Photography [WTA] Sony A37 18-135mm vs 18-55mm zoom lens, What's the difference?

TSAxel
post Aug 30 2013, 07:27 PM, updated 13y ago

394 posts

hi there sifus! wanted to ask.
I'm going to purchase a Sony SLT-A37 in about 2 weeks time.
i've narrowed it down to two sets. One that comes with a 18-135mm zoom lens and another that comes with 18-55mm zoom lens.
question is, what's the difference between the 2 lens? is it worth it to go for the 18-135mm? the differrence in price for the two is about RM300-400

im using the camera mostly for video, pictures is pretty much a plus for me.
mingyuyu
post Aug 30 2013, 07:35 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Aug 30 2013, 07:27 PM)
hi there sifus! wanted to ask.
I'm going to purchase a Sony SLT-A37 in about 2 weeks time.
i've narrowed it down to two sets. One that comes with a 18-135mm zoom lens and another that comes with 18-55mm zoom lens.
question is, what's the difference between the 2 lens? is it worth it to go for the 18-135mm? the differrence in price for the two is about RM300-400

im using the camera mostly for video, pictures is pretty much a plus for me.
As what the name of the lens sad, the 18-135 gives you 80mm more zoom compared to the 18-55. It all depends on you to buy which one, each of them has the cons and pros. The 18-135 gives you more zoom, but at a higher price and bulkier package, while the 18-55 gives you less zoom, at a lower price and smaller to carry around.
TSAxel
post Aug 30 2013, 08:05 PM

394 posts

QUOTE(mingyuyu @ Aug 30 2013, 07:35 PM)
As what the name of the lens sad, the 18-135 gives you 80mm more zoom compared to the 18-55. It all depends on you to buy which one, each of them has the cons and pros. The 18-135 gives you more zoom, but at a higher price and bulkier package, while the 18-55 gives you less zoom, at a lower price and smaller to carry around.
so it's just the zoom and nothing more right?not like one can give sharper pictures or anything? size-wise, i don't really care, it's the functions that im worried about blush.gif
mingyuyu
post Aug 30 2013, 08:49 PM

B A N N E D
3,249 posts

QUOTE(Axel @ Aug 30 2013, 08:05 PM)
so it's just the zoom and nothing more right?not like one can give sharper pictures or anything? size-wise, i don't really care, it's the functions that im worried about  blush.gif
If you are taking videos, I don't think the little difference between sharpness matters to you. tongue.gif

I am not a Sony user, but theorically, the 18-135 should be a little less sharp than the 18-55 since it is more complex in lens construction.

0.0145sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:14 AM