129 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

TS[PF] T.J.
post Sep 23 2013, 12:16 AM

24,193 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 23 2013, 12:07 AM)
some out of stock...

on the extended warranty - i was told below;

within 3 months of purchase - same price as when you purchase the laptop
after 3 months it will cost more to buy - correct of BS?
I'm not sure whether its within 2 weeks, 1st or 3 months after purchase, but there is such a thing nod.gif
Probably because the start of warranty will be from the day the warranty is purchased? hmm.gif

Dell also offers warranty extension for units that are about to become out-of-warranty icon_rolleyes.gif
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:38 AM

2,227 posts

vostro 5460 - i 3 free dos version will cost u rm 13xx.. more rm 3xx from 1k ,. =)
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:40 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 23 2013, 12:16 AM)
I'm not sure whether its within 2 weeks, 1st or 3 months after purchase, but there is such a thing nod.gif
Probably because the start of warranty will be from the day the warranty is purchased?  hmm.gif

Dell also offers warranty extension for units that are about to become out-of-warranty  icon_rolleyes.gif
for Dell laptop warranty extension , better do it as soon as possible , or along purchase.. the pricing for extend will be double price once u miss it.. laugh.gif
devour
post Sep 23 2013, 12:42 AM

2,227 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 22 2013, 10:15 PM)
Thank...is it windows 8 pro 64bit?
Also what the screen resolution for Lenovo y410P is it same with Lenovo S410P?
both are consumer line products, hence only pre installed with window 8 single Language ( sometime like win 7 home premium ),...Not win 8 pro sweat.gif

- both with 1366 x 768
jiant
post Sep 23 2013, 08:32 AM

1,785 posts

QUOTE(devour @ Sep 23 2013, 12:42 AM)
both are consumer line products, hence only pre installed with window 8 single Language ( sometime like win 7 home premium ),...Not win 8 pro  sweat.gif
- both with 1366 x 768
then how if I format the hard disk for some reason is it still under warranty?
any way to backup whole system including OS inside then can restore back after format.
raymondtong94
post Sep 23 2013, 09:10 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 23 2013, 08:32 AM)
any way to backup whole system including OS inside then can restore back after format.
how to create whole windows 8 image backup

further software technical questions can be done through PM. smile.gif
xproc
post Sep 23 2013, 09:12 AM

free for all
4,470 posts

QUOTE(kykyky007 @ Sep 22 2013, 06:23 PM)
I think I will go for the MBP. Will consider the size though rclxms.gif
Anyway, thanks for the help ~ thumbup.gif
i think if you go for MBP better wait haswell updates... imo it should be quite soon but no ones knows.... if not you regret after that...
Kendall
post Sep 23 2013, 10:18 AM

971 posts

QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Sep 23 2013, 09:10 AM)
how to create whole windows 8 image backup

further software technical questions can be done through PM. smile.gif
I tried to back up my w8 last night and it said that it require 22gb pen drive or 6 DVDs. sweat.gif
Meow777
post Sep 23 2013, 10:44 AM

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 22 2013, 05:56 PM)
Brands are very well represented in Penang lah smile.gif
You can also check out re-sellers who has shop (can COD) in Penang right here at LYN garage sales thread, eg. hikari85.

Laptop is expensive, especially those "gaming" stuff. Taper your expectation smile.gif For your budget, if you want spec powerful enough to play GTA series reasonably, stick with 14" with HD screen only.

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

Prices are RSP, negotiable.
Thanks so much for your advice! I'd most probably check out the Dell one first and see if it suits me. Thanks again!
kzy
post Sep 23 2013, 10:55 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Sep 21 2013, 06:29 PM)
You don't need powerful spec for your usage.

Asus
A450CC, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[2kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; 4-cell
K46CB-WX060H, i5-3337U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2199[2kg], 2GB, 750GB, W8, 4-cell, OD

Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
Ideapad Flex 14, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M +(1366x768; touch) + 8GB SSHD + 500GB HDD@RM2299, 4GB, W8, 2 yrs
S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1999[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs

Spend the remaining of your budget to increase RAM (4G stick is ~ RM100), extend warranty (Dell, extend to 3 years for ~ RM300), swap SSD (128G ~ RM300, 256G ~ RM600) in for HDD.
i am wondering if 6 cell battery offer longer battery life than 4 cell?

thanks for your recommendations, but i found difficulties after you recommendations, that is i can't found any review about the laptops and even tech specs of lenovo models~ ohmy.gif even though i found it in the computer shop, but no brochure for reference too. what can i do if i want to do comparisons for these laptops?

would you recommend Lenovo Z400 touch, Z500 touch, G400s and Z480 for my usage? since these models are still within my budget. thanks. biggrin.gif
jiant
post Sep 23 2013, 10:56 AM

1,785 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Sep 23 2013, 10:18 AM)
I tried to back up my w8 last night and it said that it require 22gb pen drive or 6 DVDs.  sweat.gif
Really. ..isn't windows 8 installation disk only 1 CD?
AND how to restore it back to notebook?
nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 11:04 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(jiant @ Sep 23 2013, 08:32 AM)
HDD hardware warranty has nothing to do with software installed on it biggrin.gif
bearbear
post Sep 23 2013, 11:08 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(kzy @ Sep 23 2013, 10:55 AM)

thanks for your recommendations, but i found difficulties after you recommendations, that is i can't found any review about the laptops and even tech specs of lenovo models~  ohmy.gif even though i found it in the computer shop, but no brochure for reference too. what can i do if i want to do comparisons for these laptops?

