7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V31, Excitement Embodied

:3mushy:3
post Oct 14 2013, 08:26 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 14 2013, 08:22 AM)
hehe true. my gf oso cannot differentiate, coz different class (MG) but about the same size. compared to the UC...its really like MG vs HG
Based on rough estimation, HGUC Sinanju looks taller than the Proto Zero. Can't imagine if it's put next to an MG Sinanju laugh.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 08:56 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 14 2013, 08:36 AM)
real world explanation: in the late 90s small and sleek is the trend.
in universe explanation: as a weapon of war the smaller it is the better, smaller target, smaller heat signature, lighter, more agile, easier to concealed.

sf on the other hand is the exaggeration of everything. It is blink bcuz ppl like shinny stuff especially kids. Its disproportionately large wing span compared to its body is cuz overly complex retarded backpack is seeds signature. As a weapon of war, sf is pretty much useless.

hence ur question should be the other way around. The bigger elephant in the room is sf.
QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 08:38 AM)
not to mention literally useless when there is gravity around whistling.gif but as a design, i can appreciate it, but as a weapon of war, it's really ridiculous
Eh, the in-universe explanation is a moot point. It's a (science?) fiction, and the anime clearly expresses them as capable of maneuvering and fighting effectively given whatever their looks or complexities are, in their respective series smile.gif I can accept your point, however, if only some MS (particularly the Gundams) to have smaller builds compared to the antagonists' MS, but that's not the case, seeing UC MS are indeed shorter.
post Oct 14 2013, 09:14 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 14 2013, 09:02 AM)
OT: the best form of weapon, is not a giant humanoid form tongue.gif this has been discussed in past by war experts and strategists (forgot which article).
Yeap very true. I would have designed a giant sphere with concealed weaponry inside the heavily-plated armor, with retractable multi-purpose limbs.

QUOTE(Kikifish @ Oct 14 2013, 09:08 AM)
I kind of dig the Astray Noir sad.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 10:11 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 14 2013, 09:37 AM)
yes its science fiction. And yes its retarded in all the red white blue yellow color scheme, yes its retarded in building giant robots that shoots pew pew lazer; virtually everything in gundam robot wise is retarded.

now thats out of the way, lets talk bout gundam as a whole. the basis for gundam is to portray warfare, the robot is just the selling point; that is what the original gundam that tomino wanted and that is what gundam as a franchise is spiritually. However, when u compare between 2 obviously retarded object then u'll have to compare it in which is the bigger offender. Hence ur original question of why wing is small should be phrase as why sf in particular its wing is overly disproportionately large. At the very least, for wing i can came up with some sort of a realistic excuse/explanation that conforms to the franchise spiritually, can u think of 1 for sf, real world explanation aside of course since its easily explained as kids like blink blink and cool wings.

now i dun quite get ur point of "uc ms is indeed shorter". uc hav all kinds of sizes. Pre zeta r 18m ish, zeta-unicorn r bout 20-25m ish (some r even bigger), victory is 16m ish. UC covers up pretty much everything in terms of height and size. Also it gives actual technical explanation as to why its so big/so small.
Sorry typo, I meant AC series.

The point is, the Gundam W shifted out of the 'standardization' of MS size, being averagely at 17m height, whereas other series have 19m~22m on average. I don't ever question why a part of the design is full of flaws in the practicality perspective, Sunrise can throw in all kinds of magical science mumbo jumbo in the series (I'm pointing at you, GN particle!), and their glaringly design flaws (Wing Zero with the bird wings, really?) I can even accept how awesome Gaia is despite its redundant and unnecessary hound form, but when it's translated into Gunpla production, the difference in scale size, particularly heights, is something that I cannot just look away, unless that MS is a special case like the Destroyer and The O.

post Oct 14 2013, 10:26 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Oct 14 2013, 10:21 AM)
So you're complaining because Bandai goes the extra mile to make sure their model kits are properly proportioned?
Nope, Bandai did a professional job by sticking to the actual scale conversion. It's not really a complaint (to Sunrise, or their mecha designers), it's just to me, it looks weird when the MS from W are put together or side by side, given that 1/100 scale, we should expect some uniformity in the size laugh.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 10:34 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 10:29 AM)
not to be mean or anything, but it has been said by a lot of people that if you want uniformity in size, go collect 6inch figures whistling.gif to me, i'm happy with the scales and proportions, that's just how the MS is represented in the show and i appreciate that they go through lengths to give us (almost) similar engineering in different shapes and sizes
When put together in the same series, I have no qualms about it, but just imagine putting an MG Wing next to an MG 00 Raiser, wow laugh.gif Nevertheless, I admire each and every Gundam design very much smile.gif

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Oct 14 2013, 10:35 AM
post Oct 14 2013, 10:54 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 14 2013, 10:37 AM)
and why is that a problem?

i can put my f22 raptor besides my mig29 no problem. Different weapon different spec how it looks whats its size is not an issue. In fact its the opposite really. The differing in size actually makes it even better, further highlight its uniqueness.
Well, to further strengthen my point (of my perspective), F22 and the MIG29 are in the same universe. Wing Gundam however, only exists in W universe, SF in Seed and so on. But when these Gundams 'break' the fourth wall, as in made into model production and being posed side by side in the same display case with taller, but scale-specific Gunplas, this is where I find it quite funny. Oh well, to each of his own.

