17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Buying a new laptop? NEED RECOMMENDATIONS? V21, Kindly FOLLOW the FORMAT TQ~!

raymondtong94
post Nov 4 2013, 05:17 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(gm0023 @ Nov 4 2013, 02:35 PM)
Thanks so much for ur reply. :] Most replies are made by you, thanks. Btw, buying online or just going to Lowyat is btter? in terms of price, reliability, etc..
i would suggest you to go out and experience those laptops 1st before you make any purchasing moves. experiencing it is better than going on for recommendations.

QUOTE(Pitt Joe @ Nov 4 2013, 04:37 PM)
Hi guys,

Brand : Any big names will do
Budget : below RM1500 max
Purpose : Microsoft office, more to Games (Dota2, FM), Movie, and Surf net
Screen : At least 15" to 17"

Specs keen on :

- At least i5
- decent- long battery life
Dell
Inspiron 15, i3-3217U + AMD HD7670M@RM1499[2.25kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), 6-cell, Linux; W8SL@RM1699

Lenovo
G500S, i3-3110M + Nvidia GT720M@RM1499, 2GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

very tough pricing here. sweat.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 12:32 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(russell612 @ Nov 4 2013, 11:48 PM)
Fermi old one lah, Kepler is the new one with better performance
typo there. tongue.gif
correction amended.
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 12:47 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(walamak1988 @ Nov 5 2013, 12:44 AM)
Hi, alot of sifus here recommended me this model:

Asus N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard...

My question is if compared with this model

Asus N550JV-CM041H ,i7-4700HQ + Nvidia Gt750M 4GB + (1920x1080-TOUCH SCREEN)@RM4899 , 8GB , 1TB, W8 , backlit keyboard

Does the difference alot?

I spotted that the latest one have more powerfull GPU, touch screen and more RAM..as for the touch screen I dont really looking for touch screen laptop and RAM wise can upgrade ownself..So i need opinions on which model to get..Really in need help on this..TIA
let me list down some points for you :

1. Touch screen on a multimedia laptop is a trash.
2. You spent extra RM1200 for 8GB RAM and a touch screen.
3. The GPU is still the same, a 4GB DDR3, albeit being a 2GB GDDR5.

so say no to that price tag. smile.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 01:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(walamak1988 @ Nov 5 2013, 01:31 AM)
I personally also think the touch screen is just a gimmick..btw,the Asus N550JV-CN077H 2GB GPU is DDR5? The seller told me is 2GB DDR3..is there alot diff between gpu ddr5 and ddr3 vram? sorry for the noob question sad.gif  Thanks
they differ in the bandwith/texel transfer size.
GDDR5 : more bandwith = more performance
DDR3 : less bandwith = need higher clocks to achieve the same performance as GDDR5

to conclude, 2GB GDDR5 >/= 4GB DDR3
normally, we can choose to omit the 'G' alphabet but for most cases, it is included.
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 10:55 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Nov 5 2013, 11:38 AM)
I wonder why Inspiron 15 is more expensive than Insprion 15R.  hmm.gif
the Inspiron 15 7000 is the new and latest model of 'Macbook like' Dell Inspiron family. using a whole aluminium body design, thats why the pricing is different.

QUOTE(apizishida @ Nov 5 2013, 12:50 PM)
tqvm for the information..but now I thinking of buying a PS4  tongue.gif
so I think I may just buy a cheaper laptop

1. Preferred Brand : any brand which recommended
2. Budget : <1k (if possible)
3. Usage : surfing, movie (HDMI) , gaming (PES13/14 to fill my times while waiting ps4 release)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : dont mind any

any recommended?
this one.

Dell Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 11:04 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(lolzxx @ Nov 5 2013, 03:08 PM)
1. Preferred Brand - Asus.. but recently many ppl recommend lenovo..
2. Budget - RM3-4k
3. Usage - 3dmax, rendering, photoshop, illustrator.. design and gaming... somehting like MBP 15' 2.7GHz
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - non

no need touch screen? since it expensive?
QUOTE(sckam @ Nov 5 2013, 04:01 PM)
Hi sifu,

Brand : Any big names will do
Budget : between RM2000 to RM3500
Purpose : Windows 8 Pro, Microsoft Windows Phone 8.0 & Android Mobile App Development, Photoshop, Unity3D, Maya, Microsoft Expression Blend
Screen : At least 15" to 17"
ASUS
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

sckam why do you need Windows 8 Pro? because i dont see you really need Windows 8 Pro.
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 11:31 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nohal @ Nov 5 2013, 06:49 PM)
1. Reliable Brand ( Asus/Dell )
2. RM2500-RM3000 ( RM2800 should be nice )
3. Office use and lite gaming (dota2,csgo etc)
4. preferably 14"/15" should be nice

