Model Kits Gundam & Mecha Modelling Thread V31, Excitement Embodied

TheAdmiral
post Oct 2 2013, 09:04 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Jeff39 @ Oct 2 2013, 08:33 AM)
Yupe, i'm aware of it, man.... brows.gif
Just that we have been waiting for the MG unit for the X series for damn long time...BANDAI cry.gif
u wont get mg x or dx by virtue of the series itself, its not popular enuf. If it's incarnation in bf is well receive then u'll hav a chance, else forget it. Plenty of other designs that r prime for mg-fied or 2.0-fied.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 4 2013, 02:21 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Lacersan @ Oct 4 2013, 02:02 PM)
Suprising that Malaysia is the 2nd biggest market in SEA region.
mayb not by a huge margin, Indonesia and Philippine r also big. We do however hav tons great modellers, champion for 2011 gbwc is a malaysian.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 4 2013, 03:22 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(Exiled_Gundam @ Oct 4 2013, 03:05 PM)
Actually b4 it was known as GBWC (BAKUC before iinm), Malaysian won twice I think, Brandon and Eric
oh ya forgot bout bakuc. Good call
TheAdmiral
post Oct 6 2013, 10:01 PM

49 posts

Just finish this for a friend.

Things that i hate:

1. the bloody bazooka. While it is not needed to hold it in place, it just look awkward posing without griping the handle and equally as awkward adjusting the damn hand to make it even remotely close to a griping position.
2. the bloody shield. Virtually unwieldable. Ur better off tossing away the damn thing and just pose with a saber instead.
3. the shoulder binder. Too damn heavy and would eventually collapse back down.

urgh, i nid to build something new to quench the horror of old kits.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 6 2013, 10:50 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(TaurusOxford @ Oct 6 2013, 10:11 PM)
That must be a REALLY GOOD friend to have to build AND paint that piece of shit.

You need a Proto Zero to cheer you up. wink.gif
Oh dun worry, i'll charge him for it. If not for the cost of paints n stuff, i can at least bill him on mental anguish and physical torture it gave me. And yes proto zero will hopefully be my antibiotics.

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 6 2013, 10:14 PM)
arghhh so even MG also dont escape from heavy feel shield
HGUC is awesome but the shield handle is always prone to break
old kits dun hav pegging system, so the size and weight only exacerbate its fundamental flaws. The hguc 1s is better in both proportion and engineering. But honestly its an old mg, such flaws its to be expected.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 7 2013, 12:05 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(siong630 @ Oct 7 2013, 11:44 AM)
i am still hoping bandai will produce MG Kshatriya, :sob:
tey will just not so soon, no way in hell r tey gonna pass up on such popular design with 2 variations to milk, especially 1 that r featured prominently in their most successful series ever and being piloted by a very popular character that fanbois and fangals will fap to in their dreams.

the fact remains, its too bloody top heavy and unbalance with 4 BFW hanging on the shoulders, friction alone can only take u so far, need new design/tech to make it posable and steady enuf.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 7 2013, 12:07 PM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 7 2013, 02:18 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(General_Nic @ Oct 7 2013, 01:44 PM)
and Bandai just don't want to use back the old screw-joints tech  hmm.gif
screw is not really that helpful over a period of time it'll still sag; gravity still wins out in the end. Even display base hav screw and groves to "lock" it in a set position but with a heavy kit, that connection doesn't help at all. U can tighten all u wan but the friction between plastic just isn't enuf to hold it in place. Also there comes a point where the stress u put on the plastic as u tighten could deform the plastic itself rendering it useless. U can try experimenting this, get a heavy kit say sinanju for example and put in on a display base but tilt it at an angle, 9/10 the whole thing would come crashing down.

now we dun kno how much each binder's gonna weight, probably around hg-small mg. But u hav to take note that the each shoulder will have to support 2 binders that weight like a hg each. Shoulder joint cant take so much weight on its own, at least i haven seen 1 capable of such. Also take into consideration u need to pose with it, this further compound the problem.

