Photography Waterproof Camera Recommend needed, Pentax WG-3, Olympus TG-2 and etc...

TSWilhelm.S
post Sep 6 2013, 10:51 AM, updated 13y ago

51 posts

Would appreciate if you guys can give me some opinion on waterproof camera. I been survey around but couldn't decision which one to go. Pentax WG-3? Olympus TG-2? Nikon Coolpix AW110? Canon Powershot D20? or what else? Any suggestion?

Main purpose for water activities like snorkeling, kayaking and beach. Future mayb going for dive.

[PF] T.J.
post Sep 6 2013, 11:39 AM

24,193 posts

Olympus's lineups are almost always the best in terms of overall performance when it comes to waterproof cameras icon_rolleyes.gif

TSWilhelm.S
post Sep 6 2013, 11:48 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(PF T.J. @ Sep 6 2013, 11:39 AM)
Olympus's lineups are almost always the best in terms of overall performance when it comes to waterproof cameras icon_rolleyes.gif
Yea. I know this as well and also more on accesories compare to others branding beside gopro but I read some review on dpreview saying that there is some problem with the TG-2 lens and camera. That why dilemma.

Anyone experience the same?

azerak
post Sep 6 2013, 09:11 PM

805 posts

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/2013-waterproof-roundup

they are not that different anyway.maybe you can ask yourself whats your budget.

btw, Pentax WG-3 is chosen as one of the gear of the year for spring and summer, for that active lifestyle.

http://adventure.nationalgeographic.com/ad...619_600x450.jpg
ken_jr
post Sep 8 2013, 11:28 AM

519 posts

i'd want the gopro hero 3 black edition .. biggrin.gif
LegendLee
post Sep 8 2013, 09:57 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(ken_jr @ Sep 8 2013, 11:28 AM)
i'd want the gopro hero 3 black edition .. biggrin.gif
I can tell you that sometimes the gopro feels like an unfinished product.
It stops suddenly, refuses to charge, can't switch on, etc etc.
TSWilhelm.S
post Sep 9 2013, 10:13 AM

51 posts

QUOTE(azerak @ Sep 6 2013, 09:11 PM)
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/2013-waterproof-roundup

they are not that different anyway.maybe you can ask yourself whats your budget.

btw, Pentax WG-3 is chosen as one of the gear of the year for spring and summer, for that active lifestyle.

http://adventure.nationalgeographic.com/ad...619_600x450.jpg
Thanks for advise.

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Sep 8 2013, 09:57 PM)
Seriously? u experience it before?
tcheepin
post Sep 9 2013, 10:19 AM

34 posts

Nothing is better than a GoPro hero3 Black Edition. Come together with a casing and optional LCD screen.

The firmware for GoPro Hero 3 was crap for the first one, after the third release it seems stable to me.

LegendLee
post Sep 9 2013, 06:00 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,727 posts

QUOTE(Wilhelm.S @ Sep 9 2013, 10:13 AM)
Thanks for advise.
Seriously? u experience it before?
Pretty frequently.
Bought several months ago so not sure if that's the latest firmware.

They tend to overheat when you're capturing a long timelapse/video, when that happen the video will stop.
GoPro app doesn't connect all the time, need to enable/disable once or twice to connect even.
Sometimes you plug it into the USB charger overnight... only to find that the battery have not been charged at all.
I bought it with a batterypack, you need to charge them both separately too.

It's buggy. Good thing is that you're usually able to fix that troubleshooting via the gopro forum...

hidden830726
post Sep 11 2013, 09:28 AM

Moko the Linaslayer
2,847 posts

Used aw110 briefly in my recent trip when rain, so i have to keep my primary cam. Kind of like the button and size, but the quality vs primary cam is less than desired.

Between the camera you mentioned, seriously if im you i will go for GO Pro.

Beside snorkeling, kayaking, beach, diving, you can use it for time lapse, video etc.

Its much more versatile.
asyraf_irsyad
post Sep 12 2013, 05:37 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Sep 8 2013, 09:57 PM)
yeah, experienced da same situation too...
da old model were unstable,
tried the gp3 black edition,
and the result were superb...
flamephotography
post Sep 12 2013, 10:44 AM

264 posts

For a water proof go anywhere camera, I would go for the Pentax WG-3. Its versatile.

But it does look like some creature from outer space.

Just my half cent.

Cheers and happy shopping............ icon_rolleyes.gif
shizham
post Sep 12 2013, 11:38 AM

71 posts

QUOTE(asyraf_irsyad @ Sep 12 2013, 05:37 AM)
yeah, experienced da same situation too...
da old model were unstable,
tried the gp3 black edition,
and the result were superb...
Very true...GP 3 Black does wonders when you have good lighting. If you are tired of underwater video/photography, you can take it with you anywhere else that you can mount it on(especially reliable when you need your hands for other purposes. Check out paintball on GP3 here https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=101516...&type=3&theater
Have not uploaded my diving videos yet.

faiza2
post Sep 12 2013, 01:41 PM

is better than a GoPro hero3 Black Edition. Come together with a casing and optional LCD screen. It better for your requirement.
M30W
post Sep 27 2013, 05:49 PM

53 posts

Just an opinion, if possible please do buy 1 camera with underwater housing. WHY? Because u must make sure waterproof camera TOTALLY DRY before u can charge or change battery, so if battery run out, how u charge or change battery? that's y having casing is better as u can remove the casing and do whatever u want and place the casing back once u want to snorkel or dive. Best scenario, buy waterproof camera with underwater housing.. double the safety XD
slay zieller
post Dec 21 2013, 07:53 PM

buy gopro hero3+ smile.gif

mhdsaifulaziz
post Jan 20 2014, 11:08 AM

563 posts

QUOTE(Wilhelm.S @ Sep 6 2013, 10:51 AM)

Would appreciate if you guys can give me some opinion on waterproof camera. I been survey around but couldn't decision which one to go. Pentax WG-3? Olympus TG-2? Nikon Coolpix AW110? Canon Powershot D20? or what else? Any suggestion?

Main purpose for water activities like snorkeling, kayaking and beach. Future mayb going for dive.

if you need a camera for snorkelling and sports, better get a GoPro, tahan lasak~
better don't use a dslr~~ easy spoil~~

0.0234sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:14 AM