The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Feb 26 2014, 08:25 PM

773 posts

Curtains:
I've paid a RM3k to Baagus, so called lock-in their discount of 25%, and entitled myself for a lucky draw which I got a RM350 cash rebate voucher. Their sales person came and did a site measurement then we went to their showroom to choose the curtain material. Afterall, I don't think I got anything cheap from my lock-in... Or perhaps my eyes are just too bad to have chosen a more expensive kind of materials. hmm.gif

I know some might comment that getting curtains in Nilai 3 could be cheaper...but since I've already paid the deposit, so I just go ahead...at least it's less hassle for me as they came for measurement, i just went to their showroom and spent half an hour there choosing cloth and pointing my finger to what fittings and pattern that I want... I do not need to scratch my head going into details of fittings and how much cloth to buy. They will pick what's necessary and come for installment when ready. tongue.gif

Following are what I'm getting from Baagus:-

1. Full height curtain (2 layers) for my living room. (19.5' x 9.5'H)

2. Full height curtain (only 1 sheer layer) for the window at main entrance. (4' x 9.5'H).

3. Full height curtain (2 layers with blackout material) for the window in master bedroom. (5.5' x 9.5'H).

4. Full height roller blind (divided into 2 panels) with easy clean material. (10' x 8.5'H).

Total damage RM6650 after deduct the rm350 voucher.

You might be asking how about my other windows?
- I'm not going to put any curtain to all the windows opening out to the centre court yard. That's because I feel the need for curtain is just for blocking sunshine or preserve privacy. As the sunshine from the court yard is not direct and there is no issue with privacy, so I skipped it.

- I'm gonna save cost with ikea's ready made curtains for my other room as they do not get much sun and ikea's design is just gonna adds some quirky touch to the rooms. (In an other note, i just don't feel like spending much on those rooms which I do not think they need very "fine" curtains... whistling.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 27 2014, 02:36 PM
soR
post Feb 27 2014, 01:45 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 24 2014, 02:01 AM)
Oh, sorry to hear about the run-away contractor. I'm sure that you have put in quite a lot of commitments into it by monitoring the work yourself. Sure it gonna turns out good! Gambatte-desyo!!

About the tiling sifu, unfortunately I do not have his contact personally and I do not think the main con is willing to release the contact details as the job is obviously bypasses him.... So sorry again I coudn't help...
It gets exciting really! But when the fund is limited can be a bit tricky.

Im waiting for tnb to connect my electric to the meterbox just went to tnb to pay for it..(3phase tho), when there is electricity im going to move in even tho my tabletop and other stuffs not finished yet.. blush.gif

Anyway regarding tiling i fully understand the situation,

For now enjoy your house progress only la.. Haha
TSmaxxon
post Feb 27 2014, 02:02 AM

773 posts

Wooden doors for rooms:

Being a cheapo to save cost again, I decided to remain some old doors and just changing 2 of them which is already in kinda bad shape. hmm.gif

Went to about 5 shops and finally got what I wanted (solid wood with spray paint under RM600 ea) with the cheapest I can get out of those 5 that I've visited. The wood that I'm getting is merpau. (Pls note that it is merpau but not merbau tongue.gif )

The cost:
solid merpau door - RM280 ea
Install - RM80 ea
Spray painting white - RM160 ea
Basic St Guchi lock set - RM45 ea

Total cost per door = RM565

Door for master bedroom

Door for downstairs room next to kitchen

My main con touches up the old door for me. whistling.gif

Old door before re-paint

SUSkimsim
post Feb 27 2014, 07:36 AM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

Overall read from page 1 to 25, really seen a lot thing from TS.

My commend really impressive Lo.
TSmaxxon
post Feb 27 2014, 02:24 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Feb 20 2014, 02:30 PM)
have you shared your ceiling photos? anxious to see.......
Plaster Ceiling:

-Basically my plaster ceiling is just simple flat board where ever possible, except for an L-box in the dining room and the kitchen to hide the unpleasant cross beam.

- generally, total ceiling height is 9'10", flat plaster ceiling drop-down is 4".

- The entire first floor, entrance foyer, car porch and toilet are installed with flat plaster board with downlights.

Dining area:

Kitchen area:
To hide cross beam and also flexible hose).

Living room:

Section A- A dropped-down bar to hide the curtain rods. Those cropped-ceiling design is not suitable here as the overall plaster ceiling drop-down is only 4".

Section B- this is a drop-down L-box for me to install the cassette aircond. It is not installed in the middle of living room as I still prefer a ceiling fan which is very much essential when the aircond is not on. Moreover, I do not want to sacrifice the ceiling height for the overall living room area.
Im also installing some additional/optional lighting, making use of the cove. There are 2 rows of T5 tubes in the cove, a row of warm white and another row of daylight, as an option when I need extra brightness in the living room or when i'm doing some reading.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Mar 5 2014, 04:52 PM
TSmaxxon
post Feb 27 2014, 02:31 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 27 2014, 01:45 AM)
It gets exciting really! But when the fund is limited can be a bit tricky.

