The makeover of my humble abode, Sharing my renovation journey

TSmaxxon
post Jan 11 2014, 10:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(PropFox @ Jan 11 2014, 05:29 PM)
Or when u pangsai too smelly and wanna get rid of the smell fast..  Time like this good to have secondary function haha
Alamak! True also! thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
gyver
post Jan 11 2014, 11:00 PM

1,067 posts

Some caution when installing outdoor spotlight with motion sensors.... if there is a lot of cats in your area, for example you are next to a cat lady house, please be mindful that your spotlights will burn up quickly. You might need to change bulbs frequently.
TSmaxxon
post Jan 12 2014, 12:01 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(gyver @ Jan 11 2014, 11:00 PM)
Some caution when installing outdoor spotlight with motion sensors.... if there is a lot of cats in your area, for example you are next to a cat lady house, please be mindful that your spotlights will burn up quickly. You might need to change bulbs frequently.
Thanks for the reminder..I'm using led type, hope it can last longer..
If the cats keep coming over, I think i need to buy those cat repellent from Daiso then. If it still doesn't work, I should catch the cats and send them to kampung area, give them more freedom~ kekeke! tongue.gif
TSmaxxon
post Jan 12 2014, 12:09 AM

773 posts

Following is the quotation from Inovar after site measurement. Installation gonna take place soon, for the entire 1st floor (masterbedroom, 2 other rooms and a small family hall).
I'm using 12mm trafic zone series for flooring, 8mm for staircases (without riser).

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 12 2014, 12:12 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 12:53 AM

773 posts

The laminate flooring for the entire 1st floor is done today. Inovar sent over 4 chinese guys and 2 foreign workers. It was a one day work finishing around 5pm.

Touching up on the skirting joining parts.

Trimming for 2 bedrooms' door which I do not change to new ones.

They helped me to cover up the connecting strips for temporary as to avoid damage which could be happened when moving in carpentry and furniture...

I'm using 12mm traffic zone series for floor board and 8mm for staircase.

The staircase without riser hence got to use this type of skirting profile.

Chosen 'supposedly white' skirting but it turns out more to creamy colour compared my wall.... hmm....but still acceptable lar... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 23 2014, 12:57 AM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 01:21 AM

773 posts

The multifolding door at the kitchen was installed yesterday. It is by Reliance Home which I signed them up in a fair.
When I signed up in the fair, it was RM72/sqft (with hidden hinges and RM2 extra for colour glass).

Later when the Reliance guy came for site measurement, he asked if I want the hidden hinges or the otherwise. He told me that the folding door is gonna be exactly the same except for some actually not-so-obvious kinda hinges. After some considerations, we've chosen the latter @RM65/sqft, 6.38mm laminated clear glass instead of colour glass. Hence, it's a good RM567 savings in the pocket. rclxms.gif

Mind you that Reliance Home's products do not come with subframe. Some main cond might not prefer this method...

There were only 2 installers, a Chinese and an indonesian worker.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 23 2014, 01:31 PM
limhm1
post Jan 23 2014, 09:51 AM

414 posts

OMG. Your house is damn nice !!! I dare not to even touch any of my existing floor tiles coz I know it will cost me a bomb. It is so nice even before furnishing. After furnishing, must look like a showroom!!!

notworthy.gif for you.

For me cry.gif
BTimes
post Jan 23 2014, 10:55 AM

916 posts

Nice. Does the laminate flooring give you a floating feeling when you walk over?

Mine is also laminate flooring but it is a strange feeling whenever I walk over.
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 01:42 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(limhm1 @ Jan 23 2014, 09:51 AM)
OMG. Your house is damn nice !!! I dare not to even touch any of my existing floor tiles coz I know it will cost me a bomb. It is so nice even before furnishing. After furnishing, must look like a showroom!!!

notworthy.gif for you.

For me  cry.gif
Hey bro, thanks for the compliment but you are too humble.. biggrin.gif

My house is almost 9 years old but yours is brand new house mar...if mine is new house I will not touch the flooring too...
all the parquets at first floor were still in good condition but I decided to take them off as I know it is not gonna be long lasting and will come off easily eventually. Really don't like the experience of the wood strips sticking on foot when walking....
TSmaxxon
post Jan 23 2014, 01:51 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ Jan 23 2014, 10:55 AM)
Nice. Does the laminate flooring give you a floating feeling when you walk over?

Mine is also laminate flooring but it is a strange feeling whenever I walk over.
Thanks!

