[WTA]Lens Issue, Water mark in the inner glass

TSLeoWillis
post Aug 30 2013, 07:15 PM, updated 13y ago

410 posts

Hello to all the sifus,

I have a question regarding my newly bought legacy Sigma 28mm f2.8 lens.

I found "water mark" in the inner glass of the lens.

if i would to open the lens to clean the watermark, would it be easy to put it back? (without doing any tech-y thing like calibration or what)

if can't, anyone know where is the best place to do cleaning (with affordable price) in KL area???

Problem Solves (sent for service) tongue.gif

This post has been edited by LeoWillis: Sep 21 2013, 02:27 AM
motherker
post Aug 30 2013, 07:21 PM

289 posts

keyword: newly bought, go back to SC and try to claim wty or ask them clean lo

edit: sorry, just noticed legacy lens. lol. ps ya

This post has been edited by motherker: Aug 30 2013, 07:22 PM
ChinWY
post Aug 30 2013, 08:59 PM

633 posts

if you are reasonably ok with taking apart stuff.. it is easy enough by proceed at your own risk.

If it is 100% manual lens, then much easier as there are not wires or contact point issues to worry over.

NORMALLY - it will just be undoing the rear holding lens/camera mount followed by the holding ring for the lens element. Simple sketch and place the screws in mark places if you want to be safe... take photo if you want double insurance.. Use waterproof marker if you think there is going to be indexing issues.

Just make sure the aperture is set to fully open and focus at infinity.. this is to ensure if anything go terribly wrong.. you know where it was when you begin.

You will not likely be touching the helicoid (usually in the front). That is a no go area unless you know enough.

Normal procedure of lens handling (clean), and proper fitting tools should apply or you can stuff the screw heads. Invest in a sensible set and not that expensive (abt RM15?)- it is worth the effort.

Dust free and finger marks free, I trust you know what to do. Just dont be stingy on the micro cloth - only new fresh ones. dont try and soak/spray the inside of your lens with any form of liquid.. apply with wet ends of cotton buds - not scrub!! . If lens is a cemented duplet just be extra careful. Do not apply any solvent on the side of the lens as a precaution. (usually it is just a single).

Try and google up a cross section of your lens internal and you will have a fair idea what you are expecting.. It can save you a lot of unnecessary stress. I destroyed a Tokina 75- 200 zoom as a result of being over confident.

I built my confidence first with a scrap lens with intention to destroy it for first hand experience.

Have fun....
TSLeoWillis
post Aug 31 2013, 12:02 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(ChinWY @ Aug 30 2013, 08:59 PM)
if you are reasonably ok with taking apart stuff.. it is easy enough by proceed at your own risk. 

If it is 100% manual lens, then much easier as there are not wires or contact point issues to worry over. 

NORMALLY - it will just be undoing the rear holding lens/camera mount followed by the holding ring for the lens element. Simple sketch and place the screws in mark places if you want to be safe...  take photo if you want double insurance..  Use waterproof marker if you think there is going to be indexing issues.

Just make sure the aperture is set to fully open and focus at infinity.. this is to ensure if anything go terribly wrong.. you know where it was when you begin.

You will not likely be touching the helicoid (usually in the front).  That is a no go area unless you know enough. 

Normal procedure of lens handling (clean), and proper fitting tools should apply or you can stuff the screw heads.  Invest in a sensible set and not that expensive (abt RM15?)- it is worth the effort.

Dust free and finger marks free, I trust you know what to do. Just dont be stingy on the micro cloth - only new fresh ones.  dont try and soak/spray the inside of your lens with any form of liquid.. apply with wet ends of cotton buds - not scrub!! . If lens is a cemented duplet just be extra careful.  Do not apply any solvent on the side of the lens as a precaution. (usually it is just a single). 

Try and google up a cross section of your lens internal and you will have a fair idea what you are expecting.. It can save you a lot of unnecessary stress.  I destroyed a Tokina 75- 200 zoom as a result of being over confident.

I built my confidence first with a scrap lens with intention to destroy it for first hand experience. 

Have fun....
Sounds fun! but this lens is not for experimental purpose rclxub.gif
i see how is the charges for just cleaning the watermark outside. if it is way too expensive (than my lens) then i might consider dissemble it tongue.gif
eXodes
post Sep 2 2013, 12:39 AM

29 posts

Sent it to Vincent lah. Easier than pening kepala. His charge not back also. I tried with my Pentax-A lens, very mafan. Especially the aperture ring part. I think the lens is dead now. May it rest in pieces.
TSLeoWillis
post Sep 2 2013, 11:26 AM

410 posts

QUOTE(eXodes @ Sep 2 2013, 12:39 AM)
Sent it to Vincent lah. Easier than pening kepala. His charge not back also. I tried with my Pentax-A lens, very mafan. Especially the aperture ring part. I think the lens is dead now. May it rest in pieces.
i'm sorry, but who is Vincent? hmm.gif
SUSflar3star
post Sep 2 2013, 01:58 PM

Look like a flower , Sting like a bee.
605 posts

Normally if i have these type of watermark i normally leave it under d sun for couple of hours and put it back into my drybox.. XD

Lucky for me, that solves the issue >.<

0.0165sec    1.11    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:08 AM