126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Bottom

Credit Cards UOB Credit Card V2

fly126
post Dec 19 2013, 01:03 AM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Dec 19 2013, 12:25 AM)
They had a booth at QB the last weekend I went there and a SA chased up to my and asked me to sign up for their One Card, saying that's there's a free power bank. I have some questions before I go on to sign up, what should I confirm with the SA when I apply?

1) Free power bank
2) RM50 cashback (is this GST?)
3) Waive annual fees (1 yr/2yrs?)
4) Say if GST is arriving the 12th month and I cancel the card, will I be charged the GST? Can I reapply after that?
I) YES Free Power Bank
II) the $50 GST will Credit Back to Your Account in 3 Months.... After U have Perform 3x Swipes Within 60 days from the CC Approval Date
III) UOB Usually Giving 2 Years Annual Fee Waiver to NEW Signup
IV) There will be No GST Charge to You Before Your CC Anniversary Date...
If Cancel the CC U May have to Wait 6-12 Months (Cooling Period) before U can Apply With the Same Bank Again
JustForFun
post Dec 19 2013, 08:11 AM

Seeker
1,281 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 19 2013, 01:03 AM)
I) YES Free Power Bank
II) the $50 GST will Credit Back to Your Account in 3 Months.... After U have Perform 3x Swipes Within 60 days from the CC Approval Date
If Cancel the CC U May have to Wait  6-12 Months (Cooling Period) before U can Apply With the Same Bank Again
Why do we get GST cash back 3 months from approval? We will be charged GST the moment we sign up for credit card? I thought you'll only be charged after one year? Then why do we get the cashback just 3 months after getting the card?

Also, it was according to this post that the GST can be waived...
SUSendau02
post Dec 19 2013, 11:06 AM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Dec 19 2013, 08:11 AM)
Why do we get GST cash back 3 months from approval? We will be charged GST the moment we sign up for credit card? I thought you'll only be charged after one year? Then why do we get the cashback just 3 months after getting the card?

ya, gst is upfront for 1st year.
SUSendau02
post Dec 19 2013, 11:08 AM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 19 2013, 01:03 AM)
I) YES Free Power Bank
If Cancel the CC U May have to Wait  6-12 Months (Cooling Period) before U can Apply With the Same Bank Again
this promo still valid?
fly126
post Dec 19 2013, 12:44 PM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Dec 19 2013, 08:11 AM)
Annual Fee Can be Waive NOT GST (Government Service Tax)
GST is charged once the card is approved and not necessarily activated or not. According to custom department, only those renewed card but cancelled within 3 months and not use the new card is eligible not to pay GST.
GST CAN NOT be Waive... It's the Bank who Collect It from CC Holder on Behalf for Government & the Bank have to Korek Its Own $$$ to Pay GST for a NEW SIGNUP like U on the 1st Year... nod.gif

GST FAQs http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ca...viceTaxFAQ.html

QUOTE(jetpacker @ Dec 19 2013, 11:16 AM)
gosh...got free powerbank?..i just applied 2 weeks ago and got my card 2 days back..didnt heard bout any free powerbank promo oso..guess i have missed out sad.gif
anyway...i called up the customer service yesterday to ask when is the billing date...they said  is from 3rd-23rd every month,,but i forgot to ask them whether the bill will be sent to me this month or next month onwards..anyone knows?
Depends on they Current Promotion, I Got a UOB Tumbler as Signup Gift on April 2013, boleh tahan juga...  laugh.gif
Usually, After 20 Days from the Approval they will Generate Your Statement... smile.gif

This post has been edited by fly126: Dec 19 2013, 01:24 PM
JustForFun
post Dec 19 2013, 12:53 PM

Seeker
1,281 posts

So now I think I fully understood, for new signup annual fee will be waived for 2 years and RM50 of GST charged upon application will be cashed back after three months, am I right?
fly126
post Dec 19 2013, 12:59 PM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Dec 19 2013, 12:53 PM)
So now I think I fully understood, for new signup annual fee will be waived for 2 years and RM50 of GST charged upon application will be cashed back after three months, am I right?
You're Rite... nod.gif
Usually, UOB will Credit Back the GST to You on Your 3rd CC Statement... cool2.gif
ikengkai
post Dec 19 2013, 10:18 PM

263 posts

After reading this, personally feel OCBC more sincere to keep long term customer, as with 12/24 swipe per year, no annual fee. Cumulative RM10k spent on card, RM50 government tax will refund. Should UOB follow this if they looking for long term royal customer...mmm...

----------

Annual fee will be waived perpetually with minimum cumulative 60 transactions per year
for UOB ONE Classic Card/ 12 transactions and cumulative RM36,000 spend per year for UOB ONE Platinum Card
Human Nature
post Dec 19 2013, 10:25 PM

- student of human nature -
26,521 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Dec 19 2013, 10:18 PM)
After reading this, personally feel OCBC more sincere to keep long term customer, as with 12/24 swipe per year, no annual fee. Cumulative RM10k spent on card, RM50 government tax will refund. Should UOB follow this if they looking for long term royal customer...mmm... 

----------

Annual fee will be waived perpetually with minimum cumulative 60 transactions per year
for UOB ONE Classic Card/ 12 transactions and cumulative RM36,000 spend per year for UOB ONE Platinum Card
Do check out the new terms for OCBC, no more 10k annual bonus rolleyes.gif
Human Nature
post Dec 19 2013, 10:26 PM

- student of human nature -
26,521 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Dec 19 2013, 10:18 PM)

----------

Do check out the new terms for OCBC, no more 10k annual bonus rolleyes.gif
ikengkai
post Dec 20 2013, 09:58 AM

263 posts

Thank you, never know they revised the TnC.
Anyway, I'm okay to pay RM50 government tax, since they still spell out clearly the criteria for annual fee, Free for life.
UOB's criteria for free annual fee look like only mean for big big spender.

