Suggestion for a small business capital below 100k, business suggeston

TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 06:32 PM, updated 13y ago

15 posts

Hello guy,

I have been working oversea for 5 years, and manage to save RM100000.00+

But, i don't wish to work oversea forever. I am on my 30, and wanna find a wife(in malaysia) and settle down with her in malaysi
Recently been resigned and back to malaysia, and trying starting a small business here but i don't have any skill on my hand neither network.

Any suggestion from friend here. Can tell me some hot business and stable where the modal around 100k?

I am planning to start my business at a small town like, limbang, kapit, kanowit. due cheap shop rental and not many competitor there.

Please advise me some business idea? thank you.
jwrx
post Aug 26 2013, 06:35 PM

515 posts

post office, DHL , citilink etc type of business. Can set up one below rm50k. then you use the rest of cash as cashflow for a year.

pisces88
post Aug 26 2013, 06:39 PM

3,970 posts

you want to go into F&B? fashion store? groceries? whats your interest? =/
SUSendau02
post Aug 26 2013, 06:40 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Aug 26 2013, 06:35 PM)
post office, DHL , citilink etc type of business. Can set up one below rm50k. then you use the rest of cash as cashflow for a year.
roughly how much is the volume expected per bike?
jwrx
post Aug 26 2013, 06:47 PM

515 posts

QUOTE(endau02 @ Aug 26 2013, 06:40 PM)
roughly how much is the volume expected per bike?
thats the beauty of doing DHL or poslaju, you do not need bikes/vans etc. all logistics is taken care by the principle, they will come collect everyday, you just need to open the shop
SUSendau02
post Aug 26 2013, 06:57 PM

3,180 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Aug 26 2013, 06:47 PM)
thats the beauty of doing DHL or poslaju, you do not need bikes/vans etc. all logistics is taken care by the principle, they will come collect everyday, you just need to open the shop
ok i got it smile.gif
can open sell other things too in the post office
andrewleewaikeong
post Aug 26 2013, 07:02 PM

848 posts

open poslaju good ? rm50k for franchise fees ? renovation shop all bear by franchisee right ?
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 07:37 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(jwrx @ Aug 26 2013, 06:35 PM)
Thanks for the amazing idea, would you pm me how to get those pos laju, DHL in 50k?
trinity3
post Aug 26 2013, 07:50 PM

105 posts

May be this is slight out of question but what are your skillset?

Mini Pos at industrial area not too bad in KV but I don't know their margin.
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 07:52 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(pisces88 @ Aug 26 2013, 06:39 PM)
you want to go into F&B? fashion store? groceries? whats your interest? =/
I didn't have any special interest. Just interested with any legal business which will make stable money.

For fashion store, is that really profitable? Because I have seem a lot clothes store opening everyday now.

Would go with something fresh idea?
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 07:54 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(trinity3 @ Aug 26 2013, 07:50 PM)
May be this is slight out of question but what are your skillset?

Mini Pos at industrial area not too bad in KV but I don't know their margin.
For me I didn't have any special skill. Only some basic computer repairing ( diploma).
my previous job was storekeeper.
getitdoone
post Aug 26 2013, 07:54 PM

107 posts

Hand phone shop . If u in penang and can give me cheap price , I will buy from U
Axantas
post Aug 26 2013, 08:08 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 06:32 PM)
Hello guy,

But, i don't wish to work oversea forever. I am on my 30, and wanna find a wife(in malaysia) and settle down with her in malaysi
Recently been resigned and back to malaysia, and trying starting a small business here but i don't have any skill on my hand neither network.

Any suggestion from friend here. Can tell me some hot business and stable where the modal around 100k?

I am planning to start my business at a small town like, limbang, kapit, kanowit. due cheap shop rental and not many competitor there.

100K+ is not a lot, there's a lot of things that you need to take in consideration before commit to it or it will be gone before you know it.

F & B is a risky business.
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 08:14 PM

15 posts

F&b business actually also a good choice, that you can start by renting a food stall selling nasi lemak at the cost as low under rm 10k.

But it require cooking skill.. Harga I suc at cooking. Lol.
Axantas
post Aug 26 2013, 08:15 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 08:14 PM)
F&b business actually also a good choice, that you can start by renting a food stall selling nasi lemak at the cost as low under rm 10k.

How can you be sure that you will recover the capital (cost) and make a profit? In real world, there's no perfect scenario.
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 08:29 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(Axantas @ Aug 26 2013, 08:15 PM)
How can you be sure that you will recover the capital (cost) and make a profit? In real world, there's no perfect scenario.
As long your food is fresh and delicious + good correct price, your customer will come automatically.

But the fact is I don't know how to cook. ==

Axantas
post Aug 26 2013, 08:34 PM

226 posts

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 08:29 PM)
As long your food is fresh and delicious + good correct price, your customer will come automatically.

