ASN, ASN2, ASN3, ASG, ASB, ASW2020, ASM, ASD, AS1M, AMANAH SAHAM NASIONAL BERHAD V4

MGM
post Sep 2 2013, 02:26 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(cheahcw2003 @ Sep 2 2013, 02:10 PM)
Treat it as a "high return saving account" parking your funds, if u can find other better return, go ahead by all means.
Yeah all fixed-price ASNB funds give CONSISTENT dividend which is higher than FD. I think there is no other similar investment. Only worry is its operation(hopefully not a huge ponzi scheme) and the unknown NTA.
MGM
post Sep 4 2013, 06:41 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Sep 4 2013, 06:15 PM)
I know it's too high, who know maybe they could announce at that high  smile.gif 

6.7% also okay, same like asw2020  thumbup.gif
Agree, definately 6.7%, same as asw2020.
MGM
post Sep 11 2013, 09:10 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(navink @ Sep 11 2013, 05:08 PM)
Some people use the ASNB product as their retirement plan.
For eg. lets say you have xxx amount in ASB.

Every month, you go to post office to withdraw 3k for your living. This is only dividend money actually.
This is what my FIL been doing all this while.
So lucky it is just like a savings account with high interest, for the non-bumi once withdrawn from ASNB's funds will be hard to put back in.
MGM
post Sep 12 2013, 08:38 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Sep 12 2013, 08:30 AM)
Agreed
To avoid this from happening, just setup n implement assets allocation
Withdrawal can come from savings/fd 1st instead of ASW2020/ASM/AS1M (last resort)
Also because of this reason once I got the units in ASNB's fund very reluctant to let go to invest on others. Really tie legs tie hands.
MGM
post Sep 17 2013, 04:06 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(smartinvestor01 @ Sep 17 2013, 08:14 AM)
Another disappointment for the non-bumi again..

A bonus for the bumi, but frustration for the non-bumi..

Not fair...  cry.gif
Look on the bright side. This unfair practice will push us to be more financial savvy instead of being spoonfed. It forces us to look for alternative investment and this learning experience is invaluable. This happen in the biz environment too where we still thrive despite of the many obstacles. Same thing happens in the Property market where we dont enjoy any discount and yet we invested in properties which has shot up in price and these properties can be traded without restriction because they are non-bumi lots. We thrive on frustration, disappointment, deprivation, discrimination and suppression and grow stronger.
MGM
post Sep 18 2013, 01:31 PM

18,410 posts

from btimes:
Amanah Saham Nasional Bhd which is a wholly owned subsidiary of Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) has announced a 6.7 sen income distribution for its Amanah Saham 1Malaysia for financial year ended September 2013.

The state-owned fund manager paid an income distribution of 6.6 sen last year.

PNB chairman Tun Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid said the 6.7 sen is the highest paid by the country's largest fund manager since its introduction four years ago.

"The income distribution involves a payout of RM593.0 million which is a 30 per cent increase compared to RM453.03 million last year to 365,355 unitholders which collectively own 9.2 billion units," Ahmad Sarji told reporters at its headquarters in Kuala Lumpur yesterday while unveiling the income distribution results.

Read more: PNB declares 6.7 sen dividend for AS1M http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIM...l#ixzz2fDfTAxt4
MGM
post Sep 19 2013, 11:49 AM

18,410 posts

TAKEN from FreeMT:
PNB chairman Ahmad Sarji Abdul Hamid said in his speech at the announcement of the income distribution that as of Sept 16, 2013, AS1M has recorded a gross income of RM723.93 million, with profit from sale of shares accounting for RM405.99 million or 56.1% while RM128.15 million or 17.7% was derived from investments in short-term instruments and other income.

“Based on the reserve, we could pay more than eight sen per unit and right now, after the payout, we still have RM150 million yet to be distributed,” said Hamad Kama Piah in response to a question about the amount of reserve kept aside from AS1M earnings.

MGM
post Sep 19 2013, 01:26 PM

18,410 posts

Wonder what is the accumulated reserve from the previous 3 years.
MGM
post Sep 19 2013, 02:20 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Sep 19 2013, 01:33 PM)
According to the last year annual report, the amount is rm 146,875,013  sweat.gif
(PAGE 28, Number 10 - Keutungan Belum Diagihkan)

http://www.asnb.com.my/Laporan%20AS1M%2030%20Sept%202012.pdf
So total accumulated reserve would be RM 300mil.
MGM
post Sep 20 2013, 09:17 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(kongming @ Sep 20 2013, 08:49 PM)
I hope the government will include the personal loan like ASB loan for non bumi!
wait long long (tankuku).
MGM
post Sep 25 2013, 01:09 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(justin_5 @ Sep 25 2013, 07:17 AM)
eurasians are BUMI????????????????? since when??
Most likely, melaka portugese.

