The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

cheeshion
post Oct 13 2013, 07:27 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Oct 13 2013, 06:46 PM)
It's already the middle of 6th week since the renovation started. Quite some progress since my last updates but I haven't got time to actually sit down and do the write up.  tongue.gif
Ok, let's take a look at what has been done lately.

Wetworks:

Master bedroom's has been pushed out to the balcony.
[attachmentid=3673411]

[attachmentid=3673414]

There will be a long stretch of top hung windows in the bathroom. It is purposely made to be narrow to avoid intruders...
[attachmentid=3673424]
The new extended main entrance is up. I'm placing a casement window there to bring in lights for a brighter entrance foyer. In between the window and existing beam will be a fixed glass panel. The glass to be installed there so that people couldn't hide themselves out of sight there to break my main door.  Btw, I'm gonna install a 5' x 7' security door in white colour.

[attachmentid=3673440]
The front facade has another slight changes where I've taken out the existing door and made the window bigger measuring 12' x 5'H. After the discussion with the vendor, i will most probably going for a sliding window instead of 6 x normal casement windows. Reason being I know myself very well that I'm a super lazy bug who hate the daily tasks of opening all the window panels one by one. Sliding type will definitely makes my life much easier... whistling.gif
[attachmentid=3673459]
grills and awning at rear of the house have been taken down and to be proceed with the rear extension.
[attachmentid=3673469]

Grounding for beam and manhole relocation.
[attachmentid=3673471]
Good progressing so far. Maybe you have a month or two to complete, not to hurry...
cheeshion
post Oct 14 2013, 01:55 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Oct 14 2013, 01:31 PM)
Renovation inside the house no need wait for approval...coz no facade and structural change externally..
But if they wanna cari kopi duit, they have all sorts of reason to kacau also lar...
If follow rules, regardless interior or exterior work must have renovation permit.
Just that if your exterior works are extensive (more than the booklet criteria), you have to get those endorsement plans and layouts. Still that renovation permit should be out within 24 hours, as for Selangor.

My case, I personally applied the permit and got approval on next day. Did mention to the officer about additional plans during application, and only submitted after 1 week (as my fault to delay due to my work).

P/S: It will be different procedure if your reno is so major, ie massive reconstruction with basically tear down the whole house, application isn't simple than.
But your reno works seem not so MAJOR woor... hmmm...
cheeshion
post Nov 5 2013, 09:19 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 5 2013, 02:18 AM)
Haha...next house? I need a break of at least 10 years then... tongue.gif
For the hooks, you can just use wall plugs. With concrete pillar, it should hold up your 14 feet long gate, regardless folding or swinging.
cheeshion
post Nov 12 2013, 08:34 PM

392 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 11 2013, 04:29 AM)
Cracking my head whether to get this Samsung fridge or Toshiba's. Samsung's max 650liter, Toshiba has 650 or 710liter...

I had same headache months ago. Must get the biggest size you can afford now, 600-700L will be just nice even for a small family. Fridge is a long-term investment, if you are lucky it will stay will even till next house.
What brand the best? Very subjective answer, just believe yourself...
cheeshion
post Feb 14 2014, 03:30 PM

392 posts

Time flies... So soon you are going to complete the journey, after delaying more than 2 months.
Looking at view from front gate, that spot time stole my attention. Too out-standing, and obvious! From far, it may look like a symbol...

Otherwise, good progress now. When are you planning to move in?
cheeshion
post May 13 2014, 04:36 PM

392 posts

Yo Esther, congrats on your moving-in today!!!!

0.0374sec    0.86    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 10:56 AM