13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

MSI Gaming Notebook V.II, The Refreshed model yet more powerful!

shin2l
post Mar 27 2014, 03:03 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(MightySmiter @ Mar 27 2014, 02:56 PM)
so far maxed i've hit is 70, perhaps 71.

nope, playing in normal ceiling fan room, but i do have a coolermaster notebook cooler.

i'll post some screenshots later tonight.

from my experience yesterday, once temperatures hit 70, the gpu fan will increase on its own. i didn't change any settings. once the fan increases to about 50% speed, then temperature start dropping back down to 68ish

this was playing Diablo 3 btw, i haven't had the chance to try Titanfall just yet because of that silly infinite loading screen  rclxub.gif

only one thing i noticed, once you turn off the laptop, the notebook cooler still runs off the laptop battery, so u have to manually unplug the usb cable.
I think new MSI lineup has some protection against overheating by auto increase fan speed, my GT70 2OC hit 80+C for CPU and 70+C for GPU without turn on coolerboost nor passive fan speed increase turn on, gaming 2~3 hours NFS: Rivals with max effects.
shin2l
post Mar 28 2014, 04:19 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ReverseDark @ Mar 28 2014, 03:30 PM)
ran unigine heaven 4.0, max temp are 80c user posted image

tested with prime95 5 mins, 90c on the torture test

Closing thoughts-
Beautiful!! laptop with superb cooling, even with 90c cpu or 80c gpu, l don feel HOT at all, as the laptop surface are really wide and the MSI cooler boost button, the heat air being dispense really quick, l must say, l feel really WAW!

after the prime95 ran 5 mins, forgot to turn off resulted torturing more than 15 mins, l didnt even notice, heat, throttle, until l suddenly stoped the prime 95, computer freezes, will need to do force reboot

l will give 10 out of 10 on MSI laptops  thumbup.gif

*Updates
tried some minor OC on the 860m, wooping easy to get extra 80mhz, cant imagine what high end maxwell could do  nod.gif
as far as l concern, laptop GPU would kill themself 1st before even throttle, no guts to continue push the GPU  notworthy.gif
Great man!! Is it you achieve those T with coolerboost on? If I am not mistaken, 860M has a high clock of 1000+mhz, cant push anymore.
shin2l
post Mar 28 2014, 04:55 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ReverseDark @ Mar 28 2014, 04:30 PM)
Yes, by using the cooler boost, it is somewhat put the fan speed to 100%, even on 5500 rpm, it is still very quiet drool.gif lm clocking at 1173 mhz if lm not mistaken, it is still able to go further brows.gif but my balls shrinks, l heard that laptop kills itself quite fast eh? shocking.gif
I see, in that case it is not good in cooling, bcs you have your CPU hitting 90C while GPU hitting 80C in coolerboost kick in. However, considering its price and market position, you can only accept it, just need to make sure you have enough ventilation when you want to heavy gaming.

I mention before that 2013 GE series have 3 copper pipes compared to 2014 GE series with 2 copper pipes. So, take good care of your new GE70.
shin2l
post Mar 28 2014, 07:14 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ReverseDark @ Mar 28 2014, 05:31 PM)
heaven 4.0 does not stress the cpu, the 90c of cpu are on prime95  nod.gif
well in fact cooling seems quite good to me, maybe higher end models even cooler!? according to my previous laptop experience, all of it are egg boiling style  icon_question.gif however cooler boost are like what you describe earlier, a on off switch, tried nfs rivals, 70c will try crysis 3 & some other gpu killer games  brows.gif
Yes, that is why GT is RM1500 more expensive than GE due to larger form factor, larger fan, extra copper heat sink, socketed CPU&GPU. That is okay, I have experience with my old DELL studio 1555 before, open torchlight 2, 5 minutes later power shutdown. GT can even not turn on coolerboost and play games for hours in my experience with NFS: Rivals. However, it is still laptop, may be need to do thermal paste yearly if gaming frequently.
shin2l
post Mar 29 2014, 12:44 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 28 2014, 08:35 PM)
Upgraded my GT60 Dominator Pro to 16GB RAM. Gonna plug it to the Dell UP2414Q 4K monitor tomorrow at APES and see how capable 880M is running games at 3840x2160, just for kicks. tongue.gif

Not expecting much though, seeing how the Dominator Pro 3K Edition can't even get past framerates in the teens when running Battlefield 4 and Crysis. Titanfall may be a little more forgiving but it'll be interesting to see. biggrin.gif
Wow man!! How about if you connect to LCD TV with 4K? I read someone in CHina own GE60 connect to 70" TV......
shin2l
post Mar 29 2014, 09:40 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Marcossius @ Mar 29 2014, 09:32 AM)
Finally got my GE60 2PE. Looks awesome, and keyboard is great.