with current tech, u'll hav to sacrifice either posability or stability. OR just use die cast parts in which case u'll hav to sacrifice ur bank account.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 7 2013, 02:23 PM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 7 2013, 04:01 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 7 2013, 03:29 PM)
From what i think, Technology and Design aren't issue for bandai as we already have 3rd party done so well with Kshatriya and fact the detail and given freebies are outmatch any current bandai had offer.

only question they want to do it or not and time will tell.
ur referring to elyn? Now i cant confirm this as i dun own 1, but from what ive seen so far non has posed in an action pose. Its just it standing straight with the binder's either spread open or close. Now i kno the binder is not lock in a set of position u can move it around but all the pics that ive seen so far hav its arm just straight down. Can the whole arm move around like normal mg with the binders attached? Can it hold its position say stretch out the arm perpendicular to its body (for the lack of a better example, can it do something similar to a nazi salute)? I'll like to be proven wrong on this but at the same time i wouldn't be surprise if it cant; just means it sacrifice possability with stability. While i dun particularly care wit it sacrificing possability as i think it still looks beautiful just standing there liek a boss, but Bandai themselves do as of late, and this could be whats holding them back. hmm.gif

we hav to see how the new sazabi is done. Its the 1st big kits post 2.0 (the-0 doesn't count, its made with old design from as far back as 2004) if this is done well, it'll open the flood gates for future big kits; and this includes the "totally-not-zeong" sinanju we got a glimpse of in epi6. Surely bandai is thinking how to milk unicorn further. If tey introduce someting so huge so hype but at the same time cant replicate in model form then tey just shoot themselves in the foot.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 7 2013, 04:12 PM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 7 2013, 05:23 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(chriswoo @ Oct 7 2013, 04:56 PM)
I do own the 3rd party elyn one but I still haven't build one yet but  with a stand it can do more quite nice dynamic pose however if in term of balance between possability with stability i think it use plastic material compare to resin could give it advantage of lighter weight and more flexible in posing. but than i'm not too sure however picture can tell more better than words.

as for sazabi we can't speculate it until it release it final product, could be evenly good as the Hi Nu ka or other way around
ah from the pic it seams the shoulder itself doesn't move but the joint under the shoulder armor does. so with this it can stretch out while the whole weight is supported by the armor itself connected to the body in effect making the body itself bearing the binders weight, sparing the joint. hmm.gif Interesting this does work to a certain extent.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 11 2013, 11:35 AM

49 posts

hmm at 3800 yen, its safe to say there wont be any chrome parts for the satellite cannon then.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 12 2013, 09:14 PM

49 posts

Just back from the expo, sazabi looks better in real life then in pic although abit disappointed tey din't bring any of its riffle.

my loot:

although didn't intend to get anything from the expo, but my hand got itchy......

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 12 2013, 09:34 PM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 08:36 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:02 AM)
The SF is almost reaching the size of Proto Zero doh.gif Why did the Gundam W creator made the series Gundams short doh.gif
real world explanation: in the late 90s small and sleek is the trend.
in universe explanation: as a weapon of war the smaller it is the better, smaller target, smaller heat signature, lighter, more agile, easier to concealed.

sf on the other hand is the exaggeration of everything. It is blink bcuz ppl like shinny stuff especially kids. Its disproportionately large wing span compared to its body is cuz overly complex retarded backpack is seeds signature. As a weapon of war, sf is pretty much useless.

hence ur question should be the other way around. The bigger elephant in the room is sf.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 14 2013, 08:37 AM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 09:37 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 14 2013, 08:56 AM)
Eh, the in-universe explanation is a moot point. It's a (science?) fiction, and the anime clearly expresses them as capable of maneuvering and fighting effectively given whatever their looks or complexities are, in their respective series smile.gif I can accept your point, however, if only some MS (particularly the Gundams) to have smaller builds compared to the antagonists' MS, but that's not the case, seeing UC MS are indeed shorter.
yes its science fiction. And yes its retarded in all the red white blue yellow color scheme, yes its retarded in building giant robots that shoots pew pew lazer; virtually everything in gundam robot wise is retarded.

