The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

Noregrets
post Sep 9 2013, 07:23 PM

1,124 posts

Enjoy this experience. It is very stressful but once completed, the stress and money spent is worth it.

This post has been edited by sekkee: Sep 9 2013, 07:23 PM
Noregrets
post Sep 9 2013, 07:28 PM

1,124 posts

I'm not sure how much you believe in feng shui.
For the master bedroom where your bed is, there is a big poison arrow pointing at the bed which is not so good for feng shui.
You can move the bed elsewhere or at least ask your contractor to try to round off the edge if possible.
But if you don't believe in these things, no need to worry.

This post has been edited by sekkee: Sep 9 2013, 07:47 PM
Noregrets
post Sep 14 2013, 12:09 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ Sep 14 2013, 07:43 AM)
Be careful of tree's roots. Tree fern is nice.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cyathea_cooperi
Is there enough light to plant a tree ?
Another option is to do a rock gaden with indoor plants.
Noregrets
post Sep 20 2013, 01:40 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Sep 20 2013, 01:40 AM)
I haven't been updating much on this site as I'm away for a week in home town celebrating mid autumn festival with my beloved parent. Picture below are some leveling work at the first floor which was done around 4 days back. So far, I kinda satistfied with the workmanship of the contractor and I'm pretty impressed as they are doing such a good house keeping each and every time they demolish anything. It is totally not the 'dirty' site that I've imagine it could be. 

The site is always kept clean and tidy.

Very clean rclxms.gif
Noregrets
post Sep 20 2013, 01:43 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Sep 20 2013, 01:48 AM)
I really like to ask if anyone can share their experience who has came across this situation which I'm not sure whether it's a normal thing to happen during renovation... After the leveling work at first floor when the cements are still wet...i observed there are quite some water patches and some water dripping thru the ground floor's ceiling...is this what it supposed to happen?

No worries. Same thing happened for mine.
Once it dries up no problem.
Unless you flood it in future then it will happen again as it is not waterproofed.
Noregrets
post Sep 20 2013, 01:44 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Sep 20 2013, 02:28 AM)
Talking about my initial plan to plant a tree in the courtyard...i'm so upset that I need to call it off. sad.gif
I went for a ba-zi reading 2 days back and my ba-zi chart does shown that wood element should be avoided as it clashes with my main earth stars which will also affect my health and that's the main reason i decided a 'No' to the ground-rooted tree...Hence, I've no choice but to get my contractor to fill up the hole again....
However, i will still want to cover up the whole courtyard with stones and pebbles. Then, i gonna plant the fig tree but it will just be in a pot this time so that it wont be overgrown...
That's why I did not go for reading ....
Noregrets
post Sep 25 2013, 08:46 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Sep 25 2013, 02:53 AM)
I'm finally back in town again..after away for almost 1 week.... tongue.gif

Renovation progress has been steady but slightly slow as there were only 2 workers assigned for my site from the beginning. I've request more workers from the contractor so that things could be sped up, in order to meet the dateline of moving in latest by end of Nov. Hopefully I could get more work force soon.

Following are some updates as of the 20th day:

- BRC wire mesh is ready for the front porch footing. As you can see from picture below, the part for soil and planting has been made smaller so that the car porch has more width space especially when we park 2 cars side-by-side. It gives a wider walk space so that we do not need to step on the grass.
- Tiles has arrived but yet to see the tiler. Contractor said the tiling sifu has pretty tight schedule... sad.gif
Hope he can secure a time slot for me very soon and I do hope he get me a good sifu with good workmanship coz i'm pretty particular on the tiling quality. I will definitely vomit blood till die if the tiling job is not good...  sweat.gif
- leveling work for 1st floor and stairs was done. I don't plan to install any glass or railing for the staircase stepping down. Will just do the laminate (without riser).

- The old sliding door at courtyard has been taken away and the contractor suggested to hack the upper part, making the opening 1 foot higher, and it actually turns out better with such higher opening. Will do BRC roof slab for each opening to the courtyard to avoid splashing of rain..

- New opening at 1st floor family hall and master bedroom.

- The ceiling at 1st floor has been all removed to receive new plaster ceiling later.

- Kitchen wall has been hacked away. Can't wait for the kitchen extension work.
Looks like quite a lot of work. Not sure if your target completion end Oct is possible.
Noregrets
post Oct 19 2013, 07:53 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Oct 18 2013, 05:53 PM)
For a renovation, we went to many exhibition fairs, visited various vendors and of coz paid lots of deposits..
So, how do u guys manage all your reno-related docs, such as invoices, quotation, etc?
I put them in a plastic file case like u see in the pic below. It is easier for me to bring along when i go out and it can keep all papers in place nice and neat.
For the receipts, I keep them in a smaller zipper bag which I can put it inside the plastic case as well.