Must say, as a sound snob that usually hates cheap sounding headphones, the Dynaudio speakers are very good.

Heating could be better since my hand when playing games is too near the heating vent, and I have big hands. Might not be an issue for GE70 users since width is wider.

Ran D3 and had around 60-70 deg temps with fan spinning fast. Haven't tried other games though.

Grid picture of unboxing and first run
Welcome man!! biggrin.gif Dynaudio wont let you down, but you need to tune with SBC, if not, sound can be awful.
shin2l
post Apr 3 2014, 08:33 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Apr 3 2014, 03:49 AM)
Ultra settings is indeed possible, only if you have the 880M on board. Tested the three current most played games I had, Crysis 3, Battlefield 4 and Titanfall, they play past that necessary 30fps for that smooth framerate play. Crysis 3 plays with Very High settings 1080p with FRAPS showing 35fps on open environment (the very first starting level and "New York" level with all the billowing tall grass), Battlefield 4  at 45fps 1080p highest settings (on the carrier level with jet fighters toppling over and firefights going on) and Titanfall stays at 60fps on all level, all settings maxed out.

The question you need to ask is this: Do I want more portability at the expense or power, or vice versa? Those who do not want to compromise on performance, at the expense of portability, got themselves the GT60 Dominator Pro. The GT60 plus its power adapter weights 4.5kg, not too portable for those who are accustomed to carrying tablets and/or tablet-like laptops weighing like Ultrabooks. Those who are adamant about portability (light, thin) ACCEPT compromises to power, and are okay with gaming at settings lower than Ultra/VeryHigh, while remaining light on the weight they're carrying around. The GS60 and the GE60 fits category.

I'm already taking a compromise, gaming on laptops compared to the two monster rigs I've built at home, the two rigs runs maxed out settings at 3840x2160. I would not want to compromise further gaming on laptops with a step down in GPU specs, so I've accepted the weight I have to carry with the GT60 Dominator Pro. Those who are accustomed to gaming at lower res than I do, I reckon would not be missing much if they drop their settings to one notch below Ultra or Very High. I've simply been poisoned by what I've seen with 4K gaming, and cannot and will not compromise further other than 1080p at Ultra/VeryHigh. But that is just me, other folks have other level of acceptance they can take.

All this, and we've not even delve into the other criteria that may have a more deciding factor than weight and performance: how much are you will to spend. tongue.gif
Great, how is your gaming on 4K screen? smile.gif
shin2l
post Apr 5 2014, 03:22 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(epiyana @ Apr 4 2014, 10:38 PM)
Saw it at MSI booth today. Not sure bout the price.
I myself am Interested to buy a GX70 Destroyer, any advice? They offered me 4300, is this a good deal? Please help me all sifus here.. 😳
GX series is a good deal for budgeted user who seek for gaming, however, it is bottlenecked by A10-5750M Richland APU. If you play some games rely more at CPU calculation, you may suffer low FPS for that games eventhough GX has R9 M290X. Currrent GX series is not a good deal yet, you either wait for Kaveri mobile APU or at that price range you can opt for GE70 which features 860M that alomost on par with 770M.

shin2l
post Apr 6 2014, 11:22 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Apr 6 2014, 01:02 PM)
I went to MSI booth ytd at d pc fair and tested out d latest GS70...
Abit dissapointed with d sound produced though...
But i'm very inpressed with d weight for GS60 & GS70...
Most probably not going for d GS series adi...
Sound by Dynaudio can be said the best in terms of laptop built-in speaker, every review you find will always praise Dynaudio speaker. However, to maximize its performance, a good software with proper settings must be acquired, even Sound Blaster Cinema if dont tune well, it will sound awful. Most probably you dont tune some settings in Sound Blaster Cinema or you are an audiophile who is used to with Hi-Fi headphone/speaker.
shin2l
post Apr 6 2014, 11:36 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(ZRong223 @ Apr 6 2014, 11:32 PM)
New MSI GE60-2PE user reporting in! biggrin.gif