now thats out of the way, lets talk bout gundam as a whole. the basis for gundam is to portray warfare, the robot is just the selling point; that is what the original gundam that tomino wanted and that is what gundam as a franchise is spiritually. However, when u compare between 2 obviously retarded object then u'll have to compare it in which is the bigger offender. Hence ur original question of why wing is small should be phrase as why sf in particular its wing is overly disproportionately large. At the very least, for wing i can came up with some sort of a realistic excuse/explanation that conforms to the franchise spiritually, can u think of 1 for sf, real world explanation aside of course since its easily explained as kids like blink blink and cool wings.

now i dun quite get ur point of "uc ms is indeed shorter". uc hav all kinds of sizes. Pre zeta r 18m ish, zeta-unicorn r bout 20-25m ish (some r even bigger), victory is 16m ish. UC covers up pretty much everything in terms of height and size. Also it gives actual technical explanation as to why its so big/so small.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 14 2013, 09:48 AM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 10:37 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:34 AM)
When put together, I have no qualms about it, but just imagine putting an MG Wing next to an MG 00 Raiser, wow laugh.gif
and why is that a problem?

i can put my f22 raptor besides my mig29 no problem. Different weapon different spec how it looks whats its size is not an issue. In fact its the opposite really. The differing in size actually makes it even better, further highlight its uniqueness.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 14 2013, 10:38 AM
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 10:43 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Agito666 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:40 AM)
GN particles mainly made from weed
you inhale too much you will get high and strip naked during battle...niggga yo  laugh.gif
wow thats makes so much sense, so gundam is just a giant bong and when every1 is expose to gn particles cough-weed-cough every1 gets high and start to understand weed is the best medium of communication. So setsuna is just a weed dealer.

u sir deserve an award. notworthy.gif
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 10:50 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 10:46 AM)
actually it's more like Celestial Being, not just Setsuna, in the end everyone got fake weed and liked it, so they fought to get the real one whistling.gif etc etc
space weed cartel.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 11:15 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 14 2013, 10:54 AM)
Well, to further strengthen my point (of my perspective), F22 and the MIG29 are in the same universe. Wing Gundam however, only exists in W universe, SF in Seed and so on. But when these Gundams 'break' the fourth wall, as in made into model production and being posed side by side in the same display case with taller, but scale-specific Gunplas, this is where I find it quite funny. Oh well, to each of his own.

00Qan-T is the ultimate bong laugh.gif
tey can display whatever tey want wherever they want. It doesn't really matter, if u wan to look at it as its own thing within its own universe then ur brain will automatically filtered out the rest anyway. If u wan to look at it as a whole u can let ur imagination runs wild and think of it as another iteration of David vs Goliath story.

at any rate as a knowledgeable fans, it doesn't really matter which approach ur going with as u can always discern what is what and belongs in where. Honestly the only real life ppl that i know of that hav a problem with the size are ppl hu never watch any gundam show or doesn't understand the concept of scale model. U seems to be a knowledgeable fan so the prob of size coming from a fan like u is abit of a surprise.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 11:26 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Oct 14 2013, 11:21 AM)
Well like I said earlier, it's not really a problem, more like a quirk when they are displayed together smile.gif And I've also implied that it is me who have this 'issue', the modeler can put whatever they want in their display cases laugh.gif I love all MS anyway, each has its own X factor to make it so loveable and awesome.
ah ic gotcha.

anyway has any1 seen sazabi beam tomahawk? No pic or info of it anywhere, seems weird that its signature weapon did not get any attention....... sweat.gif
TheAdmiral
post Oct 14 2013, 05:11 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(kyzson69 @ Oct 14 2013, 04:41 PM)
YA where is november gunpla? now you mention it smile.gif
QUOTE(HxiiiK @ Oct 14 2013, 04:48 PM)
but no MG slated for Nov release.. X is january.. though i wish it was Nov... hmmmm.. peculiar
this guy
TheAdmiral
post Oct 16 2013, 05:19 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(nazrul90 @ Oct 16 2013, 05:12 PM)
I dont like the dragoon gimmick on SF.. looks very stupid(glowing light from deployed dragoon wing?)
at least Freedom was nice

anyway hope this would be the last kit for SF in the next 20 year whistling.gif
so sick with it already

SD-got
MG-got
HG-got
PG-got
RG-got
u forgot the inevitable sf base custom design in bf. So all of the above x2.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0473sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 05:17 AM