Tq in advance.
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i7-4500U + Nvidia GT750M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Ubuntu 12.04 , 6 cell; W8SL@RM2699
Inspiron 15R, i7-4500U + AMD HD8850M (GDDR5) @RM2499[2.32kg], 8GB, 1TB(5400rpm), Linux, 65WHr; W8SL@RM2699

ASUS
S551LB-CJ120H, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2699[2.4kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2499, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty
Y400, i7-3630QM + Nvidia GT750M@RM2799, 4GB, 500GB, W8, 120wPSU, swappable ODD, 2 years warranty

prices are RRP and negotiable.
raymondtong94
post Nov 5 2013, 11:36 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nohal @ Nov 5 2013, 11:33 PM)
Thank you very much. I wonder why the pricelist in Dell store is quite high with lower specs compared to your suggestions.

May I ask where can I obtain this laptop at this price?

Thank you again.
they can be obtained through online site.

Dell Inspiron 14R
Dell Inspiron 15R
raymondtong94
post Nov 6 2013, 09:05 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nohal @ Nov 6 2013, 07:10 AM)
May I ask, the i7 4500U is 2 cores 4 threaded, is it enough for office multitasking? Such as multiple browser tabs( alot ), multiple documents (PDF, office), listening to music while at it, and maybe in between picture viewing..

And how does it performed in light gaming?
it is enough for office multitasking. with the 8GB RAM equipped in the Dell 15R, you are good to go as office usage requires at least 2GB, 4GB for some multitasking and 8GB for intensive multitasking. 16GB is for rendering and Autocad purposes + multitasking.

the dual core i7 is enough for light gaming. most of your gaming workhorse is relied on the GPU, that is the HD8850M.
raymondtong94
post Nov 6 2013, 09:07 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(engadgetz @ Nov 6 2013, 12:59 AM)
1. Preferred Brand
Any
2. Budget
RM1800
3. Usage
Suggest laptop that is best bang for bucks (RM1800)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size
14"

notworthy.gif
we can suggest a laptop that is best bang for bucks but im wondering what is your usage 1st? hmm.gif because if i recommended a wrong model, im the one to be blamed. anyway :

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549
Vostro 5470, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1899, 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), W8, 3-cell

Lenovo
G400s, i3-3110M + Intel HD4000@RM1299, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS; W8@RM1499
S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

Acer
E1-472G-54204G50, i5- 4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM1699, 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 6 2013, 09:09 AM
raymondtong94
post Nov 6 2013, 05:16 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Nov 6 2013, 05:01 PM)
It has a better GPU and higher-resolutioned screen... summore its a dedicated gaming machine  laugh.gif
welcome back, sifu. rclxms.gif

by the way, to add, it has a beautiful blue backlit keyboard and keyboard by steelseries.
raymondtong94
post Nov 6 2013, 06:27 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(salad_sauce @ Nov 6 2013, 06:21 PM)
Hello smile.gif

1. Preferred brand: Anything except Acer, Dell and HP
2. Budget: RM4000
3. Usage: Gaming and multimedia
4. Screen: No preference

Looking for a laptop, gaming if possible, with an efficient cooling system.

ASUS
N550JV-CN077H, i7-4700HQ + Nvidia GT750M + (1920x1080; IPS matte)@RM3699[2.7kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, backlit keyboard

Lenovo
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3399[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, swappable ODD, 120w psu, 2 yrs
Y510p, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080)@RM3999[2.7kg], 8GB, 1TB, W8, red backlit, GN37 exGPU & ODD, 120w+170w psu, 2 yrs

MSI
GE60-2OC, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GT750M(GDDR5) + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM3599,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, steel series KB
GE60-2OE, i7-4700MQ + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080; anti-glare)@RM4299,8GB, 750GB(7200rpm), W8, backlit keyboard

Illegear
RE-15, i5-4200M + Nvidia GTX765M + (1920x1080)@RM3499[2.6kg][Onkyo, SoundBlaster Cinema], 4GB, 500GB(7200rpm), FreeDOS, [CPU Options: i5-4200M - i7-4900MQ]

prices are RRP and negotiable. for illegear, try contact Prince J.
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 08:18 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Almightyman96 @ Nov 7 2013, 12:35 AM)
Please help me!

