The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 04:22 AM

773 posts

Grilles:-

A simple design with angle bar. Colour is powder coat matt black with sand surface.

Opening for emergency escape.

Fencing at the 1st floor family hall.

Piris
post Feb 14 2014, 04:53 AM

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 14 2014, 04:22 AM)
Grilles:-

A simple design with angle bar.  Colour is powder coat matt black with sand surface.

Opening for emergency escape.

Fencing at the 1st floor family hall.

Fantastic sharing! Indeed helpful for those who are embarking their renovation journey like myself. Looking forward to your collapsible grille.
Condoliza
post Feb 14 2014, 09:23 AM

68 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 13 2014, 05:23 PM)
Hi Condoliza,

Thanks for following my sharings. smile.gif
I'm not a pro but a newbie in reno and just try to post my journey and some info according to my experience.
If you guys need further details on certain things pls feel free to voice out, will try to answer if i know, otherwise other LYN sifu can helps too.

Me too was eyeing the Saujana area before I purchased this unit. I nearly bought a unit at Amaya Saujana but the agent coudn't get me a non-west-facing unit that time...
Yes Amaya is nice ..as long as not facing Nova lol....anyhow i ended up in Bungaraya which is older but a nice environment.only c.1700 sqft..but still quite a lot to do!

Looks like you are on the last legs of your marathon ..sure looks like it will be super !

SUSsupersound
post Feb 14 2014, 10:07 AM

11,554 posts

Got any photos of the lock ears for your gate? Looks like the design not that good.
deviladrian10
post Feb 14 2014, 10:19 AM

53 posts

very good information being shared. thumbup.gif maybe can curi some idea from you.. hehe.. nice house.. im waiting for some paperwork before i can start renovating.. but definitely not looking at 200-300k for renovating.. biggrin.gif
TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 01:25 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Condoliza @ Feb 14 2014, 09:23 AM)
Yes Amaya is nice ..as  long as not facing Nova lol....anyhow i ended up in Bungaraya which is older but a nice environment.only c.1700 sqft..but still quite a lot to do!

Looks like you are  on the last legs of your marathon ..sure looks like it will be super !
Bungaraya is nice too, one of my friend stays there... Nice view with superb tranquillity thumbup.gif
Yeah...no matter buy new or not, still need some reno... Do enjoy your reno journey! biggrin.gif
TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 01:34 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 14 2014, 07:45 AM)
1. indirectly u are fueling the speculation by agreeing & accepting the price.

2. depends how u see it. Demand for housing is always there, but affordability & sensibility is not there. Housing built up is getting smaller & smaller, govern by GFA per sq ft which you are very familiar with it. If you notice, developer is going to suburban area or outstation to build more affordable housing, in line with local authorities & govt.

3. Singapore, although their land is much smaller than KV, but their HDB flats/apt are regulated & control, not under open tendering but application. If you compared singapore & m'sia, in terms of increase of properties MYR vs SGD respective countries, theirs is quite constant increase, but not in KL.

i could go on and on, but happy reno your house.. icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok ok...i surrender...it's my bad fueling the speculation...me no good~~ notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
I shouldn't have bought this house. I should buy it further away....if the suburb house prices also speculated to 2 fold already now, I shoudn't buy it too...otherwise I will be speculating the suburb housing price and affect the suburb ppl who can't afford the new housing price....

Then, I should just rent...
oops, not good also...coz I will be then fueling the investor's pocket and indirectly fueling the housing speculation again........... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 14 2014, 01:35 PM
TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 01:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 14 2014, 10:07 AM)
Got any photos of the lock ears for your gate? Looks like the design not that good.
The photos are in my previous post#425.
It will be fixed with an auto gate system, hence it doesn't comes with the sliding bolt lock...the ears are for additional pad lock if needed...
Can you help me to explain further if you happened to spot anything wrong?

SUSsupersound
post Feb 14 2014, 01:51 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 14 2014, 01:49 PM)
The photos are in my previous post#425.
It will be fixed with an auto gate system, hence it doesn't comes with the sliding bolt lock...the ears are for additional pad lock if needed...
Can you help me to explain further if you happened to spot anything wrong?
Just in a glance only(forget about the autogate), I see the ears are facing outside. For main door, it shall be facing inside or you add a top cover. This is to hold the thief for a while.
TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 02:08 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Piris @ Feb 14 2014, 04:53 AM)
Fantastic sharing! Indeed helpful for those who are embarking their renovation journey like myself. Looking forward to your collapsible grille.
QUOTE(deviladrian10 @ Feb 14 2014, 10:19 AM)
very good information being shared.  thumbup.gif maybe can curi some idea from you.. hehe.. nice house.. im waiting for some paperwork before i can start renovating.. but definitely not looking at 200-300k for renovating..  biggrin.gif
Thanks! Wish you guys all the best and do enjoy your reno journey too...
More updates and sharing on the way.. biggrin.gif

Deviladrian,
My design is kinda simple and neutral... I don't know what theme to classify it but it is just something in my mind that I like... I'm glad that you like some of my ideas...don't worry there, I did not have a copyright. Kekeke~ tongue.gif

The cost I'm paying for the structural renovation of course is not as much...in fact, it is 100 over K. Somehow, when every little other things add up, it is almost 300k. However that cost includes furnitures.
I will post a long list of my spending break downs when everything completes.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Feb 14 2014, 02:10 PM
khoh
post Feb 14 2014, 02:10 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Jan 23 2014, 01:21 AM)
The multifolding door at the kitchen was installed yesterday. It is by Reliance Home which I signed them up in a fair.
When I signed up in the fair, it was RM72/sqft (with hidden hinges and RM2 extra for colour glass).