Im waiting for tnb to connect my electric to the meterbox just went to tnb to pay for it..(3phase tho), when there is electricity im going to move in even tho my tabletop and other stuffs not finished yet.. blush.gif

Anyway regarding tiling i fully understand the situation,

For now enjoy your house progress only la.. Haha
I thought you are going thru the renovation now. How do you reno whithout electricity eh?

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 27 2014, 07:36 AM)
Overall read from page 1 to 25, really seen a lot thing from TS.

My commend really impressive Lo.
Thanks bro! Yup..long journey it is.... biggrin.gif
TSmaxxon
post Feb 27 2014, 03:25 PM

773 posts

Kitchen sink, oven, hood and hob:

Bought them as a package in Homedec (May of last year), from the exhibitor Builders Hardware Kepong.

The package was RM5k consisting of:
- Fotile hood with air curtain (EH10BQ)
- Fotile improved version of 3 burners hob (GCG90301)
- Fotile oven (KES6003A)
- initially a Cabana 2 bowls stainless steel sink, had later changed it to the HCE granite 2 bowls sink by topping up RM300, after nego and special discount given by Zean.
- Free Sorento sink basket (SRTBK001)
- Free cutlery set
- Free extended warranty given by Fotile
- Free Fotile 2pcs Stockpot from lucky draw

Will make it under-mount and shall share more pictures on how it is done later.

I was charged RM25 for the faucet holes drilling on the granite sink.

Bought 2 HCE faucets. One bigger and another smaller. Both are matt finished.
Decided to use 2 taps on the sink as I think it gonna be more convenient especially that I do not have a dry and wet kitchen.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 27 2014, 03:27 PM
Piris
post Feb 27 2014, 07:06 PM

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 27 2014, 02:24 PM)
Plaster Ceiling:

-Basically my plaster ceiling is just simple flat board where ever possible, except for an L-box in the dining room and the kitchen to hide the unpleasant cross beam.

- generally, total ceiling height is 9'10", flat plaster ceiling drop-down is 4".

- The entire first floor, entrance foyer, car porch and toilet are installed with flat plaster board with downlights.
Dining area:

Kitchen area:
To hide cross beam and also flexible hose).

Living room:

Section A- A dropped-down bar to hide the curtain rods. Those cropped-ceiling design is not suitable here as the overall plaster ceiling drop-down is only 4".

Section B- this is a 7" drop-down L-box for me to install the cassette aircond. It is not installed in the middle of living room as I still prefer a ceiling fan which is very much essential when the aircond is not on. Moreover, I do not want to sacrifice the ceiling height for the overall living room area.
Im also installing some additional/option lighting, making use of the cove. There are 2 rows of T5 tubes in the cove, a row of warm white and another row of daylight, as an option when I need extra brightness in the living room or when i'm doing some reading.
Sweet! Was looking forward to your updates. Especially on your collapsible grill (which can be spotted from your dining area pic). Hope you don't mind sharing the details or maybe some review. Cheers!
SUSkimsim
post Feb 27 2014, 07:19 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

TS r u Reno contractor?

How come you can capture all the smaller parts or accessories?
TSmaxxon
post Feb 27 2014, 07:59 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Piris @ Feb 27 2014, 07:06 PM)
Sweet! Was looking forward to your updates. Especially on your collapsible grill (which can be spotted from your dining area pic). Hope you don't mind sharing the details or maybe some review. Cheers!
I just left the site. Captured some more photos... Shall compile them in a while. Stay tuned~ wink.gif

QUOTE(kimsim @ Feb 27 2014, 07:19 PM)
TS r u Reno contractor?

How come you can capture all the smaller parts or accessories?
Haha! I wish so lor!! Then I could spend less...
But hor, do you think contractor know each and everything the owner bought?
I'm just a very hardworking owner who works on flexible hours and commited to visit the site daily regardless rain or sun shines. smile.gif

mazlan75
post Feb 27 2014, 11:30 PM

wow@
soR
post Feb 28 2014, 12:09 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 27 2014, 02:31 PM)
I thought you are going thru the renovation now. How do you reno whithout electricity eh?
Thanks bro! Yup..long journey it is.... biggrin.gif
Use the old one for now..
TSmaxxon
post Feb 28 2014, 01:24 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 28 2014, 12:09 AM)
Use the old one for now..
I see... I thought that the lawyer will make sure the main utilities are terminated and bills are cleared before handle the key to the new owner...
At least few of my property transactions were like that... hmm.gif
Think u better check if any outstanding bills from the previous owner. If yes, must tell them to go after the previous owner but not u...

TSmaxxon
post Feb 28 2014, 03:24 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Piris @ Feb 27 2014, 07:06 PM)
Collapsible scissor grill:

The grill was installed by Three Kim last 3 days.
Charges as below-
10' x 8.5'H - RM1530
Sand surface powder coat black (RM6/sqft) - RM510

Total cost RM 2040.