Will I still be charged service tax if my card is free-for-life?
Yes, the service tax is still chargeable.

If I cancel my credit card before the card anniversary date, would I be charged the service tax?
The service tax will not be imposed on card cancelled before the card's anniversary date.
However, it is encouraged that you cancel the card at least 2 weeks before the card's anniversary date to ensure that the service tax will not be billed to your card account.

Can the service tax be waived?
Just like any other service tax imposed by and payable to the Malaysian Government, we are unable to waive this amount.
QUOTE(Human Nature @ Dec 19 2013, 10:26 PM)
Do check out the new terms for OCBC, no more 10k annual bonus  rolleyes.gif
fly126
post Dec 20 2013, 10:33 AM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(ikengkai @ Dec 20 2013, 09:58 AM)
Thank you, never know they revised the TnC.
Anyway, I'm okay to pay RM50 government tax, since they still spell out clearly the criteria for annual fee, Free for life.
UOB's criteria for free annual fee look like only mean for big big spender.

Will I still be charged service tax if my card is free-for-life?
Yes, the service tax is still chargeable.

If I cancel my credit card before the card anniversary date, would I be charged the service tax?
The service tax will not be imposed on card cancelled before the card's anniversary date.
However, it is encouraged that you cancel the card at least 2 weeks before the card's anniversary date to ensure that the service tax will not be billed to your card account.
Can the service tax be waived?
Just like any other service tax imposed by and payable to the Malaysian Government, we are unable to waive this amount.
Annual Fee Can be Waive but NOT GST (Government Service Tax)
GST is charged once the card is approved and not necessarily activated or not. According to custom department, only those renewed card but cancelled within 3 months and not use the new card is eligible not to pay GST.

GST CAN NOT be Waive... It's the Bank who Collect It from CC Holder on Behalf for Government

U have to Threat them with Cancellation of Your CC Maybe the Bank will Offer GST Waiver... laugh.gif

GST FAQs http://www.ocbc.com.my/personal-banking/Ca...viceTaxFAQ.html

This post has been edited by fly126: Dec 20 2013, 10:45 AM
tenchi0205
post Dec 20 2013, 10:41 AM

Tech Noob
2,881 posts

scared I cant spend spend 36k with my one platinum a year...but I want the platinum petrol rm500 cap per mth...

why dont they like classic, just swipe 60 times per yr can waive...
Charlton
post Dec 20 2013, 10:45 AM

316 posts

Anyone tried before purchasing GSC tickets from gsc website and make payment using UOB one card? Will we get the 5% rebate and smartcash?
fly126
post Dec 20 2013, 10:52 AM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Dec 20 2013, 10:41 AM)
scared I cant spend spend 36k with my one platinum a year...but I want the platinum petrol rm500 cap per mth...

why dont they like classic, just swipe 60 times per yr can waive...
Just Call CS Begging AF Waiver from Them When the Time has Come... laugh.gif
As for Me I Also can X Perform 60x Swipes a Year if having UOB One Classic... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fly126: Dec 20 2013, 10:52 AM
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 20 2013, 10:54 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(Charlton @ Dec 20 2013, 10:45 AM)
Anyone tried before purchasing GSC tickets from gsc website and make payment using UOB one card? Will we get the 5% rebate and smartcash?
Not sure, i think only payment over counter

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 20 2013, 10:52 AM)
As for Me I Also can X Perform 60x Swipes a Year if having UOB One Classic... tongue.gif
Mine already kena charged GST and when i called they say cant waive.
And the best part is, they asked me all the verify questions only tell me.

goddammit if cant waive just tell me dun waste my 5 minutes answering stupid questions
ikengkai
post Dec 20 2013, 11:02 AM

263 posts

60x swipe is reasonable to meet.
For ONE platinum, it need cumulative 36k spend per year.. sound not reasonable, just to waive AnnualFee.

12 transactions and cumulative RM36,000 spend per year for UOB ONE Platinum Card

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 20 2013, 10:52 AM)
fly126
post Dec 20 2013, 11:05 AM

Lousy One
4,404 posts

QUOTE(WaCKy-Angel @ Dec 20 2013, 10:54 AM)
Not sure, i think only payment over counter
Mine already kena charged GST and when i called they say cant waive.
And the best part is, they asked me all the verify questions only tell me.

goddammit if cant waive just tell me dun waste my 5 minutes answering stupid questions
Funny... They Just Waive the GST (2014) + 5 Years Annual Fees for Lady's Plat... brows.gif
When I Call-in Recently to Cancel the Lady Plat. (Seldom Used) just Keep Only One Platinum
WaCKy-Angel
post Dec 20 2013, 11:10 AM

PeACe~~
21,962 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Dec 20 2013, 11:05 AM)
Funny... They Just Waive the GST (2014) + 5 Years Annual Fees for Lady's Plat... brows.gif
When I Call-in Recently to Cancel the Lady Plat. (Seldom Used) just Keep Only One Platinum
Probably due to the GST havent charge yet?
Last year i also called in to cancel before the GST and they offer me waiver for 6x swipe.

But this year i forgotten and only found it when its already charged, plus late payment and interest for that GST (i already cleared the card for backup only).

I will try to call again and instead asking them to waive i would just say i want to cancel, and when asked why i will just say due to the GST dont waive.
talfred
post Dec 20 2013, 11:33 AM

81 posts

Anyone here holding UOB Infinite card? Doesn't seem to be any good eh...

126 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 08:18 AM