Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Official v2, 3rd gen of the best phablet
TSjoytest
Sep 12 2013, 09:52 PM
QUOTE(destEX @ Sep 12 2013, 09:51 PM) u know 64 bit is for what or not? Besides we're running Dalvik Java Virtual Machine, we're not 32bit not 64bit, so no point even if that proc supports 64bit, we running linux baby Your decode will be faster, and you could have parallel tasks depending on code pipeline friendliness. Your posts indicate you have some kind of Comp Sci background. What do you do?
TSjoytest
Sep 12 2013, 09:59 PM
QUOTE(weileong @ Sep 12 2013, 09:57 PM) i'm one of it...  We know andrewtst's well publicized gripes about Z1 and XZU. What about yourself, why are you changing?
TSjoytest
Sep 12 2013, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(snigapoe @ Sep 12 2013, 11:16 PM) i have 2 sim card 1 is broadband data plan without quota been using for p2p download if note3 does not come with dual sim, might as well getting a mifi since my house does not have streamyx 2nd is for postpaid only came with 250mb data If I recall correctly, the China dual SIM Note 2 had an insanely high price. It might be the same for Note 3. Note 2 dual sim was around RINGGIT 2800 after conversion.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 01:13 AM
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 01:14 AM
QUOTE(gensys @ Sep 13 2013, 01:12 AM) How does the dual Sim work actually? Together or need to switch sim1 and sim2? Modern dualsims are dual active/standby ie both are awake at the same time and can receive calls at the same time. Usually only 1 can be designated as the data sim though.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(gensys @ Sep 13 2013, 01:17 AM) Wow... that's cool! Wonder how much is it. If it's like RM2800 (SN2) then better just use my SN2 as a spare phone. Left pocket SN2, right pocket SN3...  Yeah. Since they are almost identical in dimensions, you could velcro both back-to-back  Dual SIM, Dual Screen goodness !!!!
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 09:07 AM
For those who miss the good old days !!! 7 Reasons to Miss Your Old Nokia Brick Phone http://mashable.com/2013/09/12/nokia-phone...m-g+-main-photo
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 10:11 AM
Seems Samsung brought ahead the media launch to coincide w the ipong release date.
This post has been edited by joytest: Sep 13 2013, 10:12 AM
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Sep 13 2013, 10:19 AM) Worldwide launch is sept 25, with the exception of US And Japan.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 11:00 AM
QUOTE(Jmnote @ Sep 13 2013, 10:38 AM) As Samsung know US market is basically pawned by iPhone and Japan market is owned by Sony, it is logically to take the rest  Apparently sony is a 2nd rate brand in japan. There are loads of fantastic devices in japan and the market is carrier controlled like in the US.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(h11g @ Sep 13 2013, 02:02 PM) yes my brother have the dual sim note 2. one micro sim slot and another normal sim slot. micro sim slot use for data~! it is very cool as you can just deactivate any one of the sim. How much did he pay for the dualsim Note 2?
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 02:45 PM
Interesting thread, so now we know:
1. Sony is not top dog in Nippon, and its products are somewhat meh 2. that fruit product is total meh except for 64 bits which is only going to be useful around 18 months down the road 3. Samsung is still top dog globally due to its fantastic products and features lineup
I want to qualify that I am no fanboi of any stripe, and that I'm with Samsung coz they have what I want. I used to go with Nokia, and almost got an XZU except it failed in one area I wanted badly.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 03:09 PM
QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 13 2013, 02:58 PM) what aspect did xzu failed u? Stylus use. Complete fail. Well, you may argue that you can keep your hand off the screen while using a stylus, but then that's not going to last you more than 5 minutes before your arm becomes sore. QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 13 2013, 02:59 PM) china and india two countries that love dual sim. maybe due to the geography i guess I was in India before, they had an advertisement for a phone with 4 SIMs....go figure.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 03:42 PM
QUOTE(clamp_wl @ Sep 13 2013, 03:37 PM) xzu is a chopping board? i heard the specs were top notch It's so flat and rectangular that you could conceivably use it as a chopping board
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 03:45 PM
QUOTE(oldKyoo @ Sep 13 2013, 03:43 PM) the xzu pencil stylus generally works, but i see it more for precise input rather than writing. The amount of times I raged at the xzu coz it could not recognize my handwriting was definitely a negative Coitus Interruptus Majoris.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 03:51 PM
Actually I didn't care that handwriting recognition is poor, since I don't need to OCR my own writing. I treat my Note 2 as a notepad to scribble notes or sketch some diagrams. What turned me off was the stroke registration on the ZU. You need to scribble slowly to allow the stroke to follow your stylus.
Since you also have to keep your entire hand off the screen, this was completely ridiculous. This is because of lack of palm rejection.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 13 2013, 03:55 PM) Palm Rejection is a feature from Note.. i guess not all manufacturer that smart.. simply put, XZU is not for handwriting.. problem solved? There is no problem with Note palm rejection  See, I just want to clarify the technology. Active digitizers like Wacom and Ntrig can detect differences in voltage and resistance or capacitance between your body and the supplied stylus. Without an active digitizer, the screen cannot tell the difference, so if you are making pen input and a second touch is detected, the screen stops detecting pen input.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(un_id @ Sep 13 2013, 04:07 PM) we all know its not using active digitizers, so no point mourning about palm rejection feature.. Sony did not put this in their ads anyway Regular readers here know, the vast majority don't. And one of the XZU selling points was about using anything as a stylus. So it is my duty to dispel the myth.
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 04:34 PM
QUOTE(Noobi3 @ Sep 13 2013, 04:33 PM) I mentioned it a few post back . It came out end of last year and was selling for RMB10k , 98xx to be exact and its like RM5k . If it's cheaper , might have bought it then but no way I'm paying 5k for a Samseng . His is telco unit , sold outside like some phones here are from maxis or celcom . Friend bought 1 recently and both sim works here . Is it the S600 version ?
TSjoytest
Sep 13 2013, 04:37 PM
QUOTE(edison1437 @ Sep 13 2013, 04:36 PM) meaning both also GSM?? i only saw once the phone got 1 GSM slot, 1 CDMA slot and 1 micro sd card slot China has the TCDMA and WCDMA, I think. We can only use the WCDMA one.