I'm going to buy the new Macbook Pro 13. I want to use it for my study, loads of Office, watching movies (I love the screen), and most of the time internet browsing. Basically, I do a lot of multitasking. I plan to use it for 3-5 years. Is it worth to buy the 256GB with 8GB of RAM or just get the 128GB with 4GB of RAM? Will it make huge difference in terms of performance over time?
it is recommended for you to go for 8GB and a larger storage cuz this is a 'one time purchase'. the new macbook pro 13's RAM is soldered to the board, so in the future, upgrades are not possible. even Apple SSDs are available genuinely by Apple, which the repair cost can be very costly if there are defects.

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 7 2013, 08:19 AM
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 06:52 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(nexus2238 @ Nov 7 2013, 02:59 PM)
You think the 15" Clevo are too big, yet you are looking at 17" MSI?  hmm.gif  laugh.gif  icon_rolleyes.gif
maybe TS mentioning it is too thick? hmm.gif
dont know about it. laugh.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 09:44 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Arthur323 @ Nov 7 2013, 09:22 PM)
Exactly I think it's too thick, I wanted something thinner, but the dimension I really dont care for de width and depth, just the height
My notebook is an Asus K50IJ, it is old. And in January I will have the opportunity to buy a new one, so I think that if the notebook is approximately the same size, it is ok.
IMO, if you have a better deal than Clevo laptops, then it is okay for you to go with it. with the remaining budget, you can even invest on something better, like a laser mouse (approx USD50).

or, you can even look at the Gigabyte P35K.

PS, seems like you are living in the states, so 1 of my consideration is that you need to work more on your vocabulary. the rule of thumb living in the states, English 1st. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 7 2013, 09:47 PM
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 10:12 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(cheatz92 @ Nov 7 2013, 09:21 PM)
1. Preferred Brand -
2. Budget - rm2000
3. Usage - it field study usage. may run vm. haswell proc and good battery life.
4. Preferred laptop/screen size - >= 14 inch.
Dell
Inspiron 14R, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM1849 [2.32kg], 4GB, 500GB(5400rpm), Linux, 6 cell; W8@RM2049

HP
Pavilion 14-N059TX, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT740M@RM2099[2.03kg], 4GB, 750GB, W8; colors: silver/black

Lenovo
S410p, i5-4200U + Intel HD4400M@RM1699[1.8kg], 4GB, 500GB, FreeDOS
S410p, i5-4200U + Nvidia GT720M@RM2099[1.8kg], 4GB, 1TB, W8, 2 yrs

prices are RRP and negotiable.
do you run VM in a very intensive manner? hmm.gif
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 10:35 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Vortexx22 @ Nov 7 2013, 10:32 PM)
You plan to buy a notebook at Malaysia?  hmm.gif
QUOTE(Arthur323 @ Nov 7 2013, 10:29 PM)
probably I will go to the US in January
This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 7 2013, 10:35 PM
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 11:02 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(cheatz92 @ Nov 7 2013, 10:44 PM)
not so intense as i have my desktop  for that.
just need to use it when im at college.
im thinking of getting a laptop without a gpu so that i can save on the cost and upgrade the ram to 8gb and add a ssd.
and dos also would be fine as my college have msdn which i can get w8 for free for the period of my study.
i suggested a free DOS lenovo with haswell processor. maybe you will like it.
i can suggest along another but it comes with i3. not as strong as i5 but cheaper, more room for SSD and 8GB RAM.

Dell
Inspiron 14-3437, i3-4010U + Intel HD4400@RM1399[1.99kg], Ubuntu, 4GB, 750GB(5400rpm), 4-cell; W8SL@RM1549
raymondtong94
post Nov 7 2013, 11:07 PM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(Arthur323 @ Nov 7 2013, 10:54 PM)
I checked notebookcheck and there is no review yet...I hope they make one soon

I am in doubt between:
Samsung Ativ book 8 - thin, less powerful, cheaper
Msi GS70 - thin, powerful, more expensive, big screen(I prefer 15,6)
Gigabyte P35K - thin, powerful, a little bit expensive, but I dont know about this brand...
CNET is another one of my favourites.

Gigabyte also makes GPUs, Mobos, accessories and etc. they are just new into the laptop market.

EDIT : Unboxing of P35K by GenTechPC

This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Nov 7 2013, 11:08 PM
raymondtong94
post Nov 8 2013, 08:44 AM

Choco-chan daisuki!
11,096 posts

QUOTE(cheatz92 @ Nov 8 2013, 12:23 AM)
thanks for the recommendation.
is acer build is good? how is thier customer service?

are you selling these laptop?
Acer is doing good, especially their ultrabook lineups, nice build quality. their customer service is also good.

by the way, im not a seller. please refer to the price catalog topic for list of sellers.

17 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0589sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:11 PM