The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

soR
post Feb 23 2014, 01:33 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 12:48 AM)
Love the switches of Pieno series in white color. The on/off button feels good too. thumbup.gif

The Pieno sockets which I have returned to the shop. Looks nice but actually crappy.

The Vivace sockets provided by contractor.
those 20a switch is for?

i had some problem between switches can see through till can see the shoe/or base for the socket, my wiring guy install the base quite a big gap between one another..
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 01:54 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 23 2014, 01:33 AM)
those 20a switch is for?

i had some problem between switches can see through till can see the shoe/or base for the socket, my wiring guy install the base quite a big gap between one another..
Those 20A switches are for airconds, water heaters, oven, hood and hob.
As you can see from the picture which I posted earlier, there are already some black casing 'planted' into the wall when they pull the wires...so, the switches are just gonna sit nicely aligned with the black casing.
Have yours with such inner casing as well? Do you mind to put up some photos here so that we get a clearer picture?
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 02:30 AM

773 posts

Bathroom's mirrors:-

I've got some 6mm mirrors installed in the bathrooms.
2pcs of 3' x 4' - RM192 each.
46" x 54" - RM276
Special charge of RM60 on notching (cutting out special shape) one of the mirror in master bathroom which I will show you below.

Total damage - RM720.

The mirror does not need any holder. Just some plots of adhesive at the back of the mirror like following pictures.

For the 3' x 4' mirror, they just carried and sticked it to the wall. They didn't hold it for long, but just leave it on wall supported by 2 pcs of small metal stick at the base of the mirror and some masking tapes.

For the bigger piece of mirror, they used these suction holder to carry and handle it.

The end gaps were sealed up.

The mirror in the downstairs bathroom.

The shared bathroom upstairs with the biggest piece of mirror.

The mirror in master bathroom which need a special notching.
There were three options earlier (redo the plumbing and tiling for that particular part; raise the mirror further up to avoid the tap; make a special notching to cut out according to the shape of the tap). I chose the latter due to lesser hassle and I think it looks more weird if I move the mirror further up.
Although it might look a bit awkward at the beginning, i try to accept it and making myself feel better that I take it in a way that I can show people mine are "custom made"!! Hahaha~

The outlet tap is not fix up yet.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 23 2014, 02:45 AM
soR
post Feb 23 2014, 02:45 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 01:54 AM)
As you can see from the picture which I posted earlier, there are already some black casing 'planted' into the wall when they pull the wires...so, the switches are just gonna sit nicely aligned with the black casing.
Have yours with such inner casing as well? Do you mind to put up some photos here so that we get a clearer picture?
something like this

but not horizontally, vertically by its side if u get what i mean... rclxub.gif

p/s - all your table top is it 2x2 tile? the workmanship quite good, may i have the contact of the tiler?

This post has been edited by soR: Feb 23 2014, 02:50 AM
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 02:51 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 23 2014, 02:45 AM)
something like this

but not horizontally, vertically by its side if u get what i mean... rclxub.gif
Mine will be touched up later, so it will be covered up and make like the wall. Definitely won't see like a deep hole.
Are you still in the midst of renovating? If yes, I think your contractor will do the touching up too... smile.gif
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 02:55 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 23 2014, 02:45 AM)
p/s -  all your table top is it 2x2 tile? the workmanship quite good, may i have the contact of the tiler?
Do you mean the counter top in bathroom? The tiles are 2'x 2' black galaxy tiles. Those are done by my contractor and tiling by his subcon, uncle botak and wife.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 23 2014, 02:57 AM
SUSsupersound
post Feb 23 2014, 07:39 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 22 2014, 10:51 PM)
first time i heard this, what is that "shower for your roof"
This idea is I get it from some mamak stores, they install water spray on their roof. And open during hot days.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 23 2014, 07:56 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 01:54 AM)
But looks like the wires are not meant for true 20A.
Anyway, all those high power consumer won't really drag >13A most of the time, unless it is shorted. Typical current draw will be 5-6A. Just make sure they upgrade your main grounding also. Don't just rely on the original ground from developer.
When the wiring job completes, you need to get an assistant and try to short all the socket points just to ensure the wiring are properly installed. When i got my house, I got 4 sockets are not wired up properly.

TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 10:04 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 23 2014, 07:56 AM)
But looks like the wires are not meant for true 20A.
Anyway, all those high power consumer won't really drag >13A most of the time, unless it is shorted. Typical current draw will be 5-6A. Just make sure they upgrade your main grounding also. Don't just rely on the original ground from developer.
When the wiring job completes, you need to get an assistant and try to short all the socket points just to ensure the wiring are properly installed. When i got my house, I got 4 sockets are not wired up properly.
Noted, thks! nod.gif
SUSsupersound
post Feb 23 2014, 10:16 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 10:04 AM)
Noted, thks!  nod.gif
For safety, let the MCB/ELCB trip first will be better. My boss's house even using lower value than normal. Raining season only it will keep on tripping.
But I won't go to that extreme, all just normal 13A(except those meant for high current draw will use double wire but still 13A socket).
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 10:25 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 23 2014, 10:16 AM)
For safety, let the MCB/ELCB trip first will be better. My boss's house even using lower value than normal. Raining season only it will keep on tripping.
But I won't go to that extreme, all just normal 13A(except those meant for high current draw will use double wire but still 13A socket).
My MCB has a lot of 20A..mainly for higher current draw sockets i think...
Yalor, some houses' MCB very sensitive, it will trip even when there is thunder... hmm.gif

