5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

engine question, 4A-GE vs 4G93?

TSimperialrealcs
post May 26 2006, 01:56 AM, updated 20y ago

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

hi, i might be wrong but izzit 4G93 is the 1.6 version? assuming i'm not wrong, then which 1 is better?
coz my friend corolla SE swap new engine n he claim it is 'initial d' engine doh.gif n i assume it is 4A-GE like in the AE86 rite?
n how much total cost for swapping my wira with 4G93 with workmanship?
K3nnYkl82
post May 26 2006, 02:27 AM

2,479 posts

4G93 .. 1.8 version of mitsu engines
4G92 .. 1.6 version
4G91 .. 1.5

dunno much about the DOHC 4G93 .. 4G93T turbo version is around 6k nowadays .. for manual .. halfcut along..
shackks
post May 26 2006, 08:47 AM

1,777 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 26 2006, 01:56 AM)
hi, i might be wrong but izzit 4G93 is the 1.6 version? assuming i'm not wrong, then which 1 is better?
coz my friend corolla SE swap new engine n he claim it is 'initial d' engine doh.gif n i assume it is 4A-GE like in the AE86 rite?
watz ur location? different location different price... although the differences may not be very "big"...
TSimperialrealcs
post May 26 2006, 09:06 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ May 26 2006, 02:27 AM)
4G93 .. 1.8 version of mitsu engines
4G92 .. 1.6 version
4G91 .. 1.5

dunno much about the DOHC 4G93 .. 4G93T turbo version is around 6k nowadays .. for manual .. halfcut along..
my wira 1.3 max can go 1.6 only.. so considering 4g92 only tongue.gif
do u noe how much to add 4g92 (prefer DOHC) + installation + auto gearbox? any mechanic to recommend?

QUOTE(shackks @ May 26 2006, 08:47 AM)
watz ur location? different location different price... although the differences may not be very "big"...
my location is KL.. u noe any friend?
i juz need the price of 4g92 (prefer DOHC) + installation + auto gearbox

*not nescessary DOHC if not available heh..
Intrigue
post May 26 2006, 09:08 AM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

another initial-d fan boy? hehe..
TSimperialrealcs
post May 26 2006, 09:16 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ May 26 2006, 09:08 AM)
another initial-d fan boy? hehe..
ops, i'm not initial d fanboy.. HE is initial d fanboi (corolla SE on 4A-GE)
if u were to follow up my thread, i did complain that my engine consume its own engine oil which is very trouble some to me so thinkin to change engine.. stupid 4G15
travis_ckf
post May 26 2006, 09:37 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 26 2006, 01:56 AM)
I aint too sure about mitsubishi engines, soo cant advice over here.

But what ur friend claimed could be the engine caled 4AGE 20v, is the engine that powers the levin model at the mid 90ist. It was actually the similiar engine with the one where takumi uses it on 2nd stage on the initial d anime, but do mind that one is a racing spec, and its way different than a normal 4AGE 20V.

The 4AGE 20v from initial d that takumi is using has 240BHP, while the normal one has 160 for the silvertop and 165 for the blacktop one.

Switching engine + worksmanship will cost roughy 10K, but dont forget to upgrade ur brakes and suspension as well.

This post has been edited by travis_ckf: May 26 2006, 09:38 AM
shinjite
post May 26 2006, 10:11 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

If he were to transplant a racing engine inside the car, dunno wether JPJ will allow or not XD

Anyway, for 1.6, why not get the 1.6 MIVEC 175BHP on crank tongue.gif Actually normal 4G92 SOHC also enough already

Back to topic, 4AGE vs 4G93, if the normal 4AGE which is about 130BHP will definitely lose to a 1.8 4G93 engine. if its the silvertop and blacktop version, it will win the 4G93 NA unless you compare it with the 1.6 4G92 MIVEC

If compare 1.8 GSR 4G93T which is around 195-205BHP, have to compare with the 4AGE 20V racing spec already smile.gif

This post has been edited by shinjite: May 26 2006, 10:15 AM
thom_chai
post May 26 2006, 11:41 AM

1,830 posts

I would take 4G92 DOHC MIVEC lor, but seems like mivec half-cut is more pricey than GSR1.8 turbo halfcut...
K3nnYkl82
post May 26 2006, 01:08 PM

2,479 posts

yeap .. if u have the money .. why not go for the 4G92 DOHC Mivec version .. half cut should be around 5.5k .. but the fuel efficiency isnt that good for this version because of its short gear .. for high RPM ..

