sniper on the roof
post Jul 5 2006, 02:57 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Jul 5 2006, 09:56 AM)
Differences between idle and load temp? laugh.gif

Idle means when you're pc is on and you're doing nothing on that pc... smile.gif

Load means when you're using the pc for playing games, listening to music and everything else.... smile.gif

Got that? rclxms.gif
Wei..this is a sacrilege leh.

Overclocker's definition of load is Prime95 load temp...or multiple Primes for multi cores and HT cpu's.

Idle is everything else.

Somemore all those 20+ degrees temps...hate to throw cold water but despite what the software says, it's unrealistic because a heat producing object cannot be colder than the air around it.

That's unless you tell me u have a 2hp aircon running full blast and ur room is at 16C ambient temp.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jul 5 2006, 02:59 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jul 5 2006, 03:32 PM

23,414 posts

I'm no Einstein here so I'll leave the physics part out.... but I do shop for a lot of heatsinks in the past.

If you check out heatsink/cooling module manufacturer websites (and i dun mean ppl like TT or CM)....Then u'll often come across the term Thermal Resistance which is measured by C/W.... and there isn't such thing as negative c/w figures.

1) Let's assume we're using a A64 here idling at 30W with CnQ off.

2) Assume I fit a thermalright Ultra-120 at it!!!! Woot!!!...which has a thermal resistance of 0.11 c/w with a ~1K rpm fan.

3) Then assuming my room temperature is 30C

So:

30Watt x 0.11 = 3.3 + 30C ambient temperature = I can expect an idle temperature of 33C if I don't screw up any thing.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Jul 5 2006, 03:44 PM
sniper on the roof
post Jul 9 2006, 02:21 PM

23,414 posts

Screenshots anyone?

Prime and fan monitoring?

sniper on the roof
post Oct 2 2006, 12:12 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 2 2006, 10:45 AM)
Go check at the first post in the first page... rclxms.gif
I hate to say this but the ranking doesn't mean jack.... since the system configuration is as diverse as can be and there's so many variables like room temp and Tcase that's not even mentioned.

Ya can't rank cooling like that dood.

sniper on the roof
post Oct 16 2006, 01:09 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Oct 16 2006, 12:50 PM)
I've already sold two of my Hyper 6+ a long time ago edi... tongue.gif

Now i have two heatsink...

One is Thermalright XP120 and Thermalright Ultra 120

The Ultra 120 is used on the Intel Pentium D 820 [Running at 3.8GHz] PC
While the XP120 is used on the Intel Pentium D 930 [Running at 4GHz] PC...

If u're asking why didn't i use the Ultra 120 [Yes, i know that Ultra 120 is better in cooling then XP120] on the Pentium D 930 processor, the answer is simple...

The XP120 surface is facing the motherboard, so it doesn't only cool of the processor, but it cools all the mosfet, capacitors, and all other things that is soldered on the motherboard... thumbup.gif

That's why i choose XP120 over Ultra 120... wink.gif

And another thing why i choose XP120 over Ultra 120 for my Pentium D 930, it's because i'm using my Pentium D pc in Thermaltake Tsunami Dream Casing that heatsink cannot be fitted in the casing, yes, it can, but i have to take the 90MM fan on the sidepanel, otherwise, i can't close the sidepanel... sweat.gif

That's the other reason why i choose XP120 over Ultra 120...

Another simple reason is, because XP120 looks much sexier than the Ultra 120...
With XP120, i can clearly see the heatpipe... wub.gif

bro ianho also agrees in me in saying that XP120 is very much sexier than the ultra 120...
That's why he choose to use XP 120 for his king kong pc... thumbup.gif
Ultra 120 also can cool components what... you just gotta mount the fan lower towards the mobo....then 1/5 of the fan actually doesn't blow across the heatsink but towards the mosfet area.

Of course you'll need to increase the rpm for a more dramatic effect but same goes with XP120.

sniper on the roof
post Nov 1 2006, 01:19 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Nov 1 2006, 02:06 AM)
Have u guys seen the new Coolermaster Eclipse. It's so blardy hugeeeeeeeeee it's unbelievable man. Looks really nice too. Look at the size of it in this review.
http://www.virtual-hideout.net/reviews/Coo...se/index4.shtml
It covers almost the whole top part of the mobo!
Another review here.
http://www.cluboverclocker.com/reviews/hea...lipse/index.htm

Pentium D at 4.4ghz, yikes!  Impressive cooling. Best thing is that it looks sooooooooooooooo nice too.
Squirrel cages are:

1) Noisy
2) For application whereby static pressure is needed...not so much so cfm. Hence pointless in a heatsink like that
3) Extremely difficult to clean

Just look "different" niah.
sniper on the roof
post Nov 2 2006, 01:05 PM

23,414 posts

hey ppl...respect da rulz abit lar. this is not trade section.

0.0358sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:43 AM