Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

kzy
post Sep 21 2013, 02:55 PM

33 posts

Hi, seems like i could get some advice here for buying a laptop,
1. Preferred Brand - Asus, Lenovo, Dell
2. Budget - Around 2500
3. Usage - online surfing, movie, processing docs, music
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - prefer laptop with built in optical drive, better battery life (last for more than 4 hours?), hopefully can avoid those laptop with known internet/wifi connection problem

hopefully can get some recommendations~ smile.gif
kzy
post Sep 23 2013, 10:55 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 21 2013, 06:29 PM)
You don't need powerful spec for your usage.

Asus
A450CC, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs
S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Spend the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick is ~ RM100), extend warranty (Dell, extend to 3 years for ~ RM300), swap SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) in for HDD.
i am wondering if 6 cell battery offer longer battery life than 4 cell?

thanks for your recommendations, but i found difficulties after you recommendations, that is i can't found any review about the laptops and even tech specs of lenovo models~ ohmy.gif even though i found it in the computer shop, but no brochure for reference too. what can i do if i want to do comparisons for these laptops?

would you recommend Lenovo Z400 touch, Z500 touch, G400s and Z480 for my usage? since these models are still within my budget. thanks. biggrin.gif
kzy
post Sep 23 2013, 11:27 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 23 2013, 11:08 AM)
Have a walk around Lowyat / IT mall and check what they have commonly available then only make comparison. Else you will be confused and helpless on the spot.
too bad that no lowyat mall here. i have been walking around computer shops in a mall, and have some ideas but may need more reviews as i don't have much knowledge about comp technology, so looking for help from here. hopefully experts here can provide some ideas for choosing. thanks.
kzy
post Sep 24 2013, 03:55 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 23 2013, 02:13 PM)
It is good that you go out and look at the real thing to see what you like  thumbup.gif Make sure you don't just "browse". Type / poke / click / touch / listen  / look / carry whichever models you fancy. Those things could be subjective, and can't be decided on specs alone.

If you could not find S410P for example, looking at the S400 is pretty close to get a feel. Then you could buy from 1 of the re-sellers at LYN garage sales thread (they may be able to COD or courier to your location).
"If you could not find S410P for example, looking at the S400 is pretty close to get a feel." what you mean is read on review of S400? there is S410P in computer shops here, the only problem is looking for review of it online. i have googling many times already, found only sellers selling this, no any reviews available. can you please give me the link of the review you found online? thanks.
kzy
post Sep 26 2013, 11:28 PM

33 posts

I have just read some warranty claim issues from other forumers. Starting to worry if I would get a grey set from US since s410p touch still very new in Malaysia market which is not even shown in Lenovo Malaysia website. Am I worrying too much? :/ If local set must having 2 years warranty?
kzy
post Sep 27 2013, 09:30 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 27 2013, 01:57 AM)
Not every model's box have MY printed
sad.gif how could this happening? so the resellers and end users have to bear the risk of getting grey set? shouldn't Lenovo have some proper regulations on this, so anyone buying its products can have some sort of guarantee? cry.gif and some local distributors listed in the website are not selling Lenovo products sweat.gif

any other ways to make sure it's local set?
kzy
post Sep 27 2013, 10:47 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 27 2013, 09:47 AM)
Quoting myself again laugh.gif
These few sellers here are some of the many that sell only official units. You are not the first buyer from them, and definitely not the last  icon_rolleyes.gif
thanks for your advice, i wish that i could buy from them too if they provide COD in east malaysia. biggrin.gif too bad they are all in west malaysia sad.gif even though courier is available

seems like i have to wish myself good luck when buying laptop blush.gif hopefully can be free from those troubles.

kzy
post Sep 27 2013, 06:10 PM

33 posts

biggrin.gif want to ask all experts here, is it worth to get a touchscreen laptop when there is same model non touchscreen laptop? few hundreds ringgit different, thinking maybe can use those saved amounts for other things, but want to try new thing... laugh.gif so confusing. so may need some opinions here. thanks.
kzy
post Sep 27 2013, 06:38 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 27 2013, 06:16 PM)
Definitely NOT laugh.gif
Touchscreen is only good for mobile devices which are tablet-like or can "convert" into tablets.
Constant "poking" on the notebook screen will only loosen the hinges.. and its not exactly very comfortable anyway, not when a mouse is available laugh.gif
rclxms.gif thanks for your opinion, you just helped me to save hundreds ringgit already thumbup.gif

and is it worth to extend Lenovo warranty? it's not cheap at all~ unsure.gif

0.0443sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:33 AM