Hobbies Smoker / Tobaccos (Pipe, Rolling, Cigar) Thread, Adult Hobby / Below 18 are not allowed !

max_cjs0101
post Aug 30 2013, 10:03 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

Do you guys have any recommendation of a creamy/flavoured rolling tobacco which tastes close to the Harvest Vanilla/Cherry 10s?
I have tried Domingo vanilla, Mac Baren Vanilla, Kir Royal Cherry but its far from the Harvest 10s..

the Harvest 10s im talking about:
max_cjs0101
post Sep 11 2013, 01:33 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

I want to try pipes but would prefer a wooden rather than a corncob one due to aesthetics.
Btw, where can one find other shops selling pipes in KL area other than Kamelah, Cigar Lounge and Gulamsa Pertama Complex?
max_cjs0101
post Sep 12 2013, 08:59 AM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Kevfoong @ Sep 12 2013, 02:18 AM)
Not sure... because I'm from Penang.
Is not wooden... is called Briar...

Well... depends... one may cost RM200~1200 for Brair Pipe and Cob is only RM60~80....

I already have 2 Briar Pipe... Well... the pipe need to break in enable to fully taste the tobacco...
Where Cob don't really need to break in...

Certain tobacco may taste better in Cob... ans certain taste better in Briar...

So far Straight Virginia doesn't really taste good in my Briar... that is the reason why I want to get Cob...
From review... Straight Virginia taste superb in Cob...
I watched from youtube that a normal unbranded corncob is actually pretty cheap and can be bought for as low as 99cents. RM60+ is a bit too high i suppose?
max_cjs0101
post Oct 11 2013, 08:13 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

The cheapest pipe you can get in Pertama would be RM95. Kamelah would be RM100 above.
I tried pipe a few times but i dislike the smoke taste as all the pipe tobacco blends had the "burnt wood" flavour so i quit.
Not sure if the blends i bought was english tobacco or something. i tried Borkum Riff Vanilla and Cherry Cavendish, Von Eicken Private Club Vanilla but urgh, all tasted so terrible. My colleague suggested i go for Mac Baren but i dont wanna spend another 20 bucks just to try a blend once.

So i'll stick to cigars for the time being. Full bodied, creamy and rich smoke. mmmmm wub.gif

Ahh, now I know how to describe the taste. It's like relighting a cigarette which went off. Thats how pipe smoking tastes like to me. What do you guys call that taste?
max_cjs0101
post Oct 14 2013, 04:49 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(marquis @ Oct 14 2013, 09:43 AM)
I think it's called disgusting. Unless you're smoking some lights and you're used to something harder. Then it becomes necessary laugh.gif

Btw quick update:

I found my Golden Virginia and King Sized Rolling paper. Woo hoo! Although it feels more like a Super King's and feels like I'm rolling a joint too sweat.gif
So does pipe smoking taste that way or im smoking it wrong lol

I believe its due to the water in the pipe where the tobacco was burning but all pipes have water vapour when you burn the tobacco rite?
max_cjs0101
post Mar 20 2017, 03:35 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Ergotism Prognosis @ Mar 20 2017, 01:56 PM)
Could anyone add me in whatapp cigar discussion group? Tq.
What cigar group are you referring to?
max_cjs0101
post Mar 20 2017, 07:45 PM

Tarp hater and detector
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Ergotism Prognosis @ Mar 20 2017, 07:03 PM)
Dunno. Cigar thread in kopitiam seems dead. So one could only assume that all sifu moved to other medium.
Only few from that group is the the whatsapp chat group which I created.
Not really active these days though.

0.0157sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:35 AM