would you recommend Lenovo Z400 touch, Z500 touch, G400s and Z480 for my usage? since these models are still within my budget. thanks. biggrin.gif
Have a walk around Lowyat / IT mall and check what they have commonly available then only make comparison. Else you will be confused and helpless on the spot.
nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 11:09 AM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(Kendall @ Sep 23 2013, 10:18 AM)
I tried to back up my w8 last night and it said that it require 22gb pen drive or 6 DVDs.  sweat.gif
USB thumbdrive normally work better/faster than DVD.
Depends on what software you use to do the backup, some let you backup to external HDD or networked drive.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 23 2013, 11:09 AM
kzy
post Sep 23 2013, 11:27 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Sep 23 2013, 11:08 AM)
Have a walk around Lowyat / IT mall and check what they have commonly available then only make comparison. Else you will be confused and helpless on the spot.
too bad that no lowyat mall here. i have been walking around computer shops in a mall, and have some ideas but may need more reviews as i don't have much knowledge about comp technology, so looking for help from here. hopefully experts here can provide some ideas for choosing. thanks.
nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 11:32 AM

4,194 posts

thanks for your recommendations, but i found difficulties after you recommendations, that is i can't found any review about the laptops and even tech specs of lenovo models~  ohmy.gif even though i found it in the computer shop, but no brochure for reference too. what can i do if i want to do comparisons for these laptops?

number of "cell" in a battery is not an accurate measurement tongue.gif
We use it for easier understanding by people that is not very technically oriented, and serve as a very rough approximation tongue.gif
The proper measurement for energy in this case will be Wh (watt hour).

Suppose brand A has a laptop model, and THAT model can use either a 4 cell or a 6 cell battery, then yes, you can rest assured that the 6 cell will give much longer battery running time compared to the 4 cell.

Suppose brand A and brand B both has 4 cell battery, you cannot be sure both battery has the same Wh (eg. we have seen 3 cells that carry ~ 50Wh, and 3 cells that carry ~ 30+ Wh laugh.gif ). So if we just know the number of cells, we cannot be 100% sure that a 6 cell from 1 model has larger Wh than a 4 cell from another.

The Lenovo models that were listed for you earlier are quite new in Malaysia. But I think they are quite easy to find, and if you do some googling, you could find lots of details about them already.

The Z400T and Z500T has more power spec than you need; its battery running time are short, and thermal profile is not good.

The Z480 is old model that Lenovo Malaysia has stop supplying for ~ 4-5 months, also not very good battery running time, and if you decide to go for it, please make sure it is properly sealed brand new set and not some leftover display unit.

The G400s is more budget oriented model. Again, battery running time is worse than the S410P.

Anyway, all the Lenovo models that you mentioned has good enough spec for your usage requirement.

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 23 2013, 01:48 PM
Kendall
post Sep 23 2013, 11:34 AM

971 posts

Yes.
born2kill
post Sep 23 2013, 01:33 PM

119 posts

1. Preferred Brand - Any trusted brand
2. Budget - RM2,500 - RM3500
3. Usage - Mostly use for CAD software (Solidwork2013, CATIA, UG), Games (Dota2), internet surfing & downloading.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - maybe 15" above, 14" can consider
5. Good warranty coverage, maybe DDR5 GC, i7, good cooling system

Thanks...~

nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 02:05 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(born2kill @ Sep 23 2013, 01:33 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Any trusted brand
2. Budget - RM2,500 - RM3500
3. Usage - Mostly use for CAD software (Solidwork2013, CATIA, UG), Games (Dota2), internet surfing & downloading.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - maybe 15" above, 14" can consider
5. Good warranty coverage, maybe DDR5 GC, i7, good cooling system

Thanks...~
"Trusted brand" is very controversial laugh.gif
If you want good warranty support, opt for Dell (extend to 3 years on site), Lenovo (upgrade to 3 years on site), Acer (extend to 3 years), illegear (extend to 3 years) ... . If you go with Asus, just avoid the SC at LYP if need warranty service ...
I think you will appreciate 15" with FHD screen.
Make sure you get good external cooling solution (cooling pad, table fan ... ).

Acer
V7-582PG-74508G52k, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M + 24GB mSATA + 500GB HDD + (1920x1080 IPS; touch)@RM3399[2.2kg], 8GB, W8 (CPU on duo core, GPU is spec with DDR3, but goo enough for your usage)

Asus
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard (GPU is spec with DDR3, but good enough for your usage requirement).

Dell
Inspiron 15R (Special Edition), i7-3612QM + AMD HD7730M + (1920x1080; anti-glare) + 32GB SSD + 1TB HDD(5400rpm)@RM3199, 8GB, backlit keyboard optional, W8 (CPU is of older Ivy Bridge, GPU also not as powerful, but enough for your usage requirement)

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3099[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs (screen not as nice)

MSI
GE60-2OC, i5-4200M + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3099,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

www.illegear.com
Illegear RE-15, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3799[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 8GB, 500GB 7200RPM, FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i7-4700MQ - i7-4900MQ]

This post has been edited by nexus2238: Sep 23 2013, 02:15 PM
nexus2238
post Sep 23 2013, 02:13 PM

4,194 posts

QUOTE(kzy @ Sep 23 2013, 11:27 AM)
too bad that no lowyat mall here. i have been walking around computer shops in a mall, and have some ideas but may need more reviews as i don't have much knowledge about comp technology, so looking for help from here. hopefully experts here can provide some ideas for choosing. thanks.
It is good that you go out and look at the real thing to see what you like thumbup.gif Make sure you don't just "browse". Type / poke / click / touch / listen / look / carry whichever models you fancy. Those things could be subjective, and can't be decided on specs alone.

If you could not find S410P for example, looking at the S400 is pretty close to get a feel. Then you could buy from 1 of the re-sellers at LYN garage sales thread (they may be able to COD or courier to your location).

129 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0170sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 04:34 PM