> Proton secretly invited Top Gear to test Suprima S, during P1/Prototype stage

TSruffstuff
post Sep 2 2013, 06:17 PM, updated 13y ago

3,345 posts

This story is actually about Proton’s Homologation and Testing (H&T) team.

We got to join them during one of their secret test drives, which almost every Malaysian will know of as pictures of Proton prototype cars have been going around the web since the Waja days.

The story about the trip will be published in the October’s issue of TopGear Malaysia but since the car has been launched, let me share with you what I think of the new Suprima S as that was the car that I drove with the H&T team.

Although hidden under camouflage stickers and cardboards, the prototype can’t hide its hatchback nature, and while the front grille has a new insert, one cannot be wrong to say that this is a Preve hatchback.

lthough a prototype, the engineers informed me that the unit I was driving was 99 per cent similar with the production unit. Well, the car had a production-like build quality, and with the launch date less than two weeks after my driving session, the production unit has long been delivered to the showrooms.

Size wise, the Suprima S is clearly targeted to the C-segment players, and although Proton’s benchmark cars were made out of the Ford Focus, Honda Civic hatchback, Opel Astra and Volkswagen Golk Mk6, the domestic market sentiment here will not approve of such comparison. Perhaps the Suprima S can be considered as another option for those in the market for a B-segment sedans or hatchbacks.

Design wise, the Preve required time for us to get use to the design and perhaps the Suprima S too will look better after a few months. The rear however, personally, is a bit too plain. Then again, looks can be pretty subjective and I shall leave it at that.

I was told that the engine tuning has been revised and thermal management problem in the engine bay has been reduced. Good, as I was expecting something like the Exora Bold CFE’s type of engine performance. Unfortunately, the turbo kick that I was expecting was none existence.

The engine felt as flat as the Preve, but with better mid-range delivery that could be utilised further by using the manual pre-selected ratios on the CVT gearbox.

The route to Genting Highland and back provided us with some twisty bits that were challenging enough for the car. The engine, while not really that impressive if you ask me, has sufficient pull to create a smile on your face.

Put it this way, the Ford Focus might not find it too easy to shake the Suprima S off its arse.

The steering still felt slightly numb at certain speeds while pedal play felt a bit loose and less solid. The seat has a decent design which gave us a slight side support to hold us during the corners.

The rear is a spacious area and will fit three adults comfortable while the Ride and Handling is expected, above average compared with its benchmarks. The car was obedient to our steering input and bodyroll was contained well, even if there was a slight dip which was purposely designed to inform you that you are leaning inside the turn and the car is gripping hard on to the tarmac. The rear too absorbed bumps and holes better, never suffering from any bump steer effect. Even the low profile 17-inch allows felt like it had enough sidewall pliancy to give a smooth and comfortable drive.

So is this the best car Proton has ever produced? Currently, in its stable, this is the best there is. It is a sporty 4-door hatchback that provides a comfortable ride and offers a big cabin and boot while the driver will be kept busy by the Suprima’s ability to out perform many cars in the same category.

I just hope that the aftersales service and the components are up to par with what Proton is asking us Malaysians to pay.

http://www.topgear.com/my/9780-first-drive-proton-suprima-s/
ar188
post Sep 2 2013, 06:18 PM

9,206 posts

invite topgear UK team or local? biggrin.gif
TSruffstuff
post Sep 2 2013, 06:19 PM

3,345 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 2 2013, 06:18 PM)
invite topgear UK team or local?  biggrin.gif
Top gear top gear la.. doesnt matter UK, AU, KR or US. ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by ruffstuff: Sep 2 2013, 06:20 PM
ar188
post Sep 2 2013, 06:20 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 2 2013, 06:19 PM)
Top gear top gear la.. doesnt matte UK, AU, KR or US.  ohmy.gif
u must be kidding to think UK mag editorial is same as MY standard..
robertngo

4,027 posts

not UK top gear TV team not count
Renekton

589 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 2 2013, 06:18 PM)
invite topgear UK team or local?  biggrin.gif
got Top Gear MY/SG?
kaizoku30
post Sep 2 2013, 06:21 PM

86 posts

Hezeri Samsuri
TSruffstuff

3,345 posts

QUOTE(kaizoku30 @ Sep 2 2013, 06:21 PM)
Hezeri Samsuri
icon_idea.gif
ar188

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 2 2013, 06:20 PM)
got Top Gear MY/SG?
u think when you read the local Top gear engrund is same as UK mag one?
Renekton
post Sep 2 2013, 06:23 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 2 2013, 06:21 PM)
u think when you read the local Top gear engrund is same as UK mag one?
duno lol, i nvr read top gear local unsure.gif
stinger82

288 posts

Jaguh kampung invite the local topgear la.

V12Kompressor

No carrots here
2,141 posts

stopped reading Top Gear since the Botak Cheah era...
99FoxDemon

23 posts

ask clarkson laaa to test!! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif

will he come with sledgehammer?? laugh.gif
ichi_24

480 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Sep 2 2013, 06:20 PM)
not UK top gear TV team not count
herojack41
post Sep 2 2013, 06:24 PM

Master Of Trouble Maker
5,697 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Sep 2 2013, 06:20 PM)
u must be kidding to think UK mag editorial is same as MY standard..
He protong salesman

So protong is better than any car on earth

The only car with built in tebo and 5* lancap safety rating
ar188

9,206 posts

QUOTE(Renekton @ Sep 2 2013, 06:23 PM)
duno lol, i nvr read top gear local unsure.gif
dont be surprise end up local car got higher score than the score found in UK mag branded cars.. laugh.gif
TSruffstuff

3,345 posts

lupa nak secretly invite toyoi
foxpro
post Sep 2 2013, 06:26 PM

278 posts

Top gear local all scam give undertable everything can kow Tim and tidak Apa attitude.

Bull shit
99FoxDemon
post Sep 2 2013, 06:26 PM

23 posts

ohh wai!! y not invite pipul from university of lowyat to test also?? laugh.gif

xavi5567
post Sep 2 2013, 06:27 PM

\(●'Å'●)/
3,348 posts

QUOTE(ruffstuff @ Sep 2 2013, 06:19 PM)
Top gear top gear la.. doesnt matter UK, AU, KR or US.  ohmy.gif
Top gear uk mana sama dgn my?