Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5

TSdavinz18
post Jan 7 2014, 08:12 PM

начинаещ
7,142 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 7 2014, 12:35 AM)
Bro, thank you for the credit thingy and having the link to my FD Page at the top  tongue.gif

And I really like your disclaimer "We are not liable to any misinformation which might cause any financial or opportunity loss"   thumbup.gif
No prob, I'm glad to help promo your FD website to all forumer notworthy.gif

I wrote like that because I don't want to be responsible to any loss that might happen to forumer nod.gif
bearbear
post Jan 7 2014, 08:42 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

thanks for sharing on MACH, guess its a yearly thingy just nice for me biggrin.gif
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 08:47 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 7 2014, 07:24 PM)
I saw in their website on 6 months FD for 3.7% (new promotion). Well if it is for one year, will be even better. It starts on 8/1 tomorrow.

BoomChaCha, so after 6 months if there is better rate somewhere we can then move the FD elsewhere, good deal, eh ?cheers.gif

Thanks!

https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/mach-fi...posit-promotion cheers.gif
Thanks just in time to transfer from OCBC combo to HLB mach tomorrow.
prole
post Jan 7 2014, 08:56 PM

98 posts

I saw in their website on 6 months FD for 3.7% (new promotion). Well if it is for one year, will be even better. It starts on 8/1 tomorrow.

BoomChaCha, so after 6 months if there is better rate somewhere we can then move the FD elsewhere, good deal, eh ?cheers.gif

Thanks!

Is this a step up interest up to 3.7%?
bearbear
post Jan 7 2014, 09:01 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(prole @ Jan 7 2014, 08:56 PM)
Is this a step up interest up to 3.7%?
straight forward 3.7%

but there is some cost to setup the saving account
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 09:09 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 7 2014, 09:01 PM)
straight forward 3.7%

but there is some cost to setup the saving account
This is the only cost right?

Card Issuance / Annual Fee RM8.00 per card

If already a Money Box Deposit Accountholder, Cheque placement can be done at HLBank Branches for this Mach's FD promo?
tbheng
post Jan 7 2014, 09:12 PM

1,188 posts

BR has updated their website with the lower board rates (refer screenshot).
I went to renew my BR FD, could only get 0.05% extra from board rate. 1 year 3.96% --> 4.01%.
Guess not as good luck as other BR sifu's here. Was rushing too, so din really playing tug of war game with them.

Then I notice there is almost 0.2% diff between 1yr and 2yr. (It is only 0.05% diff between 2yr and 3yr!)
The guy also said there were rumours that rates might rise this year.
After some mental battling, I took the 2yr FD with 4.20%. Can take it easy for the next 2 years without hassle to hunt for new promo. cool2.gif
Got 2 management diaries (leather-like cover, not bad quality), 2 huge wall hanging monthly calendars, 1 umbrella, angpow packets. rclxms.gif

The thing I like about BR is the monthly interest crediting.
For the past 1 year, it just crediting to my SA like clockwork or like salary. thumbup.gif
Then, I IBG out on the same day via internet banking.

This post has been edited by tbheng: Jan 7 2014, 09:14 PM

bearbear
post Jan 7 2014, 09:15 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 7 2014, 09:09 PM)

Card Issuance / Annual Fee       RM8.00 per card

If already a Money Box Deposit Accountholder, Cheque placement can be done at HLBank Branches for this Mach's FD promo?
i think two different bank can't do it

last time promo fd can do online not sure about this round. Let me try it tomorrow biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: Jan 7 2014, 09:18 PM
tbheng
post Jan 7 2014, 09:19 PM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 7 2014, 09:09 PM)

Card Issuance / Annual Fee      RM8.00 per card

QUOTE(bearbear @ Jan 7 2014, 09:15 PM)
i think different can't do it, last time promo can do online not sure about this round. Let me try it tomorrow biggrin.gif
Yes, can do online.
Deposit your cheque into your Money Box acct, and once cheque cleared, then can place the FD online.
The girl at HL Mach branch confirmed that.
You can also call them to re-confirm before visiting their branch.
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 09:47 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 7 2014, 09:19 PM)
Yes, can do online.
Deposit your cheque into your Money Box acct, and once cheque cleared, then can place the FD online.
The girl at HL Mach branch confirmed that.
You can also call them to re-confirm before visiting their branch.
Better to go to the branch to do cheque placement then to go thru Money Box as you will earn extra 2-3 days interest instead of waiting for cheque to clear.

