Air Co0ling Thread, AIR HSF(tm) thread

darude87
post Apr 21 2007, 06:05 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

hi guys
i need suggestion for high end hsf for my pentium-d and my friend's p4-HT,both also LGA775
we are looking for a good,and quiet hsf to replace our stock 1
budget if possible less than 200 will be nice,but if there is a very good 1,i might increase my budget until 250
darude87
post Apr 21 2007, 06:36 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 21 2007, 06:18 PM)
Well, for RM200, i suggest you to get Noctua NH-U12F from irangan's bulk order. thumbup.gif

It's the best aircooling heatsink i've eva used. wub.gif
oh...maybe i'm still new to hsf,haven't see the brand b4 sweat.gif all i know is Scythe,zalman,and CF tongue.gif

btw,17dB will it be very noisy? because our stock hsf is bloody noisy when its running mad.gif besides that,the heatsink can lap 1 mar? after lapping will have better performance?and compare with Scythe ninja,which is better?
darude87
post Apr 21 2007, 06:44 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 21 2007, 06:37 PM)
17dB is very silent la bro. laugh.gif
good then, now my pentium-D is running on stock, idle temp also can reach 48,got once full load i think it reaches 58 sweat.gif will the new hsf help a lot? and compare with ninja Scythe,which is better?"
darude87
post Apr 21 2007, 06:56 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(sHawTY @ Apr 21 2007, 06:53 PM)
Yes.
It will help reduce the temp a lot.

If not, why would those 3rd party heatsink manufacturer even bother to create such heatsinks? laugh.gif

Scythe Ninja?
That's one old old 3rd party heatsink ler, it's technology is also old.

Noctua NH-12F performs much much better than the ninja. wink.gif
haha...okay,then maybe i'll go with your suggestion,is lapping advisable for a newbie like me? tongue.gif
darude87
post Apr 22 2007, 12:37 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Apr 21 2007, 08:34 PM)
To be honest, i think Noctua could be one of the best cooling in term of silence. The fan performs well and yet, produce less noise. 17dB is already very silent compared to other fans which might produce around 30+dB just to push around 40-50cfm..

Noctua is kinda new brand and hardly can be found in Malaysia. Not shocking if you dont know it. The only place i know is via irangan's bulk. And the NH-U12F is already proven to perform really well...
do you think i'm able to get it from lowyat plaza?
silverstone's fan very noisy ka?
darude87
post May 29 2007, 06:45 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

sorry to interrupt conversations here sweat.gif

few things i need to know before i buy my hsf, i saw few models of thermaltake typhoon, got mini la, VX la, big la... which is better? and price all almost the same.
compare with noctua, is it big diff ah? if not big diff then i go for TT cause cheaper and easier to get

anyway, today i bought the vizo windstorm case fan, seriously.... it is FREAKING NOISY, i thought i can tahan the noise, after i pasang for less than 10 min, i gave up XD tongue.gif
darude87
post Jul 3 2007, 11:30 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

all sifu sifu sekalian,need your help

i'm using pentium D 805@ stock speed which is 2.66ghz
currently using noctua hsf
when i was using stock hsf,the idle temp is around 47, max load only 52-55
but after i switch to noctua, idle is slightly better @44, but when i max load, i can reaches 58 rclxub.gif i was scared so i let it cool down,so far havent really try to stress it

any idea what's wrong with it?

Added on July 5, 2007, 6:28 pmnow my temp seems to be better, but i still feel a bit weird
now the idle temp can reach as low as 39C, but the peak is still quite high,i'm not sure whether its the sensor is not accurate or its really that hot
the situation its like this

when i run a game, the temp can reach 58C according to MSI core centre, but the cooldown is damn fast, from 58, within 3 seconds, the temp will drop to 51, then within another 3-4 sec, the temp will drop to 49 and so and so

so what u guys think?

This post has been edited by darude87: Jul 5 2007, 06:28 PM
darude87
post Jul 8 2007, 01:07 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

i remember the very last time i remount my noctua hsf, i notice the colour of those copper parts like turned dark
any idea what's causing it and does it affect the performance?

0.0402sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:51 PM