesn't cost a bomb and look nice at the same time I know is too much too ask, but can u recommend. Thx for the information smile.gif
SUSjolokia
post Sep 16 2013, 12:56 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(DEX.95 @ Sep 16 2013, 12:36 PM)
Haha u have a point there I m getting my licence next month, but planning to get a bike soon. Alot of ppl tell me to get a bike with no clutch cuz is easy. Is it hard to control both the ninja and cbr besides the clutc? And is there any good looking bike at 150cc without clutch can recommend?  Thx this really helps
I remembered back then when first I rode my new TZM from shop back to house about 6km, engine mati & re start more than 10 times coz not well verse with clutch control. ..lol..

Why must be 150cc ?? but I think there r some 150cc cup/scooter in the market, sorry can't give u any recommendations as I had not ride a motorcycle for more than a decade, getting old so need 4 wheels ..rofl..

U can consider getting a used cub or scooter, familiarise with then bike later upgrade to bigger bike with clutch, u wouldn't loss much in RV too, make sure u get a bike with at lease front disc brakes, coz drum brake easily cause wheel lock up on wet road.

But I would alway advice people to get a car if income r ok, coz bike is really dangerous.
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 01:17 PM

QUOTE(jolokia @ Sep 16 2013, 12:56 PM)
I remembered back then when first I rode my new TZM from shop back to house about 6km, engine mati & re start more than 10 times coz not well verse with clutch control. ..lol..

Why must be 150cc ?? but I think there r some 150cc cup/scooter in the market,  sorry can't give u any recommendations as I had not ride a motorcycle for more than a decade,  getting old so need 4 wheels ..rofl..

U can consider getting a used cub or scooter, familiarise with then bike later upgrade to bigger bike with clutch, u wouldn't loss much in RV too, make sure u get a bike with at lease front disc brakes,  coz drum brake easily cause wheel lock up on wet road.

But I would alway advice people to get a car if income r ok, coz bike is really dangerous.
Wa yr experience quite funny smile.gif was the TZM yr first bike or u had something else? I heard is like a manual car u cant fully let go the clutch must slowly. Anyways I wan 150 cc cuz getting a bike is just a hobby I've been admiring ppl on bike since young. The most in future will get a 250cc only cuz lazy take new license. I m trying out my friends Lc later. And Thx for the info on the break really helpful. Hmm my parents also told me about how dangerous is raiding a bike in P.J but I really love it that's y I just wan get something not to slow and not too fast but of Cuz look nice biggrin.gif. Once again Thx for sharing yr experience.
SUSjolokia
post Sep 16 2013, 01:28 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(DEX.95 @ Sep 16 2013, 01:17 PM)
Wa yr experience quite funny smile.gif  was the TZM yr first bike or u had something else? I heard is like a manual car u cant fully let go the clutch must slowly. Anyways I wan 150 cc cuz getting a bike is just a hobby I've been admiring ppl on bike since young. The most in future will get a 250cc only cuz lazy take new license. I m trying out my friends Lc later. And Thx for the info on the break really helpful. Hmm my parents also told me about how dangerous is raiding a bike in P.J but I really love it that's y I just wan get something not to slow and not too fast but of Cuz look nice  biggrin.gif. Once again Thx for sharing yr experience.
First bike was a used Yamaha 110ss kapchai, got clutch by if let go clutch won't mati engine one ...lol..

For hobby can consider Benelli Keeyway look big & cheap but china made lah...

Get a good helmet, jacket, boot & glove, better be safe than sorry. (these stuff keep save my life many times).

This post has been edited by jolokia: Sep 16 2013, 01:30 PM
ZintanthraX
post Sep 16 2013, 01:31 PM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(DEX.95 @ Sep 16 2013, 12:16 PM)
O I dint know both maintenance is the same. But roughly how much is to change the oil, sry noob here. Thx for the information  smile.gif
depends on what brand. normally rm30 and above.
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 01:38 PM

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Sep 16 2013, 01:31 PM)
depends on what brand. normally rm30 and above.
RM 30 per month plus petrol total up less than 100 I think quite worth. Thx for sharing yr knowledge really appreciate smile.gif
TSDEX.95
post Sep 16 2013, 01:40 PM

QUOTE(jolokia @ Sep 16 2013, 01:28 PM)
First bike was a used Yamaha 110ss kapchai, got clutch by if let go clutch won't mati engine one ...lol..

For hobby can consider Benelli Keeyway look big & cheap but china made lah...

Get a good helmet, jacket, boot & glove, better be safe than sorry.  (these stuff keep save my life many times).
Haha Thx later will do some research on that. U can get it in any bike shop rite?

This post has been edited by DEX.95: Sep 16 2013, 01:44 PM
cokelatpanda
post Sep 17 2013, 09:25 AM

292 posts

Clutch bike for spirited riding. if want ride leisurely, clutchless bike is the best. For city ride better take kapchai/scooter; easy to handle and agile too. Not too fast, not too slow ehh? How 'bout LC; Axelo; Belang; FZ150i; Dinamik.
SUSjolokia
post Sep 17 2013, 12:09 PM

So Hot It Burns..!!!
3,274 posts

QUOTE(DEX.95 @ Sep 16 2013, 01:40 PM)
Haha Thx later will do some research on that. U can get it in any bike shop rite?
Not sure about PJ but in KL I seen quite a few shop selling it, saw a few on the road too.

How about some big Scotter like Honda PCX 150
pallmall
post Sep 17 2013, 12:56 PM

34 posts

Try KTM Duke 200 or 125(is it in malaysia yet dunno)

0.0178sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:44 PM