https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/frequen...h-fixed-deposit

The cut-off time for depositing of cheques will be at 4.00 p.m. Cheque placements after the cut-off time and during weekends and public holidays will only take effect the next business day.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 7 2014, 10:00 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 6 2014, 03:49 PM)
Ha ha, same mentality on using DC ! cheers.gif

As Gen-X said, the key point of the Alliance Bank DC is the cash rebate which I found to be rather attractive. Read below by  Gen-X:

http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2013/12...edit-cards.html
Yes, a valuable info from Captain again.. Thanks Captain..
And thanks for the link..Top Goat
I should get one Alliance Platinum debit card soon..

QUOTE(HJebat @ Jan 7 2014, 10:54 AM)
BCC, no problemo. I think it only happens in the branch that I frequented. My placement were a few fold more than the minimum deposit amount, but never been able to get more than 0.10% rate. Maybe I'm not as leng chai as the two of you  laugh.gif

Please don't get upset..
I am positive BR will treat all depositors fair since all branches have to get approvals from HQ
for higher rate..

QUOTE(tbheng @ Jan 7 2014, 07:01 PM)
Guys, latest news...
Went to HL Mach @ Sunway Gizza today, greeted by a tall sweetie, model like figure, easily 5'11". BCC should go and check it out.  tongue.gif

Aiyah.. hot stuff ah..?

Sorry, back to the news, she said they are launching a new FD promo starting tomorrow.
1 year Mach FD @ 3.7%p.a. (no CASA link).
Not fantastic but that's their promo for the new year.
Check the news and their website tomorrow if you are interested.
She said need fresh fund, but if you transfer from Money Box, consider fresh fund as they can't control fund transfer over the internet. E.g. if you have Mach FD maturing, if auto renew will get board rate, but if uplift into Money Box and then place a new Mach FD then can entitle for promo rate.  nod.gif
Thanks for providing this FD info in a right timing.. Thanks notworthy.gif

Thanks!

Hopefully other banks will react to this FD promo..

This post has been edited by BoomChaCha: Jan 7 2014, 10:26 PM
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 10:24 PM

18,411 posts

This feature makes it more worthwhile:
you have the flexibility to perform partial withdrawals without having to withdraw your entire fixed deposit and losing out on your interest
BoomChaCha
post Jan 7 2014, 10:37 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 7 2014, 10:24 PM)
This feature makes it more worthwhile:
you have the flexibility to perform partial withdrawals without having to withdraw your entire fixed deposit and losing out on your interest
When can do a partial withdrawal..? After 3 months?
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 10:50 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 7 2014, 10:37 PM)
When can do a partial withdrawal..? After 3 months?
13.Would I be able to withdraw my Mach FD before maturity?

Yes, you can perform full withdrawals or partial withdrawals before maturity. Partial withdrawals are allowed subject to the following conditions: •Partial withdrawals are effected in respect of placements with tenures of six (6) months or longer and a minimum principal sum of RM10,000;
•Minimum partial withdrawal is RM3,000; and
•Partial withdrawals to be effected in multiples of RM3,000
However, there will be no interest paid for any type of withdrawals made within 3 months of the placement date. After 3 months, interest will be paid for the number of days the placement has been made for. The interest rate payable is only half of the quoted rate. Any surviving amount of the placement continues to earn the contracted rate.
BoomChaCha
post Jan 7 2014, 10:59 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 7 2014, 10:50 PM)
13.Would I be able to withdraw my Mach FD before maturity?