** oopss... It's actually lightning.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 23 2014, 10:32 AM
SUSsupersound
post Feb 23 2014, 10:28 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 10:25 AM)
My MCB has a lot of 20A..mainly for higher current draw sockets i think...
Yalor, some houses' MCB very sensitive, it will trip even when there is thunder... hmm.gif
When lightning strikes, better let it trip earlier, else the damage you won't know.
TSmaxxon
post Feb 23 2014, 10:33 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 23 2014, 10:28 AM)
When lightning strikes, better let it trip earlier, else the damage you won't know.
True...but some just over-sensitive... sweat.gif
SUSsupersound
post Feb 23 2014, 10:49 AM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 10:33 AM)
Depends what we want. But something that are funny, during heavy lightning/thunder strike, our electric appliances like TV and PC failed not because of power supply, but from receiver and phone line. I had my PC blow 4 times because of this. And all are from phone line>modem>PC.
soR
post Feb 23 2014, 11:07 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 02:51 AM)
Mine will be touched up later, so it will be covered up and make like the wall. Definitely won't see like a deep hole.
Are you still in the midst of renovating? If yes, I think your contractor will do the touching up too... smile.gif
Yep still renovating, but i monitor on my own and have my own worker.. (contractor ran away...i know i know mad.gif )

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 02:55 AM)
Do you mean the counter top in bathroom? The tiles are 2'x 2' black galaxy tiles. Those are done by my contractor and tiling by his subcon, uncle botak and wife.
is it possible to get the contact?

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 23 2014, 07:39 AM)
This idea is I get it from some mamak stores, they install water spray on their roof. And open during hot days.
ah!

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 23 2014, 10:49 AM)
Depends what we want. But something that are funny, during heavy lightning/thunder strike, our electric appliances like TV and PC failed not because of power supply, but from receiver and phone line. I had my PC blow 4 times because of this. And all are from phone line>modem>PC.
maybe need those CAL-LAB Lightning Isolators, to prevent such thing happens? im looking to get it too..
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/272679
JY.
post Feb 24 2014, 12:05 AM

1,630 posts

Saw u bought quite a lot of 2 ways switches, may I know what is the usage? I can only think of staircase only. I'm in the mist of changing my house switches to Schneider also but due to budget constraint, I will go for vivace only.
halcyon27
post Feb 24 2014, 01:55 AM

2,140 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 23 2014, 10:33 AM)
If tripping is frequently an issue, the fridge is the first to go in the long run. Fridge compressors doesn't fare well with frequent cut and resumption of supply. Something to do with 'gas settlement'/ My current place was like that during thunderstorm until electrician supplied ABB type ELCB and changed everything else to ABB type fuses and what not. Turned out that the old thingy before the ELCB was 'worn' ie not functioning as it used to.
TSmaxxon
post Feb 24 2014, 02:01 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Feb 23 2014, 11:07 PM)
Yep still renovating, but i monitor on my own and have my own worker.. (contractor ran away...i know i know mad.gif )
is it possible to get the contact?
ah!
maybe need those CAL-LAB Lightning Isolators, to prevent such thing happens? im looking to get it too..
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/272679
Oh, sorry to hear about the run-away contractor. I'm sure that you have put in quite a lot of commitments into it by monitoring the work yourself. Sure it gonna turns out good! Gambatte-desyo!!

About the tiling sifu, unfortunately I do not have his contact personally and I do not think the main con is willing to release the contact details as the job is obviously bypasses him.... So sorry again I coudn't help...

TSmaxxon
post Feb 24 2014, 02:14 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ Feb 24 2014, 12:05 AM)
Saw u bought quite a lot of 2 ways switches, may I know what is the usage? I can only think of staircase only. I'm in the mist of changing my house switches to Schneider also but due to budget constraint, I will go for vivace only.
Vivace is not bad too with clean and simple design. The on/off switches feels good too.

For the 2 ways switches, what I can think of is just 6pcs, not sure why I get 7pcs in the list...will check again and big possibility is the wireman gave me wrong info or i saw it wrongly.
Anyway, here is where I use the 2 ways switches: 2 for staircase, 2 for shared bathroom and another 2 for carporch lightings to be control from in/outside.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 24 2014, 02:15 AM
TSmaxxon
post Feb 24 2014, 02:22 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(halcyon27 @ Feb 24 2014, 01:55 AM)
If tripping is frequently an issue, the fridge is the first to go in the long run. Fridge compressors doesn't fare well with frequent cut and resumption of supply. Something to do with 'gas settlement'/ My current place was like that during thunderstorm until electrician supplied ABB type ELCB and changed everything else to ABB type fuses and what not. Turned out that the old thingy before the ELCB was 'worn' ie not functioning as it used to.
Oops...it's abit technical for noobie me to comprehend here... What's the difference of ABB type ELCB compared ABB type fuses? Which one is the commonly used?
I'm not sure mine is gonna be that sensitive or not but I hope not... sweat.gif

50 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0208sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:15 PM