But the fact is I don't know how to cook. ==
It's not that easy, I own restaurants around Klang Valley. It's loss-making for some time before it turns a healthy profit. The cost involved is too high, to be covered in a short time. If you don't have a ready-cash reserve with you, prepare to close shop in a while.
trinity3
post Aug 26 2013, 08:37 PM

105 posts

Can cook doesn't mean you can run a FB biz & make $. Cannot cook also does not mean you cannot be in FB.

Boss no need to cook eg franchise.

Anyway to TS, suggest you take time. If u need to, get a job first. Test market eg sell nasi lemak. If I want to sell nasi lemak, I make & sell first to test market & won't commit to rent etc. Sell from back of car also can. This is call lean startup. The key is to reduce risk of failure & risk of losing your capital.

For brick & mortar biz, 100k won't go far & provide u with much safety margin

This post has been edited by trinity3: Aug 26 2013, 09:46 PM
TShonourablez
post Aug 26 2013, 08:58 PM

15 posts

Citylink franchise.

Initial Capital: From RM80,000
Franchise Fee: RM50,000
Advertising Fee: 2% from monthly gross sales
Royalty: 6% from monthly gross sales

What your opinion? Wondering how do people earn profit from these field.
cherroy
post Aug 26 2013, 09:33 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 07:52 PM)
I didn't have any special interest. Just interested with any legal business which will make stable money.

For fashion store, is that really profitable? Because I have seem a lot clothes store opening everyday now.

Would go with something fresh idea?
There is no new business (especially for starter) to make stable money.
Business always come with risk.

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 08:14 PM)

See, this is the problem of I have xyz money, what business to do topic.
(that's why this kind of topic generally is closed)

People suggested F&B, then answer with suck at cooking etc. reason that won't go for it.

Why look for other suggestion if like that?

As always, we need more specific focal point to start, not the like suggest anything under the sun.
People can suggest ABC, but then come out with answer, suck at ABC.
Then suggest xyz, then another excuse not interested in xyz. doh.gif

No point to look for fresh idea, until we have specific scope, narrow down the interest, stated condition etc, before other can suggest anything.
Ty.

If not the topic is heading to nowhere and headless topic is better to be closed. smile.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Aug 26 2013, 09:35 PM
seiluen
post Aug 26 2013, 10:48 PM

550 posts

TS,maybe u try go survey around the place u plan to start the business first.u may get some idea from there
suadrif
post Aug 29 2013, 01:24 PM

<Safe Online Trader>
2,650 posts

dont ask such a general question la.
dont expect people will list out all kind of business nature in the world in a forum
if u are expecting a good answer, then provide others with a good info of yourself.

what kind of working experience do u have?
what kind of interest and hobby do u have?
u plan for full time or part time?
u want a business or just an investment?
u prefer service or selling item?

as cherroy said, there is too many topic like this.
u r like putting a big blanket under the sky and expect gold falling onto it
there is no way it will works.

here is my tip. go for edyek thread and keep reading on other people experience. maybe u can get rough idea on how to start:
Small & Medium Business
Passive Income

link above is good for reading
ah_suknat
post Aug 31 2013, 02:12 AM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

No skill set no worries, skill can be learn.

Do trading, import stuff from China and sell here. Study what are stuff needed by the local people but no supply.

I dont know the conditions in the place that you stay, but in my place in Sabah, many kampung still have no electric supply, so i import solar lightings and solar charging system from china and mark up 50% and sell to them, very good response. Best is i dont need to rent shop, just sell at local pasar.

See? Just simple market study.
Percival II
post Aug 31 2013, 04:18 AM

64 posts

QUOTE(ah_suknat @ Aug 31 2013, 02:12 AM)
No skill set no worries, skill can be learn.

Do trading, import stuff from China and sell here. Study what are stuff needed by the local people but no supply.

I dont know the conditions in the place that you stay, but in my place in Sabah, many kampung still have no electric supply, so i import solar lightings and solar charging system from china and mark up 50% and sell to them, very good response. Best is i dont need to rent shop, just sell at local pasar.

See? Just simple market study.
well.. may i ask? how did u get the supply? by Alibaba.com or seaching by yourself in china?
bart80
post Sep 24 2013, 04:08 PM

179 posts

Limbang, kapit, kanowit - of these 3 limbang would have better chance of running a business due to population size and proximity to Brunei and Sabah. Sarawak interior also don't have electricity maybe you can try suknat's idea. You didn't say what you are doing (work experience and skills) and where you are/were located.
genchwan
post Apr 21 2015, 09:49 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(honourablez @ Aug 26 2013, 06:32 PM)
Hello guy,

hello...have you start up a business?
Kaka23
post Apr 21 2015, 09:50 PM

8,259 posts

car wash is an option...

0.0204sec    1.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:42 AM