Later when the Reliance guy came for site measurement, he asked if I want the hidden hinges or the otherwise. He told me that the folding door is gonna be exactly the same except for some actually not-so-obvious kinda hinges. After some considerations, we've chosen the latter @RM65/sqft, 6.38mm laminated clear glass instead of colour glass. Hence, it's a good RM567 savings in the pocket.  rclxms.gif

Mind you that Reliance Home's products do not come with subframe. Some main cond might not prefer this method...
There were only 2 installers, a Chinese and an indonesian worker.

Why not using tempered glass for better security ?

TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 02:19 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(supersound @ Feb 14 2014, 01:51 PM)
Just in a glance only(forget about the autogate), I see the ears are facing outside. For main door, it shall be facing inside or you add a top cover. This is to hold the thief for a while.
Oh lucky... the ears are actually facing inside...I will go there and take another clearer pic later... tongue.gif
Thanks anyway for pointing it out, newbie like me sometimes don't have much experience to spot if any mistakes from vendors...

TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 02:25 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(khoh @ Feb 14 2014, 02:10 PM)
Why not using tempered glass for better security ?
Laminated glass is suppose to be more secure and suitable here. Pls refer to link below for more info and explanations :
http://www.abrusa.com/go/index.cfm/library...ecurity-safety/
jootat
post Feb 14 2014, 02:44 PM

1,994 posts

QUOTE(RO Player @ Feb 14 2014, 07:45 AM)
1. indirectly u are fueling the speculation by agreeing & accepting the price.

2. depends how u see it. Demand for housing is always there, but affordability & sensibility is not there. Housing built up is getting smaller & smaller, govern by GFA per sq ft which you are very familiar with it. If you notice, developer is going to suburban area or outstation to build more affordable housing, in line with local authorities & govt.

3. Singapore, although their land is much smaller than KV, but their HDB flats/apt are regulated & control, not under open tendering but application. If you compared singapore & m'sia, in terms of increase of properties MYR vs SGD respective countries, theirs is quite constant increase, but not in KL.

i could go on and on, but happy reno your house.. icon_rolleyes.gif
You finally got it right. We are here to follow TS's renovation progress. We read too many of other stuff you mentioned in Property thread but definitely we don wish to see it here again ...

Love your reno TS ... can't wait to see your finished product.
khoh
post Feb 14 2014, 03:13 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 14 2014, 02:25 PM)
Laminated glass is suppose to be more secure and suitable here. Pls refer to link below for more info and explanations :
http://www.abrusa.com/go/index.cfm/library...ecurity-safety/
Thanks for the value information.

cheeshion
post Feb 14 2014, 03:30 PM

392 posts

Time flies... So soon you are going to complete the journey, after delaying more than 2 months.
Looking at view from front gate, that spot time stole my attention. Too out-standing, and obvious! From far, it may look like a symbol...

Otherwise, good progress now. When are you planning to move in?
monkey9926
post Feb 14 2014, 04:44 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 14 2014, 01:34 PM)
Ok ok...i surrender...it's my bad fueling the speculation...me no good~~ notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
I shouldn't have bought this house. I should buy it further away....if the suburb house prices also speculated to 2 fold already now, I shoudn't buy it too...otherwise I will be speculating the suburb housing price and affect the suburb ppl who can't afford the new housing price....

Then, I should just rent...
oops, not good also...coz I will be then fueling the investor's pocket and indirectly fueling the housing speculation again...........  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Why do u apologise to strangers when u have the money to spend and u did not borrow from them?
monkey9926
post Feb 14 2014, 04:47 PM

292 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Feb 14 2014, 02:44 PM)
You finally got it right. We are here to follow TS's renovation progress. We read too many of other stuff you mentioned in Property thread but definitely we don wish to see it here again ...

Yes!!!

Go to the topic where your arguments are valued by the other readers.

Here we wanna see how polka dots transform at site.
SUSsupersound
post Feb 14 2014, 06:02 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Feb 14 2014, 02:19 PM)
Oh lucky... the ears are actually facing inside...I will go there and take another clearer pic later... tongue.gif
Thanks anyway for pointing it out, newbie like me sometimes don't have much experience to spot if any mistakes from vendors...
That's good, lucky your contractor know his job. Mine are not lucky, ears facing outside. But when broke in, they never cut the ears but break in from the sliding door.
TSmaxxon
post Feb 14 2014, 07:29 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(jootat @ Feb 14 2014, 02:44 PM)

QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Feb 14 2014, 04:44 PM)
Why do u apologise to strangers when u have the money to spend and u did not borrow from them?
QUOTE(monkey9926 @ Feb 14 2014, 04:47 PM)
Yes!!!

Go to the topic where your arguments are valued by the other readers.

Here we wanna see how polka dots transform at site.
Big thanks bros, for the backing up!! icon_rolleyes.gif

Monkey bro,
I did not apologize, I was just making peace by admitting the fact that "I'm part of the speculation scenes", and also trying to end the unproductive argument with some humours.
I loose nothing after all.
I know my focus well, and that matters most. I'm still gonna love property, gonna invest in property and gonna put my best effort to get what I want.

Let's keep the positive energy up!! flex.gif bruce.gif icon_rolleyes.gif cheers.gif

50 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0328sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:16 PM