OC-ing 3570k with Stock Cooler?, Is it sufficient or get new cooler?

TSgxthelord
post Sep 2 2013, 05:43 PM, updated 13y ago

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

Hi my rig are as follow
i5-3570k with Intel Stock Cooler
2x4GB DDR3 1333mhz Kingston Value RAM
GTX650
128GB Sandisk Ultra SSD
Asrock Z77 Xtreme 4
CM Elite 431 PLUS
1x120mm 2000rpm in front panel(input)
1x120mm 2000rpm in bottom panel(input)
1x120mm 2000rpm at back panel(exhaust)
2x120mm 1200rpm at top panel(input)

On Idle temperature it is around 35C - 40C
However on gaming it will go up to 45C
Since I have an unlocked chipset it is kinda waste not to oc it right?
This is my first time and currently reading thru our Ivy Bridge OC Thread.

Would I need to get an Aftermarket Cooler (I'm thinking of Corsair H100i) or stock would do just enough?

ktek
post Sep 2 2013, 05:54 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

test your cpu potential first.
nobody test cpu load with gaming because it seldom ultilize all cores.
use prime95, linX, or occt and open task manager to see every core is working.

when it overheat, clock speed will be throttle. so open cpuz to monitor during test.
TSgxthelord
post Sep 2 2013, 06:34 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 2 2013, 05:54 PM)

when it overheat, clock speed will be throttle. so open cpuz to monitor during test.
how long the test should run? Say is using prime95 with blend test
TSgxthelord
post Sep 2 2013, 06:54 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 2 2013, 05:54 PM)

Here's the results after 10minutes of Blend test on Prime95Attached Image
ktek
post Sep 2 2013, 07:14 PM

小喇叭
13,187 posts

60°c seems ok. did u check task manager, it load 50% or 100% ?
now try adjust the cpu multiplier to higher
abidgreen93
post Sep 2 2013, 08:49 PM

447 posts

Why not just get h100i. Easier. LOL.
huzzLEE_82
post Sep 6 2013, 12:18 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

better go with aftermarket cooler..
u wouldn't wanna risk to damage ur precious cpu aite?
better safe than sorry bro
goldfries
post Sep 6 2013, 01:19 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

DAMAGE? what damage?

LOL. I think you guys are some 15 years behind in technology.

Firstly, processor has quite some heat tolerance to begin with.

Secondly, motherboard come with overheat protection so your system will power down or throttle when the heat is high.

Some tests like Prime95 do run the processor hotter than actual.

I could run video transcoding with my i5 4670K on stock cooler at 4.5ghz. Temperatures hover around 80c++ but no issues.

It depends on how far you wish to push the overclocking. Stock cooler can withstand quite some overclock.
TSgxthelord
post Sep 6 2013, 08:16 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 6 2013, 01:19 AM)
DAMAGE? what damage?

LOL. I think you guys are some 15 years behind in technology.

Firstly, processor has quite some heat tolerance to begin with.

Secondly, motherboard come with overheat protection so your system will power down or throttle when the heat is high.

Some tests like Prime95 do run the processor hotter than actual.

I could run video transcoding with my i5 4670K on stock cooler at 4.5ghz. Temperatures hover around 80c++ but no issues.

It depends on how far you wish to push the overclocking. Stock cooler can withstand quite some overclock.
with your encouragement, I think I will proceed trying to OC with Stock Fan biggrin.gif Since my casing already got good air flow. ^^
However still very new to overclocking and still reading safety and guidelines on the OC Thread for beginners. Actually the Asrock Xtreme 4 already have some built-in OC Tools for newbies like me right? Just I still reading about what voltage and multipliers to set first as in from lower level and slowly increase the multiplier later.
abidgreen93
post Sep 7 2013, 12:00 AM

447 posts

First of all. Why do you wanna overclock? Just to play games?

I did some testing there's not much difference in gaming if you overclock your CPU to be honest. Or it's just me coz i really dont feel any difference. 3570K is consider as a powerful CPU for gaming already. Cheers! smile.gif
TSgxthelord
post Sep 7 2013, 01:36 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(abidgreen93 @ Sep 7 2013, 12:00 AM)
First of all. Why do you wanna overclock? Just to play games?

