Investment GEN-Y, WILL YOU BUY & INVEST PROPERTY IN 2014?, More and more Gen-Y buying their first

JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 04:33 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

Fresh graduate could hardly own properties on hotspot areas.
It really depends on the location they are looking at.
Evenso, if it is a good buy, a lot will be snatched by potential flippers/ rich tycoons who wants to get for investment.
Therefore, not many younger gen y is able to get a property.
JB area will be snatched by Singaporean
KL / Selangor hotspots will be snatched by rich investors/flippers immediately.

It is not a matter of whether would or not, its matter of can or cannot like stephanielum said

However, I might consider getting if my recent one can be rented out soon. Then next year will consider another one.
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 04:40 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

I regretted not entering 2 years ago when i just started working.
That time i was not influenced yet and kinda hard for me to manage my work in SG that time so didnt really think of property.
However, this year i started to look around. Kinda frustrated with jb property as the hype is way beyond craziness, i invested back in my hometown last week. Double storey intermediate terrace waiting for CF.

Once that is rented out, I will be looking for another property probably next year. Lol... Need to keep my bullet for next purchase after i change job mid next year
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 04:44 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

Well, true, most cases parents pay down payment for the kid to get a property.
But, I guess not all would want that. Same case for me.

I didn't want any financial assistance from my family. Insisting on getting it on my own. Even if it ain't easy, it makes us appreciate things better
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 04:56 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Sep 10 2013, 04:46 PM)
how much the down payment for your property?
10% downpayment. lucky the house is rm328k only.
But price is ricing rapidly. I missed the early boat for my hometown.
So i am just following the tide now.
Earlier on, semi d is only 350k or so end of last year
Now, it is 550k-600k.
I cant believe how much the price has inflated less than a year in my hometown.
Double storey terrace from same development was launched at around 260-2800k end of last year. now its 428k last week i asked.

Paid down payment 10%, next will be the legal fees etc maybe 8-10k. Then renovation probably 40-50k.
Lucky i kept enough for them within this 2 years of working
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 05:01 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

I'm 26 too. So i guess i am in this too.
For me, i think i will source for another property 2014 if it seems ok.
Location depending. Maybe not in oversupply places such as JB, Cyberjaya etc coz gen y if investing, then probably we need a place for easy rental
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 05:23 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(Yamma @ Sep 10 2013, 05:19 PM)
you will again REGRET.. regret for not getting financial assistance from your family. while doing thing on your own is good for ur self confident, doing it for property acquisition will only mean u r losing another years and another opportunity.
Errr... I didnt regret. Lol... bought my first property, getting my second one next year if possible.
Now waiting to find next job mid next year then get another one.
My parents are tied up a little coz they r into buying lands. So i dun wan kacau. Lol
JonYeap
post Sep 10 2013, 05:57 PM

ADMIN ELITE
4,538 posts

QUOTE(Yamma @ Sep 10 2013, 05:54 PM)
biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  good for u if you started already. but not good for those who r yet to start.
I started quite late. Could easily gotten a house 1 year plus ago.
However, i was brainwashed by my ex saying it is expensive and blablabla
Sp Setia project was around 400k that time. Currently as we speak, i think the property is 600k or so.
Easily 200k on paper. or at least 100k +

0.0233sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:53 PM