This post has been edited by bearbear: Oct 9 2013, 11:28 PM
Gen-X
post Oct 10 2013, 01:58 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 9 2013, 10:53 PM)
Providing up to 4%...what is the effective rate...Public bank also providing up 6.88%, effective rate is not even 3.5..
Bro, if you had checked my Fixed Deposit Page and read the comments, you will know the answer, hahaha. For Priority Banking Customer get up to 4.5% but effective rate also not close to 3.5%

TS also in Post#1 copied and paste the HLB Promo image from my blog where I wasted time to include the notes like effective rates into the image, see image posted by bearbear above .

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 10 2013, 01:59 AM
gsc
post Oct 10 2013, 10:05 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 10 2013, 01:58 AM)
Bro, if you had checked my Fixed Deposit Page and read the comments, you will know the answer, hahaha. For Priority Banking Customer get up to 4.5% but effective rate also not close to 3.5%

TS also in Post#1 copied and paste the HLB Promo image from my blog where I wasted time to include the notes like effective rates into the image, see image posted by bearbear above .
Thanks for pointing out...I did earlier visited your website but I dont store in my memory when the effective interest rate is lower than that of Ocbc or Am bank rate...I was trying to point to our brother upstair that cannot based on the word "step up to" and conclude the rate is on the up trend...
peterhealth
post Oct 10 2013, 10:13 AM

96 posts

So which bank currently offer the best "effective rate" for FD?
If not convenient to share, pls PM, tqvm.
gsc
post Oct 10 2013, 10:17 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(peterhealth @ Oct 10 2013, 10:13 AM)
Effective rate has to be calculated..please refer to page one or Genx blog...where you can find many useful info....the link was provided in his earlier post..
bearbear
post Oct 10 2013, 10:57 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(peterhealth @ Oct 10 2013, 10:13 AM)
Affin 12 months 3.6%
Ambank 9 months 3.55%
Ocbc 3 months 3.7%+ - Please read how to get maximum rate as it involve monthly bank in for your saving account.

KFH Junior 3.98% if you have kids

This post has been edited by bearbear: Oct 10 2013, 10:58 AM
Gen-X
post Oct 10 2013, 11:13 AM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 10 2013, 10:05 AM)
Thanks for pointing out...I did earlier visited your website but I dont store in my memory when the effective interest rate is lower than that of Ocbc or Am bank rate.
True true, why used up our brain cells on useless FD Promos biggrin.gif

QUOTE(gsc @ Oct 10 2013, 10:05 AM)
I was trying to point to our brother upstair that cannot based on the word "step up to"
Bro, you are absolutely right, got to teach/highlight newbies not to be conned by step up promos notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 10 2013, 11:55 AM
GGSC27
post Oct 10 2013, 12:06 PM

170 posts

just bank in rm5k for affin for 3.6%...

any other higher?
Human Nature
post Oct 10 2013, 12:52 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

Aih bad luck day sad.gif

Went to Ambank for the 3.55% but found out need to open saving account with min deposit RM300. So had to drive to UOB for the 3.60% 12 months.

The worse part is, kena parking compound RM100..discounted rate RM50 cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
MGM
post Oct 10 2013, 01:08 PM

18,411 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 10 2013, 12:52 PM)
Aih bad luck day  sad.gif

Went to Ambank for the 3.55% but found out need to open saving account with min deposit RM300. So had to drive to UOB for the 3.60% 12 months.

The worse part is, kena parking compound RM100..discounted rate RM50  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
At least got discount, I got a police's parking compound at a ulu place's (white line roadside) during Malaysia day, no discount non-negotiable, rm150, who says the police not hardworking. Can only console myself that the banks are paying for me, thru CC rebates.
Human Nature
post Oct 10 2013, 01:11 PM

- student of human nature -
26,524 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Oct 10 2013, 01:08 PM)
At least got discount, I got a police's parking compound at a ulu place's (white line roadside) during Malaysia day, no discount non-negotiable, rm150, who says the police not hardworking. Can only console myself that the banks are paying for me, thru CC rebates.
Aih..same..keep telling myself, consider one month CC rebate
MGM
post Oct 10 2013, 01:27 PM

18,411 posts

Goldman Sachs Asset Management LP boosted holdings of Malaysia’s ringgit and the Philippine peso in recent weeks, betting the prospect of interest-rate increases will spur appreciation.