I passed them all to my wife. She is better at keeping these things than I am and she uses a file tongue.gif
Noregrets
post Oct 19 2013, 08:09 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Oct 13 2013, 09:57 PM)
Why your power point cables coming from bottom?
Power should always be from top down and water should always be bottom up.
But since it is already done take a picture before plastering for future reference so you do not drill along the wire line
Noregrets
post Nov 13 2013, 12:11 AM

1,124 posts

Good progress so far.
Looks like you are enjoying yourself !
Noregrets
post Nov 24 2013, 02:39 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Nov 20 2013, 03:43 AM)
Some updates as of 2 days ago:

One thing good about the contractor that I must admit...eventhough there are couple of overlooked mistakes happened from time to time, they have not push the responsibility away but put immediate action to rectify problem or redo...

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
Unfortunately few are like that. Looks like you fond a good one.
Noregrets
post Nov 26 2013, 01:01 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(brendon1980 @ Nov 26 2013, 10:44 AM)
I am interested to know about this motion sensor function that you are installing.
This motion sensor is to detect movement and then turn on the lights being looped to do so.
So this lights are only sensor control or is it able to function as a normal on and off light switch as well?
Thought of installing this for the common areas during night time when lights are off and activate this function for safety and security.

Possible to do so? Any idea what is the range?
I had the Philips one. It is only sensor control.

Noregrets
post Nov 26 2013, 01:06 PM

1,124 posts

[quote=maxxon,Nov 26 2013, 06:11 AM]
I also went to Classic Hi Light in Bandar Sri Damansara to get some other general lightings. I've actually paid a RM300 during an exhibition fair in last July to lock the promotional price as they claimed that they are the major distributor of YET Plus lightings. However, very soon after that I found the price that I paid for the YET plus PLC downlight fittings are actually more expensive by RM5.30ea compared to CIMA Lightings. (I'm comparing the same brand, same model here)... So, i've actually overpaid a total of RM58.30 for 11 sets here, with the so called exhibition promotional price! :

I had the same experience. My led lights were cheaper outside. And we are talking about 50 units. At RM 5 cheaper we are talking about RM 250 savings.
Same with 3M water filter. A forummer gave me cheaper by over RM 100.
Only thing I bought any any fair which is cheaper than outside is the Hunter Douglas blinds.
In short go to fairs to get an idea of the price then source it elsewhere.

Noregrets
post Dec 21 2013, 07:29 AM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Dec 16 2013, 03:18 AM)
Actually, I'm kinda curious how did you guys tell your contractor on what colour to paint on which wall?
To avoid mistakes and confusion, I've sent my contractor the following few pics, plotted out which part and which colour that I want (based on nippon paint colours brochure) . My contractor said he was amazed to see so many polka dots when he opened up the files....guess I'm the first ever client of his doing this...    brows.gif  cool2.gif

The first layer of paint was done and I'm kinda satisfied with the chosen colours accept the living room and family hall which has been painted in 'hush white'. The 'hush white' colour is too yellowish/creamy to my liking. It makes the room looks smaller and the walls were looked like those already painted for more than 10 years...
I failed to convince myself accepting the colours so I have to tell the contractor to re-paint it to another brighter colour (orchid white). I think I better change it now since it is just painted the 1st layer, rather than regretting for many years to come living in it...  tongue.gif

Good call. Better to redo it to what you really like rather than live with what you don't.
That's the problem with renovation planning - you can only guess how things will turn up to your liking.
Even orchid white is not that white.
I chose the base white for ICI - the one they use to mix with powders to produce other colors.

Noregrets
post Dec 21 2013, 07:31 AM

1,124 posts

Why don't you brick up the fence to have more privacy ?
Your house is fronting a field.
Noregrets
post Jan 26 2014, 09:28 PM

1,124 posts

Looking good.
Congrats.
Noregrets
post Jan 28 2014, 10:45 PM

1,124 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Jan 28 2014, 01:16 AM)
Thanks bro, yet to finish...still many parts to be be continue after CNY...now most vendors has gone on cny holidays and some even resuming work after chap goh meh... Envious me.... 

You must have been enjoying and getting excited to celebrate your first CNY at the new sanctuary right? Wish you and family a very prosperous CNY!

Btw, did you still manage to keep your home at the state of minimalist now?  brows.gif
Yes, first of many CNY here rclxms.gif
Still very minimalist. Very disciplined family I have.
Only thing not going well is the grass in the garden which is not growing due to lack of sun light.
Maybe after CNY I will go for artificial grass.
Happy new a year to you and your family.

0.0368sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:06 PM