00Qan-T is the ultimate bong laugh.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 11:21 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheAdmiral @ Oct 14 2013, 11:15 AM)
tey can display whatever tey want wherever they want. It doesn't really matter, if u wan to look at it as its own thing within its own universe then ur brain will automatically filtered out the rest anyway. If u wan to look at it as a whole u can let ur imagination runs wild and think of it as another iteration of David vs Goliath story.

at any rate as a knowledgeable fans, it doesn't really matter which approach ur going with as u can always discern what is what and belongs in where. Honestly the only real life ppl that i know of that hav a problem with the size are ppl hu never watch any gundam show or doesn't understand the concept of scale model. U seems to be a knowledgeable fan so the prob of size coming from a fan like u is abit of a surprise.
Well like I said earlier, it's not really a problem, more like a quirk when they are displayed together smile.gif And I've also implied that it is me who have this 'issue', the modeler can put whatever they want in their display cases laugh.gif I love all MS anyway, each has its own X factor to make it so loveable and awesome.
post Oct 14 2013, 11:45 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Look at that bazooka! drool.gif But ARF looks sleeker though hmm.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 11:52 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Oct 14 2013, 11:50 AM)
It's not sleeker. They are the exact same mold.
Yeah, I said it 'looks' sleeker, probably due to the dashing red and black smile.gif Is it weird that I got this idea to make a Purple frame now laugh.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 12:37 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 12:22 PM)
i think that ABF is a PG i would really like.. the bazooka and the whole mold really looks good together, ARF never quite had that charm tongue.gif he was a bit too fat to be a samurai-style MS, the PG version, at least.. while the ABF looks like he could really mess up your day with that bazooka
Yeap fat PG ARF. The MG looks very sharp and capable to cut a Gundam 20 pieces with its dual katana.
post Oct 14 2013, 02:09 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 01:56 PM)
actually it's already out in Japan, i believe.. now comes the wait for it to reach HERE sweat.gif
GA already takes Preorder laugh.gif But, after I viewed it at the expo, I guess it's not as impressive as it looked in the pictures. Although, some good reviews might change my mind to get it ASAP tongue.gif
post Oct 14 2013, 04:43 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(kyzson69 @ Oct 14 2013, 04:41 PM)
YA where is november gunpla? now you mention it smile.gif
November highlight = RG Strike Freedom
post Oct 15 2013, 02:03 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

I think I've found the perfect combination of bronze color for the 3.0 thumbup.gif

The sticker is just not long lasting shakehead.gif
post Oct 16 2013, 07:55 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(daydreaming @ Oct 16 2013, 07:43 AM)
sazabi, proto zero, rg SF all look nice.

thinking of getting few cheap gundam builder kits to play around. maybe try to learn how to customize (by watching youtube) :|
I always buy *cough* version to experiment on as their quality is almost the same as Bandai gunpla. However, the HGBF is a nice idea. I think when 3D printer becomes much more money-friendly, people will go nuts over the customization brows.gif
post Oct 16 2013, 07:56 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Oct 16 2013, 05:52 PM)
wow....what type of marker did you use?
Clean with soapy warm water > silver Sharpie > thin gloss coat > bronze Sharpie > gloss coat (haven't done this because it's far from complete) laugh.gif

Decided to paint the whole section of that piece sweat.gif
post Oct 16 2013, 09:22 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 16 2013, 08:07 PM)
looks like RF SF's advanced MS joint will have 2 tones of gold  thumbup.gif
That's cool. Now I have to consider whether to paint them with copper gold or not.
post Oct 17 2013, 07:02 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Vorador @ Oct 17 2013, 12:24 AM)
haiz... every time SF released, this place will turn into SG bashing thread for a while.

--edited--

But I highly appreciate that ppl only bash the kit itself, not ppl who love and like the kit.  thumbup.gif
Very true. I love all Gundam series, accepting their goodness and flaws. Some people bash Seed/Destiny too much without realizing their favorite series are riddled with flaws too doh.gif

SF itself is a highly prominent MS thumbup.gif
post Oct 17 2013, 08:22 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(mf_yamato @ Oct 17 2013, 07:31 AM)
screw this... Gundam kit is a toy!!!
*runs...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Check label >This product is not a toy
post Oct 17 2013, 09:09 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(Freedom1104 @ Oct 17 2013, 09:06 AM)
looks like there is no need to repaint it anyway  tongue.gif  tongue.gif thank you bandai biggrin.gif
Pandai staying true to the nature of Real Grade brows.gif

7 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 04:36 AM