I did some testing there's not much difference in gaming if you overclock your CPU to be honest. Or it's just me coz i really dont feel any difference. 3570K is consider as a powerful CPU for gaming already. Cheers! smile.gif
heh to see wheter how much performance can be gained from OC lor. Nvr try before ma smile.gif
Later days gonna do photoshop and video editing soon after gettting my stuff ready. happy.gif
goldfries
post Sep 7 2013, 01:58 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, little to no difference. even my i5-2500K also I stop OCing it. Most other stuff too.

I'm still an OCer at heart, every processor I get will be OCed but for my general usage stuff - I rather just run it on stock speed, then go as low fan speed as possible.
abidgreen93
post Sep 7 2013, 01:59 AM

447 posts

QUOTE(gxthelord @ Sep 7 2013, 01:36 AM)
heh to see wheter how much performance can be gained from OC lor. Nvr try before ma smile.gif
Later days gonna do photoshop and video editing soon after gettting my stuff ready. happy.gif
Ahhh IC... Good good.
huzzLEE_82
post Sep 19 2013, 08:12 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

hehehehe thanx for correcting me bro..
i may lead TS to an intimidating consequences....
ya lah i felt like membazir OC coz mostly me on gaming..just bcoz i have "K" version,so mild oc is an opt and for fun only
TSgxthelord
post Sep 19 2013, 11:02 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Sep 19 2013, 08:12 AM)
hehehehe thanx for correcting me bro..
i may lead TS to an intimidating consequences....
ya lah i felt like membazir OC coz mostly me on gaming..just bcoz i have "K" version,so mild oc is an opt and for fun only
haha true too I too just wanna oc for the sake of trying out. smile.gif never oc anything before maa.. Now oc-ed mine to 4.2ghz with 1.024v and now still testing system stability on prime 95. Usually how long u guys test on prime 95? My friend told me to let it run for 30min o.o
huzzLEE_82
post Sep 19 2013, 11:32 PM

MHaF
1,301 posts

i tried b4 with LinX for 4 hours ++
prime95 for about 12 hours
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=53344000
but i think dun need that long.... any advice from sifu here
(lowyat forum is gud coz if we do wrong,others will correct us..no offence)
TSgxthelord
post Sep 24 2013, 03:14 AM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Sep 19 2013, 11:32 PM)
i tried b4 with LinX for 4 hours ++
prime95 for about 12 hours
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=53344000
but i think dun need that long.... any advice from sifu here
(lowyat forum is gud coz if we do wrong,others will correct us..no offence)
now still don't have time to test LinX or prime95 for 12 hours >< cuz need go work and scared to leave my pc alone running those test byitself. ><
However currently on stock my temp idle are 40-50 and 80+ on full load.
Running on 4.4Ghz using the defaut asrock OC settings. doh.gif(haven't got time to slowly test the voltage yet).

I now know that OC-er must really have patient and slowly test around diff settings to see which is best for their pc doh.gif
huzzLEE_82
post Sep 24 2013, 10:22 AM

MHaF
1,301 posts

yeah bro really need to b patience...
i'm intending to push 4.6GHz but nowadays got bz with daily routines....
last time stress running at home..my wife monitored the system,save screenshots for me hehehe (teach her step by step)

but b4 proceeding with Corsair H100i better study ur case placement for cooling radiator..
will ur case suit 240mm rad+ (120mm x 2 fans) afraid top space is cramp...or worse it couldn't fit/obstruct the rad+fans thickness....

This post has been edited by huzzLEE_82: Sep 24 2013, 10:24 AM
TSgxthelord
post Sep 25 2013, 12:58 PM

Tech Enthusiast
2,313 posts

QUOTE(huzzLEE_82 @ Sep 24 2013, 10:22 AM)
yeah bro really need to b patience...
i'm intending to push 4.6GHz but nowadays got bz with daily routines....
last time stress running at home..my wife monitored the system,save screenshots for me hehehe (teach her step by step)

but b4 proceeding with Corsair H100i better study ur case placement for cooling radiator..
will ur case suit 240mm rad+ (120mm x 2 fans) afraid top space is cramp...or worse it couldn't fit/obstruct the rad+fans thickness....
ya after u mentioned i got started thinking. seem like will be kinda cramp and the ram slot would be blocked. Maybe a 120mm radiator would be better. smile.gif
btw mind sharing ur temp results with h100i?
Mr_47
post Sep 25 2013, 03:05 PM

***NOT MODERATOR *** Post : +10,000,000,00 Warn: 100%
4,337 posts

good luck on stock... ivy idunno but sandy got degrade problem

This post has been edited by Mr_47: Sep 25 2013, 03:05 PM

0.0270sec    0.19    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:57 AM