The flooring is ok. I'm using 12mm board here, how about yours? I understand that the stepping feel could be different for 8mm and 12mm board. I tried at their showroom that 12mm board feel more 'solid'...

However, there is some 'ik-ek' sound on staircase (I was suggested by Inovar sales person to use 8mm to save cost). The sales person said it is normal when newly install, shall wait till a week or two if the problem still exists, they will come and rectify.
BTimes
post Jan 23 2014, 01:56 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Jan 23 2014, 01:51 PM)
Thanks!

The flooring is ok. I'm using 12mm board here, how about yours? I understand that the stepping feel could be different for 8mm and 12mm board. I tried at their showroom that 12mm board feel more 'solid'...

However, there is some 'ik-ek' sound on staircase (I was suggested by Inovar sales person to use 8mm to save cost). The sales person said it is normal when newly install, shall wait till a week or two if the problem still exists, they will come and rectify.
Okay, maybe mine is the 8mm type given by the developer. Definitely I walk everywhere and hear the faint creaking sound and it doesn't disappear with time.
soR
post Jan 23 2014, 10:14 PM

1,140 posts

maxxon how much did inovar charge you for the staircase? how they calculate ah? TY!
TSmaxxon
post Jan 24 2014, 03:02 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(BTimes @ Jan 23 2014, 01:56 PM)
Okay, maybe mine is the 8mm type given by the developer.  Definitely I walk everywhere and hear the faint creaking sound and it doesn't disappear with time.
For my staircase, except for 2 stair steps, the 'ik-ek' sound is no more for most stair steps. Will wait and see for another week.
TSmaxxon
post Jan 24 2014, 03:07 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(soR @ Jan 23 2014, 10:14 PM)
maxxon how much did inovar charge you for the staircase? how they calculate ah? TY!
The quotation has been posted earlier, pls refer to post#384. There are 2 different rates for the staircase as the most bottom 3 steps is of bigger size. In addition, the quote is for staircase without riser (the vertical part). If I'm not wrong, full laminate should add another rm10 per step.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 24 2014, 03:08 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 25 2014, 03:12 AM

773 posts

Some random updates:

Paiping ready for the outdoor filter system.

A picture just to show how's the look of the non-hidden hinges for the multi-folding door. I find it okay actually. tongue.gif

The full height wardrobe is done. My initial plan was to build a partition and make a walk-in wardrobe kinda space but had later changed my mind. The reason being that I do not want to waste the spacious master bedroom and make it into a small & packed room. So, I chucked the initial idea and chosen the luxurious of space in the bedroom instead.

JY.
post Jan 25 2014, 02:17 PM

1,630 posts

how much total is your folding door cost you?
pokchik
post Jan 25 2014, 07:24 PM

I'm getting too old for this sh*t
1,304 posts

QUOTE(maxxon @ Jan 25 2014, 03:12 AM)
does this mean that if the wall width is 10ft, total installation is RM65 x 10 = RM650?
or, RM65 x 10ft (width) x 10ft (height) = RM6,500?

This post has been edited by pokchik: Jan 25 2014, 07:25 PM
TSmaxxon
post Jan 25 2014, 10:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(JY. @ Jan 25 2014, 02:17 PM)
how much total is your folding door cost you?
QUOTE(pokchik @ Jan 25 2014, 07:24 PM)
does this mean that if the wall width is 10ft, total installation is RM65 x 10 = RM650?
or, RM65 x 10ft (width) x 10ft (height) = RM6,500?
My folding door size is 118" x 99", cost RM5270 derived from RM65/sqft (per square foot).

The calculation is width (ft) x height (ft) x RM65
= 9.83ft x 8.25ft x 65
=5271 -> rounded up to RM5270.

This post has been edited by maxxon: Jan 25 2014, 10:49 PM
Noregrets
post Jan 26 2014, 09:28 PM

1,124 posts

Looking good.
Congrats.
TSmaxxon
post Jan 28 2014, 01:16 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(sekkee @ Jan 26 2014, 09:28 PM)
Looking good.
Congrats.
Thanks bro, yet to finish...still many parts to be be continue after CNY...now most vendors has gone on cny holidays and some even resuming work after chap goh meh... Envious me....

You must have been enjoying and getting excited to celebrate your first CNY at the new sanctuary right? Wish you and family a very prosperous CNY!

Btw, did you still manage to keep your home at the state of minimalist now? brows.gif

50 Pages « < 18 19 20 21 22 > » Top

0.0256sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:03 AM