Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V5
Gen-X
Oct 1 2013, 09:43 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 1 2013, 01:07 AM) EPF tax deduction benefit is up to RM6K per year only but all future (retirement age) withdrawals and gains are indeed tax free so far. Bro, I was talking about employer's contribution and not "your" contribution into the EPF account (which is true as you mentioned above). Think about it and you'll understand (if you pay income tax).
danmooncake
Oct 1 2013, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(Gen-X @ Oct 1 2013, 09:43 AM) Bro, I was talking about employer's contribution and not "your" contribution into the EPF account (which is true as you mentioned above). Think about it and you'll understand (if you pay income tax). As per 2012 regulation, employer's contribution is 12% on top of 11% for employee. But, I never heard of a loophole that KWSP allows employer to contribute more into the employee account and considered that in lieu of salary increase for them (as tax benefit). EPF contribution made by employer are essentially business expenses for them. Do you know of any employer have done this for their employees? Does this work?
Gen-X
Oct 1 2013, 10:51 AM
Lifetime LYN Member
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 1 2013, 10:24 AM) But, I never heard of a loophole that KWSP allows employer to contribute more into the employee account and considered that in lieu of salary increase for them (as tax benefit). EPF contribution made by employer are essentially business expenses for them. Well, you now know
Myoswee
Oct 1 2013, 11:19 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 1 2013, 10:24 AM) As per 2012 regulation, employer's contribution is 12% on top of 11% for employee. But, I never heard of a loophole that KWSP allows employer to contribute more into the employee account and considered that in lieu of salary increase for them (as tax benefit). EPF contribution made by employer are essentially business expenses for them. Do you know of any employer have done this for their employees? Does this work?  Yes, the employer can contribute more than 12% to EPF. I have a friend where his company contribute 19% of his salary to EPF as part of staff benefit.
gsc
Oct 1 2013, 11:53 AM
QUOTE(danmooncake @ Oct 1 2013, 01:07 AM) EPF tax deduction benefit is up to RM6K per year only but all future (retirement age) withdrawals and gains are indeed tax free so far. On the EPF tax deduction, can a self employed or retiree claimed deduction after he has contributed to EPF with his own money?
PenangLaksa
Oct 1 2013, 12:14 PM
Hi experts,
I have a question - why do I always get different amount of interest every month?
For instances:
I put RM20,000 FD in maybank for 1 month, so the interest rate is 3%. By right, when it's matured, I shall have close to RM20,050.00.
But when say I put RM20190.00, for 1 month, with interest rate 3% as well, I only managed to get slightly over RM49 as interest. Should it not have been at least RM50?
Any idea why this happened? Thank you.
This post has been edited by PenangLaksa: Oct 1 2013, 12:15 PM
TSdavinz18
Oct 1 2013, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(PenangLaksa @ Oct 1 2013, 12:14 PM) Hi experts, I have a question - why do I always get different amount of interest every month? For instances: I put RM20,000 FD in maybank for 1 month, so the interest rate is 3%. By right, when it's matured, I shall have close to RM20,050.00. But when say I put RM20190.00, for 1 month, with interest rate 3% as well, I only managed to get slightly over RM49 as interest. Should it not have been at least RM50? Any idea why this happened? Thank you. I think the dividend based on days in the month. More days mean more dividend, less days mean less dividend
guy3288
Oct 1 2013, 02:24 PM
QUOTE(Myoswee @ Oct 1 2013, 11:19 AM) Yes, the employer can contribute more than 12% to EPF. I have a friend where his company contribute 19% of his salary to EPF as part of staff benefit.  You can go even higher than that, my company contributes 39% for me, but of course only 19% is tax deductible, rest not considered co expenses. This post has been edited by guy3288: Oct 1 2013, 02:27 PM
Gary1981
Oct 1 2013, 02:29 PM
Ambank - 3.55% for 9mnths Affin - 3.60% for 12mnths
Still hunting for my matured FD placement. Above are clean deposit. Not those casa, UT and etc.
bearbear
Oct 1 2013, 02:33 PM
RHB 3.78% still on? My 4% with MACH gona expire soon  Any update from KFH? This post has been edited by bearbear: Oct 1 2013, 02:56 PM
Gary1981
Oct 1 2013, 02:58 PM
Just check
RHB -3.2% Mach - 3.4%
My mach nxt year due...