Yes, you can perform full withdrawals or partial withdrawals before maturity. Partial withdrawals are allowed subject to the following conditions: •Partial withdrawals are effected in respect of placements with tenures of six (6) months or longer and a minimum principal sum of RM10,000;
•Minimum partial withdrawal is RM3,000; and
•Partial withdrawals to be effected in multiples of RM3,000
However, there will be no interest paid for any type of withdrawals made within 3 months of the placement date. After 3 months, interest will be paid for the number of days the placement has been made for. The interest rate payable is only half of the quoted rate. Any surviving amount of the placement continues to earn the contracted rate.
I cannot find this Partial Withdrawal on the terms and conditions:
https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/product...ampaign-english

Since it requires to place for at least 6 months then can do a partial withdrawal, this means
partial withdrawal feature does not apply for this 6 months FD.

Anyway it is ok, 6 months is not so long..

Thanks for the info..
MGM
post Jan 7 2014, 11:14 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 7 2014, 10:59 PM)
I cannot find this Partial Withdrawal on the terms and conditions:
https://www.machbyhongleongbank.com/product...ampaign-english

Since it requires to place for at least 6 months then can do a partial withdrawal, this means
partial withdrawal feature does not apply for this 6 months FD.

Anyway it is ok, 6 months is not so long..

Thanks for the info..
It is in the FAQ:

Btw 6 months qualifies as 'at least 6 months', so it applies

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 7 2014, 11:14 PM
pinksapphire
post Jan 7 2014, 11:54 PM

1,264 posts

Guys, latest news...
Went to HL Mach @ Sunway Gizza today, greeted by a tall sweetie, model like figure, easily 5'11". BCC should go and check it out.  tongue.gif
Sorry, back to the news, she said they are launching a new FD promo starting tomorrow.
1 year Mach FD @ 3.7%p.a. (no CASA link).
Not fantastic but that's their promo for the new year.
Check the news and their website tomorrow if you are interested.
She said need fresh fund, but if you transfer from Money Box, consider fresh fund as they can't control fund transfer over the internet. E.g. if you have Mach FD maturing, if auto renew will get board rate, but if uplift into Money Box and then place a new Mach FD then can entitle for promo rate.  nod.gif
3.7% wei, it's really good enough considering how low the rates have been the past many months.
Makes me wonder...maybe other banks are coming out with higher rates this year? *wishful thinking*
tbheng
post Jan 8 2014, 12:01 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 7 2014, 09:47 PM)
Better to go to the branch to do cheque placement then to go thru Money Box as you will earn extra 2-3 days interest instead of waiting for cheque to clear.

The cut-off time for depositing of cheques will be at 4.00 p.m. Cheque placements after the cut-off time and during weekends and public holidays will only take effect the next business day.
Yes, if wanted to have your FD started on the day you present the cheque, then need to go to HL branch.
Alternative approach if one could not visit the branch during office hour, can use HL cheque deposit machine and then place Mach FD online after cheque cleared.
Another way is to TT/IBG/Rentas your fund from other bank into your Money Box acct (for existing Mach customer) and then place Mach FD online.
From my understanding via Mach staff, at least Mach FD as an eFD product, allow placement by funding from Money Box acct to entitle for promo rate. As compare to most promo FD which mainly only take cheque/cash as fresh fund over the counter.
bearbear
post Jan 8 2014, 12:06 AM

10,061 posts

MACH open until 10pm lei! biggrin.gif
tbheng
post Jan 8 2014, 12:14 AM

1,188 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Jan 7 2014, 11:54 PM)
3.7% wei, it's really good enough considering how low the rates have been the past many months.
Makes me wonder...maybe other banks are coming out with higher rates this year? *wishful thinking*
Yes, consider better than most promo which either on Step-Up or CASA-link (require to put money into CASA).
I was on Mach FD last year where it was launched with 4% p.a., so feeling no excitement with this 3.7%. yawn.gif
I have moved on to take on AmBank 4.12% promo, but on 3yr tenure. drool.gif
I like Mach FD on their monthly interest crediting feature. It does let me feel my FD is working as compare to conventional FD that only see the interest at the end of maturity date. thumbup.gif

123 Pages « < 45 46 47 48 49 > » Top

0.0305sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:00 AM