{Official HTC One And The Only One Thread V8}, HTC Zoe/Blink Feed/Boom Sound/Sense 5

sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 11:43 AM

23,414 posts

Just updated to 4.3.

Camera problem fixed.
sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 12:15 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(nuttyking91 @ Sep 28 2013, 11:53 AM)
thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif at least some good news  nod.gif
QUOTE(owentan328 @ Sep 28 2013, 12:04 PM)
that fast got the update?

why am i not seeing the update?
I'm in taiwan. Guinea pigs again
sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 12:55 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 28 2013, 12:52 PM)
Purple tint problem fixed?
Yup

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 28 2013, 01:02 PM

sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 01:56 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(mansooriqbal @ Sep 28 2013, 01:32 PM)
show us your camera stills tongue.gif
some snapshots

sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 02:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 28 2013, 02:09 PM)
Do you mind to cover your camera lens and take photo? Take in very dark.
Its daytime here.
Anyway.. taken with lens covered on brown pants.
Even when left covered for long time also wont turn purple

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 28 2013, 02:17 PM

sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 02:31 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(funglover @ Sep 28 2013, 02:26 PM)
may i know the 2nd picutre, the line on the road was actually purple colour and 3rd  picture the words was purple colour too?
The lines on the road is pinkish magenta and the words on the fishtank is magenta
sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 02:46 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(funglover @ Sep 28 2013, 02:33 PM)
i see, but i saw in taiwan's forum they are saying the 4.3 make it worst than before..
I just updated last night and still testing. Let u know later tonight.
sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 03:24 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Sep 28 2013, 02:54 PM)
OK... back home di.

Did some "lab test".

1. Shot this with RX100 full auto jpeg. Exif reads f1.8, 1/4sec, ISO5000

2. HTC One 4.3 also full auto. Exif reads f2, 1/7sec, ISO800 .. seems the lighting condition is about ~2.5 stops above what the HTC One can do.

3. So I shot another jpg with the RX100 with the same setting as the HTC One at f2, 1/8sec, ISO800.

Edit: 4. Add Iphone5 comparison shot.

Tonight will check if the purple stuff will show up under practical shooting conditions

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 28 2013, 03:51 PM
sniper on the roof
post Sep 28 2013, 03:39 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(adriancs @ Sep 28 2013, 03:36 PM)
Take pic #3, blow it up back to ISO 5000 using lightroom. See what you get?

[attachmentid=3650287]

Thats the #3 pic blown up to ISO6400 via software. Looks like the "ultrapixels" still suck.

My theory is that the red channel jacked up too high, waaay past the point noise becomes signal. Lets see what the update brings.
I agree.

As a former ifag... also took a shot with the ipon5

sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 01:30 AM

23,414 posts

Did some practical shooting today. Most were shot under difficult conditions but the short conclusion is that while its a substantial improvement, the purple stuff still rears its ugly head

1. Very dark restaurant with halogen spotlights. The purple comes in the darkest shadow areas

2. Night sky. I avoided any contrasty lights and the purple seems to be kept at bay. If I recall, the purples horrid on the previous firmware on the same shot. f2, 1/10, ISO1000

3. Not sure if its the AE/AF locked wrongly or just the phone's noise reduction. No improvements on low light AF.
f2, 1/10, ISO1000

4. Loads of CA. f2, 1/30, ISO250

5. HDR mode seems to work a tad better. Previous firmware overexposes this shot a lot.

6. Again, shadow areas.

7. Street mixed lighting.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 29 2013, 04:05 AM
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 01:32 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(xtr4 @ Sep 28 2013, 11:10 PM)
Sniper.....you're still around hahaha =p
How've you been?

Btw, thanks on the update on 4.3, I'm still waiting for it here in M'sia >_<
Don't post as much but yeah... never stopped lurking around.

sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 11:30 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 29 2013, 02:36 AM)
Bro sniper.. how abt video recording?

