Reptile ID, for a lizard I caught at home

funkychips
post May 30 2006, 01:50 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

monitors grow into monsters that feed on chickens, eggs and meat, not to mention everything else that is edible. thumbup.gif there's one living in a drain across the road from my house too

This post has been edited by funkychips: May 30 2006, 01:50 PM
funkychips
post May 30 2006, 05:55 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ May 30 2006, 09:56 AM)
basiliks huh? thats a cool name...
edit:err... I found pictures of the brown basilisk, but it doesn't look like what I caught.Is this a brown basilisk? Is there any difference between a brown basilisk and a malaysian brown basilisk?
No we don't have basilisks in malaysia. They are native to South America .The lizard you caught is a garden fence agama (Calotes versicolor). It belongs to the same family as bearded dragons and butterfly lizards. Very nervous lizards, hard to keep in small cages and they need plenty of full sunlight to regulate their body metabolism. user posted image

This post has been edited by funkychips: May 30 2006, 05:57 PM
funkychips
post Jun 4 2006, 07:58 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

orange clock work, is that from a brood you hatched or you caught/bought it?

funkychips
post Jun 10 2006, 06:47 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

the males are very cool-looking...red head and black throat...but they bite when catch them...and they got jagged teeth like beardie...can draw blood loh...keep beardie better lar like dat hehehehe....... biggrin.gif
funkychips
post Jun 16 2006, 10:14 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

they are not dangerous, just run around too fast and not syiok to keep if you want to handle them. happy.gif
funkychips
post Jun 17 2006, 04:24 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

gila monster! once kena bitten, it's like a mad rush to the hospital. You waste time trying to get the lizard off your hand, becoz once it bite down it will chew and chew to get the venom into the wound. Then you get dizziness, swelling of the bitten area, vomiting, and blurring of vision. If u are in Malaysia, i think end of story already lor.....if no antivenom tongue.gif

0.0164sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 04:06 PM