This post has been edited by MGM: Sep 25 2013, 01:09 PM
MGM
post Oct 8 2013, 06:13 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Oct 8 2013, 04:22 PM)
U r rite
ASNB systems can check how many units is available
Banks/Pos dun have such features
I wud advise u inform d teller how much u want so that he/she can key-in immediately
If u check 1st n units is available, teller need to exit from the menu and go into top up menu which take times
Remember, timing n luck is d key features
Even if you can check units availability, transaction over the ASNB counter need cash.
MGM
post Oct 8 2013, 07:42 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 8 2013, 06:21 PM)
Yes, cash for non-bumi.  any problem with it?
rclxub.gif Yes, if you are robbed carrying too much cash. Whereas in the bank, money from your account which is safer.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 8 2013, 07:49 PM
MGM
post Oct 8 2013, 09:51 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 8 2013, 09:44 PM)
AS IF you can get 10k at ASNB office on "try & error" basis (if got connection/ insider, different story). Even rm50 also sometimes hard to get smile.gif

You go banks & try. The staff won't even give you the waiting number for ASNB Transaction (some case) or they just pretend "trying" (key-in)  for you  nod.gif
Well if it suits you and you don't mind and wanted to take the risk, go ahead, it's your money and your life.Bye.Bye.
MGM
post Oct 8 2013, 10:21 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(davinz18 @ Oct 8 2013, 10:03 PM)
I know the risk involved, in fact everyone knows that here.  don't you read the previous posting & their experience dealing with the banks "good" services.

Tomorrow you go try at the bank. You can feel the "service" given by them okay  icon_rolleyes.gif
I have enough of asnb funds. Bought AS1M when most people avoided it, slowly accumulating it for a few months. Will unload it monthly when I retire but thru the BANKS, just don't want to carry too much money around even in thousands.

This post has been edited by MGM: Oct 8 2013, 10:21 PM
MGM
post Oct 10 2013, 12:31 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Oct 10 2013, 12:00 PM)
Even for PNB's funds that invest in government bonds or MGS, the returns on these structured products are fixed for as long as the government can honor payments at maturity.
Maybe what he is trying to say is govt. no money to pay interest on these, and since election is over no need to create feel good enviroment, so lower dividend, No??
MGM
post Oct 29 2013, 09:14 AM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(hyelbaine @ Oct 29 2013, 08:54 AM)
That's the challenge that PNB faces with its fixed priced products. While these investments are not guaranteed, PNB "honors" the value of the investment (Ringgit to Ringgit) regardless of a fund's actual PAR value/price.

If you're old enough than you may recall that back in 1997/98, PNB had no choice but to honor redemption by investors at RM1.00 even though calculations/valuations done at that moment in time by analysts indicated that fund prices ranged anywhere between RM0.70 to RM0.80 cents. So this "short" of a couple of cents "must be honored" by PNB no matter what. And unlike other unit trust companies, they honor redemption requests pretty much on the spot. So to add a 3rd dimension of challenge, PNB has to stay liquid in order to honor redemption requests and not have everything invested in equities.

It puts into perspective PNB's ability in terms of managing its funds. Not only it has to give out good yields for its funds but it has also to make sure that the PAR value/price of ASB, AS1M, ASW2020 and ASM stays at par or above RM1.00 to "honor" client redemption. I feel sorry for those who work with PNB who has to face all the whining and complains about PNB's dividend yields when no other unit trust company is in its same position.

While I "smirk" at PNB when it says "we can declare x cents in dividend but we're reserving x cents for carrying forward etc..." I kinda understand the immense pressure that PNB goes through in not only providing good yields but also ensuring that it can honor the RM1.00 redemption request regardless of the condition.
Most AS investors are conservative and treat the funds like a high-yield saving accounts where they will only redeem when they run out of cash. So redemption was never a problem for ASNB even during crisis.
MGM
post Nov 27 2013, 02:51 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(backspace66 @ Nov 25 2013, 07:08 AM)
It wont matter because pnb hq is in kl. So saturday and sunday wilk be off and the transaction will not be processed.
So for those ASNB branches which close on Friday & Saturday, the staffs will goyang kaki because system off on Sunday?

This post has been edited by MGM: Nov 27 2013, 05:12 PM
MGM
post Dec 23 2013, 02:42 PM

18,410 posts

QUOTE(cybermaster98 @ Dec 23 2013, 11:08 AM)
Slightly off topic, but does anybody know when the EPF dividend will be announced?
2012 dividend was announced in feb2013.
MGM
post Jan 1 2014, 09:01 AM

18,410 posts

2013 was a good year for Bursa's Blue Chips with FBMKLCI gaining 11%. This is the time when some of us who had given up on the Market to kick our own butts for not being more adventurous and depend on ASNB's funds and the only consolation is to hope that this will translate into better returns in 2014.

2013 was a bad year for gold which lost 28%, for silver -36%, so still better to be in ASx, hahaha.

Other markets in ASEAN actually not doing as well as Bursa:
Singapore’s Straits Times Index rose marginally at 0.01%, while the Jakarta Composite Index slipped 0.98% and the Bangkok Stock Exchange fell 6.7%

Happy New Year everybody, hope 2014 will be a good year with lots of money in the pocket to counter 'Barang Naik'.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 1 2014, 09:33 AM

0.0535sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:37 AM