BTW, I was recommended not to go for Windows update as "blue screen" problem will occur. Is this true?
Advice needed...
By the time you update Windows, please update intel display driver as well. I am using Win8.1, no blue screen happen so far.
shin2l
post Apr 6 2014, 11:52 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Apr 6 2014, 11:37 PM)
i'm using d default setting of coz...
the sound start to crack @ around 80% of d volume...
acceptable loud,but still not enuf to impress me...
maybe around d lvl of JBL speaker in Y510P...
I think it is better than JBL speaker in Y510P, plus I dont really like synthetic sound in Y510P due to lack of subwoofer. Anyway, you can always opt for external speaker. For me, this is the best you can get for built-in speaker with only 2W x 2 + 2.5W subwoofer output.
shin2l
post Apr 8 2014, 03:48 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Apr 8 2014, 01:50 PM)
just wondering... how to update to window 8.1? my GS70 is running on window 8... do i need to update the drivers or sort?
Go to STORE on Metro UI, you will see a "free update to Win 8.1" something like that, prompt to download 3.79GB then it will upgrade, but you need to back up your Windows 8 first. If not, all your recovery drive "bye bye", just like me.
shin2l
post Apr 8 2014, 08:18 PM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Apr 8 2014, 07:57 PM)
need to update the driver or automatically update by itself? back up window as in the create recovery disc?
Yes, create recovery disks. For driver, BIOS and others, you need to download from MSI website.
shin2l
post Apr 9 2014, 09:23 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(kyu85 @ Apr 9 2014, 12:33 AM)
u updated? if yes, how the new window 8.1? how the new start menu? worth to update? to install window 1st or driver 1st?
start menu button recovered, only to access Metro UI, not the classic start menu.

So far everything okay, there may be some problem with Wifi connection, MSI drivers for Win 8.1 are quite stable already, you can upgrade to 8.1 if you want. FOr my GT70, I notice that speaker sound is smaller compared to in Win 8 on the same volume.
shin2l
post Apr 9 2014, 11:15 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Apr 9 2014, 11:05 AM)
GS70 Stealth Pro delayed until end of the month :/
That is almost 3 weeks!! So what you gonna to do?
shin2l
post Apr 11 2014, 09:46 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(Amal @ Apr 11 2014, 01:09 AM)
Temperature and Noise test of the GS60 with GTX 870M :

92c on the GTX 870M GPU just by running 3DMark11.

Better be careful.
Burning platform~~~~ sweat.gif

My GT70 cant even achieve 90C with coolerboost off while playing NFS: Rivals for hours on highest settings.
shin2l
post Apr 14 2014, 12:23 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(GreaseMonkey90 @ Apr 13 2014, 03:09 PM)
got my GS60 yesterday. So far loving it.
Wow, how is Temp control? What is the reading in Hwmonitor?

QUOTE(jkeychean @ Apr 13 2014, 07:40 PM)
Reporting in, GT70 20D Dragon Edition 2  icon_rolleyes.gif
4930MX + GTX780M is it? How much you bought?
shin2l
post Apr 14 2014, 01:32 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Apr 14 2014, 12:38 AM)
god my gs70 cpu fan is damn noisy, like no lubricant already sleep.gif, any ideas how to deal with it?
I am interested in your audio gears parts!! DT880 + Govibe DAC + AMP. rclxms.gif

For your GS70, maybe you need to take the cover out to inspect what happen on your fan, e.g cleaning dust.

This post has been edited by shin2l: Apr 14 2014, 01:32 AM
shin2l
post Apr 14 2014, 05:08 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Apr 14 2014, 02:49 AM)
... they are not for sale.

i doubt its dust though
either you clean by yourself (warranty void) or bring to MSI service center (pay RMXX~XXX), else, contact storm88 (if within warranty but want to pay less)
shin2l
post Apr 14 2014, 09:17 AM

1,032 posts

QUOTE(koopa @ Apr 14 2014, 07:09 AM)
Opening it voids warranty? Alienware allows user to open and upgrade. Later I'll check this with MSI.
QUOTE(selvenz @ Apr 14 2014, 08:08 AM)
From what i know , opening back plate to access hd,ram should not void warranty, at least thats what "GAMING BRIGHTSTAR " told me.
Nope, it "voids warranty" because of the warranty sticker, bcs the sticker is right on the place when you open the back cover (at least my GT70 is that condition)

For a gaming laptop, I dont see any advantage of prevent user to access other hardware bcs of the warranty sticker.

Previously, there was an user who wanted to upgraded some parts inside, bcs of the sticker, MSI sc charged him RM80. Let say you want to upgrade ram, and you are in warranty, so you of course dont want to break sticker, the you either bring to MSI sc upgrade or back to your authorised MSI shop to upgrade.

I dont know how is the condition of Alienware, but it seems not forbidden users to access hardware.

13 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0594sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:48 PM