Im so dissapointed coz cant record 30secs vid of concert coz purple patch keeps coming up (4.2.2)

Appreciates ur help
Still there.. popped up on mine after 1min 30sec FHD vid recording in almost complete darkness.
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 12:39 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(owentan328 @ Sep 29 2013, 12:28 PM)
hey guys...

here is a pic of my perfect HTC one made in taiwan ...

no camera issues out of the box

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
New set?
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 03:16 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(sebastianX11 @ Sep 29 2013, 02:59 PM)
it is a pity that this thread has become a place of highlighting probs with htc one
i am very happy with my one as it does not have any probs
been using it naked for more than 3 months with xtremeguard for the back only
still loving the form factor and boom sound
but the ultra pixel in 4mp is getting outdated...
I'm happy with mine too. Truth be told, situations that creates photos with purple tint is too dark to get any reasonable quality with most cameras anyway.
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 09:01 PM

23,414 posts

With all these talk about the camera issue and what not.. so I went for a photowalk today without a camera. laugh.gif

It actually works pretty decent to my surprise especially in B&W. Let me know what you think.

IMAG0974 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMAG0981 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMAG0984_BURST002_1 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMAG0991_1 by vmwt, on Flickr

IMAG0994 by vmwt, on Flickr
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 09:27 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 29 2013, 09:05 PM)
nice  thumbup.gif
daylight photograph works perfectly smile.gif
just the matter of low light situation that botherssss
The color tint after 4.3 is not that difficult to remove actually.

Originals below from my post in the previous page

Original

Edited

Original

Edited

sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 09:41 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 29 2013, 09:37 PM)
that is with post processing skill....how about noob like me ?  tongue.gif
we as an consumer pay a sum of money to buy high end device sure expected to be good ma  tongue.gif
I can forsee HTC shares going to crash once 4.3 reaches international markets.
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 10:11 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(devil94 @ Sep 29 2013, 09:49 PM)
ohhh HTC......Ultrapixel was good without the tint issue  doh.gif
HTC One certainly gain them some shares.....but with the problem coming on the back  doh.gif
It's a pretty damn good phone. Too bad its plagued by this issue.

QUOTE(yusiongng @ Sep 29 2013, 09:58 PM)
I sent my unit for repair .. when my device is back, the camera works perfectly so far . as for the cosmetic damage , i didn't notice any damage done on my phone. but i can't guarantee that ur unit will remain same as mine.
Can you try play game or something until the device warms up and then shoot a photo with lens covered?
sniper on the roof
post Sep 29 2013, 11:06 PM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(evofantasy @ Sep 29 2013, 10:20 PM)
mind sharing what did you do for the processing/ editing? thanks a bunch! =)
The photos u quoted are not processed. Just resized only
sniper on the roof
post Sep 30 2013, 01:45 AM

23,414 posts

QUOTE(syazwan @ Sep 29 2013, 02:36 AM)
Bro sniper.. how abt video recording?

Im so dissapointed coz cant record 30secs vid of concert coz purple patch keeps coming up (4.2.2)

Appreciates ur help
Shot a VERY bad lowlight vid with various lighting conditions on the HTC One 4.3 while on nightly stroll tonight. Please view with caution as it may cause motion sickness

QUOTE(Jason @ Sep 30 2013, 12:47 AM)
likewise.. I didn't buy a high end phone camera to do PP for casual shots.. OH WAIT LEMME GO HOME EDIT THE PHOTO BARU UPLOAD.. wait long long lor.. just want to take decent looking pictures for facebook ma...
I got good quality SGP screen protector for sale. full body i dunno.
Your posts always full of angst huh laugh.gif

But you're right, I'm expecting HTC to be the subject of a witch hunt after international release of 4.3 which supposed to fix the issue but didn't.

This post has been edited by sniper on the roof: Sep 30 2013, 01:48 AM

0.0537sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 10:51 PM