Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

william1120
post Sep 26 2013, 11:18 AM

24 posts

Good there to you pro's.

I would like to buy a notebook for my working purpose. Looking for a lappy that can helps to surf faster, no lagging, good video n sound for presentation purpose.

The lappy must be able to tahan few years la..not 1 or 2, 15.6inch or wider, and light.

My budget is 2000 and below.

Any recommendations shifu?
william1120
post Sep 26 2013, 12:41 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2013, 12:04 PM)
Can consider these:
15.6"
Asus A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

Dell
Inspiron 15R, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1599 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8 , 6 cell
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1749[2.25kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1899
Inspiron 15, i5-3337U + AMD HD7670M@RM1799[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1949

Toshiba
Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
All these are budget-line notebooks, so can't really expect super good video and sound quality.
I suppose you could opt for Dell, and top up a bit to get 3 years on-site warranty service (best in Malaysia, fix any problems within 1-2 working days); or you could just get the Toshiba which comes with 3 years warranty (carry-in warranty though, do take note)  icon_rolleyes.gif
Dear bro,

Intel or AMD which is better? I have been using only Asus for the past 5 years. So I got really no idea on others.
If my budget is 2.5k, what will be the lappy to be?
william1120
post Sep 26 2013, 03:18 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2013, 03:14 PM)
Intel has the upper hand now nod.gif
For a budget of RM2.5k, you can either consider this:
15.6"
Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8
Or the ones recommended earlier, but use the remaining budget to get a full SSD (~RM300 for 128GB; ~RM600 for 256GB) to replace the original HDD that comes with the notebook. That way the speed will be a hell lot faster brows.gif
TQ bro, so this is more rekemen-able rite? Asus S550CB-CJ102H i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB + (1366x768; touch)@RM2499[1.83kg], 4GB, W8

william1120
post Sep 26 2013, 03:27 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2013, 03:25 PM)
Yeah, its pretty good, nice looking as well.
But do take note that Asus Malaysia's warranty service is one of the worst.
So 100% sure that you are getting a good unit before you go home after purchase  nod.gif  nod.gif
aduiz..mind to share why u say it worst? tot gt 2 yrs global warranty?

Bro, dell n asus, same budget, which is better? heard dell got a good post purchase service
william1120
post Sep 26 2013, 03:44 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 26 2013, 03:32 PM)
Read here for more details, and you will understand why we say that laugh.gif https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2337458
Yes, Dell offers the best warranty support (when covered, so its best to extend the warranty to 3 years).

These actually these 2 awesome notebooks from Dell as well, but since they have pretty weak wifi cards (short range), I don't really dare recommending them to you:
15.6"
Dell
Vostro 5560, i3-3120M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2009[2.2kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD
Vostro 5560, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT630M@RM2349[2.2kg], 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), W8, ODD

The 14" version of this notebook has already been refresh. I suppose its just a matter of time before the new 5760 will be out with a better WiFi card, can wait for that if you want brows.gif

Otherwise, just stick to the ones recommended to you, and slap in an SSD if you are feeling adventurous  laugh.gif
Noted bro...What is SDD ar? means upon purchase of the lappy, add on the SSD? STD I knw la..haha
william1120
post Oct 8 2013, 11:02 PM

24 posts

I am sorry to ask at this time.

I am still in the mid of blur...thinking which lappy I should buy.

Budget; below 2500 (the lower the better)
Size; 15.6 n above
Weight; prefer light
Ussage; movie n sound , internet amd mircosoft office jobs
Not into gaming.

Currently using Asus k50in for 4 years or mpre I guess. Laptop keeps hang/freeze for 5 to 30min sometimes till need to off the plug n on again. Can repair or buy new lappy?

Is mac air a gopd choice? Pls adcise shifu

william1120
post Oct 8 2013, 11:56 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Oct 8 2013, 11:21 PM)
Your Asus can probably be "fixed" by getting a new HDD or SSD to replace the aged one nod.gif
But since it is a 4 year old notebook, usually its best to just get a new one as you never know which hardware might spoil even after you replace the original harddisk nod.gif

Can consider this for your budget:
15.6"
Lenovo
Flex 15, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT720M + (1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSGD + 500GB HDD@RM2699, 4GB, W8

Heard the speakers are very good thumbup.gif
Otherwise these:
15.6"
Asus A550CC-XX530H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: black/red/white

Dell Inspiron 15, i3-3217U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1699
Toshiba Satellite L50-A100X/XW, i5-3230M + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[Onkyo], 4GB, 750GB, W8SL; 3 years local warranty; colors:silver/white

*Prices in RRP, negotiable
*Macs are out of your budget unfortunately  sad.gif
Thabks bro replying at this time. Which would you best recommend? Heard asus after sales service are scary.keke.

If u were me...which u choose bro??

0.0456sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:18 AM