The ringgit will strengthen five per cent against the dollar by year-end and an 8.1 per cent gain is likely for the peso, based on estimates given by Philip Moffitt, head of Asia-Pacific fixed income at Goldman Sachs Asset, which oversees US$860 billion. Benchmark rates in Malaysia and the Philippines will increase at least 25 basis points by the end of 2014, according to the majority of economists in Bloomberg surveys.

"We expect interest rates to rise over the next year in Malaysia and the Philippines, and that’s less likely in some other Southeast Asian economies such as Thailand," Sydney-based Moffitt said in an October 8 phone interview. "We’ll see a bounce in the two currencies."

Read more: Goldman Sachs buys ringgit, peso http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...l#ixzz2hIHn3J9N
aeiou228
post Oct 10 2013, 06:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 10 2013, 01:11 PM)
Aih..same..keep telling myself, consider one month CC rebate
Put 50sen coins ma.... Aiyo...
Which town council ? If MBPJ, u pay within 14 day, the compaund is RM30.
Gen-X
post Oct 10 2013, 07:33 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 10 2013, 06:29 PM)
Put 50sen coins ma.... Aiyo...
Which town council ? If MBPJ, u pay within 14 day, the compaund is RM30.
His is MBMB - Majlis Bandaraya Melaka Bersejarah. Serve him right for not asking his dad go deposit for him, hahaha.

This post has been edited by Gen-X: Oct 10 2013, 07:35 PM
bearbear
post Oct 11 2013, 10:24 AM

10,061 posts

Ok have some funds that expired already, going for Affin unless something vr interesting pop up now which is highly unlikely. sad.gif
pinksapphire
post Oct 11 2013, 01:29 PM

1,264 posts

Considering some banks are still working on new promos and still not released yet, looks like can't wait longer. And any new rates would also be a lot lower =(
Someone highlighted about Ambank being better since it ties us down for 9 months only at 3.55%. I prefer shorter term ones, so this would be good for me at the time being.

gsc
post Oct 11 2013, 04:38 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Oct 11 2013, 01:29 PM)
Considering some banks are still working on new promos and still not released yet, looks like can't wait longer. And any new rates would also be a lot lower =(
Someone highlighted about Ambank being better since it ties us down for 9 months only at 3.55%. I prefer shorter term ones, so this would be good for me at the time being.
You need to open a saving account so that interest can be credited monthly. Please refer to human nature post..

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 11 2013, 04:39 PM
Gary1981
post Oct 12 2013, 07:35 PM

1,610 posts

Earlier SC got offered me 3.5% for 6mnths. But I choose to wait and hunt.

Get to know MBSB give 4.2% for 9mnths. Anyone got further details? Is clean FD or else?

Still holding my bankers cheque. Wait and see.
bearbear
post Oct 12 2013, 09:41 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(Gary1981 @ Oct 12 2013, 07:35 PM)
Earlier SC got offered me 3.5% for 6mnths. But I choose to wait and hunt.

Get to know MBSB give 4.2% for 9mnths. Anyone got further details? Is clean FD or else?

Still holding my bankers cheque. Wait and see.
mbsb prom need 20% in saving account effective 3.81%, read page 1
escargo75
post Oct 13 2013, 05:04 PM

630 posts

If we put $1 mills to the FD, do you think the bank can give the interest rate 6% or more? Anyone try it before?

123 Pages « < 14 15 16 17 18 > » Top

0.0204sec    0.31    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:24 AM