bearbear
Oct 1 2013, 03:06 PM
Seems like Affin is the best bet for now...they have a branch near my office...hope KFH gv me good news for next few days else will go for Affin 3.6%
wil-i-am
Oct 1 2013, 03:20 PM
Went to Affin Bank They offer 12 months FD @ 5% Need to top up another 50% sum to buy Smart Income Saver (SIS) Ask the staff how it works Told me investment plus insurance Can any1 enlighten on this?
bearbear
Oct 1 2013, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 1 2013, 03:20 PM) Went to Affin Bank They offer 12 months FD @ 5% Need to top up another 50% sum to buy Smart Income Saver (SIS) Ask the staff how it works Told me investment plus insurance Can any1 enlighten on this? very common 'tactic' by banks, the advise is to ignore it. we always emphasis on pure-FD promos
pinksapphire
Oct 1 2013, 06:30 PM
RHB promo finished before I could transfer in time Now I don't know where to go to cuz all FD promos suck...It's the 1st of Oct, I wonder if any banks have introduced anything good
AVFAN
Oct 1 2013, 07:04 PM
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Sep 30 2013, 11:42 PM) I personally prefer those 5% after tax REITs rather than EPF, any winter melon and tofu happen to Malaysia economy, you can liquidate within 4 trading days. But it all depend on individual risk tolerance. maybe u n i are a minority but i share yr view. epf now is the biggest buyer of new gomen bonds, foreigners dun wan. all depends on yr confidence of how gomen and their servants handle money. read latest auditor-general report!! QUOTE September 30, 2013, 7:32 a.m. ET. Foreigners Stay Away From Malaysia 30-Year Bond Bankers Say Domestic Pension Funds, Insurers Bought the Inaugural Issue. By ANJANI TRIVEDI With markets jittery over the looming shutdown of the U.S. government, Malaysia's central bank sold 2.5 billion ringgit of 30-year bonds, the country's longest-maturity offering ever, but foreign investors stayed away. Malaysia has seen cash flow out of the country as investors became convinced the U.S. Federal Open Market Committee would scale back the Federal Reserve's monetary easing—also known as quantitative easing or QE—sending the local currency down 9% from its peak. "If we look at the flow from the last few weeks since FOMC, we've seen a big outflow from this side. That has left foreign investors less interested," said Wan Mohd Fakruddin Razi, chief investment officer at MCIS Zurich Insurance Bhd. in Kuala Lumpur. Investors aren't willing to take the currency risk and "bring in new money," he said. One concern among investors has been Malaysia's debt. The country had $145 billion of local-currency government bonds outstanding—one of the highest levels in the region—as of June 30, according to the Asian Development Bank. Indonesia has $89 billion of outstanding government bonds, Thailand has $104 billion and Vietnam has $26 billion. http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1000142405...3155928262.html This post has been edited by AVFAN: Oct 1 2013, 07:07 PM
bearbear
Oct 1 2013, 08:12 PM
QUOTE(pinksapphire @ Oct 1 2013, 06:30 PM) RHB promo finished before I could transfer in time Now I don't know where to go to cuz all FD promos suck...It's the 1st of Oct, I wonder if any banks have introduced anything good  Affin 12 months 3.6% as highlighted by Gary
ascend
Oct 1 2013, 09:18 PM

Anybody knows if you can place FD (OCBC Mega Save 2 promo @4.2%, effective around 3.7%) over the phone or via online banking? - if you already have FD accounts at OCBC. In the past, i would go to their branch to place FDs. Ok. Answering my own question  Answer is NO. But for normal FD @ board rates, YES. This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 2 2013, 08:01 AM
ascend
Oct 1 2013, 09:44 PM

UOB 3 Month FD Promo (Fresh fund only)
FD @3.45% pa.
5% of FD amount or minimum RM1000 must be in CASA.
This post has been edited by ascend: Oct 1 2013, 09:45 PM
bearbear
Oct 1 2013, 10:56 PM
HLB also got...saw in the star 6 months promo (but sucky 1)
1st & 2nd month - 3.1% 3rd to 5th month - 3.2% 6th month - 4%
Effective : 3.3%
This post has been edited by bearbear: Oct 1 2013, 10:56 PM