As you can see from the picture below, some of the metal strips are obviously leaving quite a big gaps when the grill is fully collapsed. The installer said they can't do anything to adjust now as it's the problem when they made it in the factory, whether the worker misalligned the strips when drilling or the metal is slightly bended.
I snapped a photo of it and sent to the ladyboss Ivy but yet to receive any response till now. Heard from his staff that the boss has gone out of town/country....will wait for her response and see what she says. Actually in my mind, I already presumed that they are not gonna do anything but to convince me into accepting it, as it will be a tedious job to dismantle it, rework and re-install again. It's just too much work and additional time needed.
I know that sometimes we must learn to accept imperfection especially when comes to renovation....but if like that, they are just 'okay' but not as the great reputation claims.... hmm.gif Will see~

However, the grill looks ok and functionality is just what I wish. I can open up the folding door and enjoy the natutal breeze without sacrificing the security. It will be nice to sit down and have a cuppa.. biggrin.gif
Here below are some pics:-

I) When both grill and folding door were closed-

II) when the grill collapsed and folding door was closed.

III) when folding door was fully opened and grill was locked.

IV) when both grill and folding door were fully opened up.
(Note: the sliding of the grill was very stiff and hard when just installed. The installer uncle suggested us to buy and put some grease that they called "ngao yao" as it looks like margarin. It is indeed much easier to slide now. Wonder why don't they put that for the customer at the first place when they do the installation but the customer has to get it themselves instead..... dry.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Mar 5 2014, 04:48 PM
TSmaxxon
post Feb 28 2014, 03:48 AM

773 posts

Some reviews on the 4" AZ e-lite Led down lights:

The down lights are great and very bright but not suitable in a smaller room with ceiling fan. The lights are just too bright and the angle of lights are just too "wide", causing flickering shadow of the fans on the walls. It is best to be installed in a wider space without ceiling fan. They are great in my kitchen, family hall, car porch and some corners which is further away from the fan.

The following picture showed our 1st, 2nd and lastly the third attempt on another pic to replace the 2pcs 4" down lights to 4pcs led spot lights (eyeballs). The vendor agreed to allow an exchange to their led eyeballs with topping up of the difference.

A side note: I was so stupid to have installed the ceiling fan before the laminate floor. The surface of the ceiling fan are all sticked with the wood dust now.... sweat.gif

The downlights are very bright and only 2 pcs of it were on when the comparison pics taken as follows.

Comparison with the neighbor's T8 light.

Comparison with another neighbor's normal energy savings down lights (2pcs were on too).

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 28 2014, 03:53 AM
chocolatewhore
post Feb 28 2014, 04:53 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 27 2014, 03:25 PM)
Kitchen sink, oven, hood and hob:

Bought them as a package in Homedec (May of last year), from the exhibitor Builders Hardware Kepong.

The package was RM5k consisting of:
- Fotile hood with air curtain (EH10BQ)
- Fotile improved version of 3 burners hob (GCG90301)
- Fotile oven (KES6003A)
- initially a Cabana 2 bowls stainless steel sink, had later changed it to the HCE granite 2 bowls sink by topping up RM300, after nego and special discount given by Zean.
- Free Sorento sink basket (SRTBK001)
- Free cutlery set
- Free extended warranty given by Fotile
- Free Fotile 2pcs Stockpot from lucky draw
omg RM5K is a great deal!

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 27 2014, 03:25 PM)
Bought 2 HCE faucets. One bigger and another smaller. Both are matt finished.
Decided to use 2 taps on the sink as I think it gonna be more convenient especially that I do not have a dry and wet kitchen.

i got the same taps from builders biggrin.gif
fools01
post Feb 28 2014, 05:03 PM

85 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 27 2014, 02:02 AM)
Wooden doors for rooms:

Being a cheapo to save cost again, I decided to remain some old doors and just changing 2 of them which is already in kinda bad shape.  hmm.gif

Went to about 5 shops and finally got what I wanted (solid wood with spray paint under RM600 ea) with the cheapest I can get out of those 5 that I've visited. The wood that I'm getting is merpau. (Pls note that it is merpau but not merbau  tongue.gif )

The cost:
solid merpau door - RM280 ea
Install - RM80 ea
Spray painting white - RM160 ea
Basic St Guchi lock set - RM45 ea

Total cost per door = RM565

Door for master bedroom

Door for downstairs room next to kitchen

My main con touches up the old door for me.  whistling.gif

Old door before re-paint
Do you mind PMing me the location of the shop for the new door?
TSmaxxon
post Feb 28 2014, 06:41 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(chocolatewhore @ Feb 28 2014, 04:53 PM)
i got the same taps from builders  biggrin.gif
Yup, am happy with the price! icon_rolleyes.gif

Haha...The tap looks nice, isn't it? How's the tap of yours so far? Good?

QUOTE(fools01 @ Feb 28 2014, 05:03 PM)
Do you mind PMing me the location of the shop for the new door?
PM-ed.
TSmaxxon
post Mar 1 2014, 07:46 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(chocolatewhore @ Feb 28 2014, 04:53 PM)
i got the same taps from builders  biggrin.gif
Oops... I think i need to clarify that it is rm5300 after topping up for the Hce granite sink.. tongue.gif
chocolatewhore
post Mar 3 2014, 04:08 PM

37 posts

RM5.3 is still a great price!

50 Pages « < 23 24 25 26 27 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.99    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:24 PM