4G92 Mivec claim to be around 175 bhp .. for a 1.6
4AGE 16v DOHC .. around 130bhp
4AGE 20v DOHC . around 160bhp

those are juz figures... cannot proof anything unless tested.. smile.gif

but if are comparing a 4G93 (1.8) .. 4G93 DOHC produce only 140bhp .. but the torque is high.. damn nice to drive... smile.gif
Intrigue
post May 26 2006, 01:11 PM

L O W Y A T E R
3,943 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 26 2006, 09:16 AM)
ops, i'm not initial d fanboy.. HE is initial d fanboi (corolla SE on 4A-GE)
if u were to follow up my thread, i did complain that my engine consume its own engine oil which is very trouble some to me so thinkin to change engine.. stupid 4G15
yaya.. no one talk engines together with initial d ma. keke

my uncle 4G15 around 10 years still in good condition. Dunno how come i always come across people with 4G13 and 4G15 makan minyak kuat. hmm.. did not service regularly? Coz i'm a previous 4G13 Iswara (M) user and one full tank can go up to 500-600km.
SUSceo684
post May 26 2006, 03:56 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ May 26 2006, 01:11 PM)

my uncle 4G15 around 10 years still in good condition. Dunno how come i always come across people with 4G13 and 4G15 makan minyak kuat. hmm.. did not service regularly?  Coz i'm a previous 4G13 Iswara (M) user and one full tank can go up to 500-600km.
Your "full tank" is up to the brim one or the meter's mark full tank (~26 liters)?
TSimperialrealcs
post May 26 2006, 05:22 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(Intrigue @ May 26 2006, 01:11 PM)

my uncle 4G15 around 10 years still in good condition. Dunno how come i always come across people with 4G13 and 4G15 makan minyak kuat. hmm.. did not service regularly?  Coz i'm a previous 4G13 Iswara (M) user and one full tank can go up to 500-600km.
my engine changed from 4G13 to 4G15 recently.. kena con haha.. no la, actually my older engine died, lookin for cheaper solution.. but now jialat.. here is what i did to my wira
8awg 11points grounding cable
zaptop gold acoustic
open pod..

what more can i add to have more hp? no major mod.. only add those chap chap stuff tongue.gif
n the result must be those proven 1 la.. not like those soo called compressor but did nothing tongue.gif
shinjite
post May 26 2006, 11:51 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

change ur exhaust system smile.gif it should provide u power too
Anyway, why don't you get the 4G91 1.5 DOHC engine instead, just a suggestion

TSimperialrealcs
post May 27 2006, 12:47 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 26 2006, 11:51 PM)
change ur exhaust system smile.gif it should provide u power too
Anyway, why don't you get the 4G91 1.5 DOHC engine instead, just a suggestion
very BIG diffrence? now i'm on 4G15, do i need to go jpj for inspection again? considering both also 1.5 tongue.gif
kylielmf
post May 27 2006, 01:19 AM

vtec inspired!
1,227 posts

need JPJ if you change engine number.
K3nnYkl82
post May 27 2006, 01:21 AM

2,479 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ May 27 2006, 12:47 AM)
very BIG diffrence? now i'm on 4G15, do i need to go jpj for inspection again? considering both also 1.5 tongue.gif
once u change the engine .. yes.. uneed inspection
there is a Big difference 4G15 and 4G91 ..

shinjite
post May 27 2006, 07:45 AM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,320 posts

4g91 DOHC is of course better in terms of overall, no need to add minor mods also the engine is powerful enough for Malaysian roads smile.gif
TSimperialrealcs
post May 27 2006, 09:48 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(shinjite @ May 27 2006, 07:45 AM)
4g91 DOHC is of course better in terms of overall, no need to add minor mods also the engine is powerful enough for Malaysian roads smile.gif
but i heard the power come only on high rpm.. if cruising, more or less juz same as 4g15 sad.gif
soulfly
post May 27 2006, 10:00 AM

revving towards 10,000 rpm
15,903 posts

QUOTE(K3nnYkl82 @ May 27 2006, 01:21 AM)
once u change the engine .. yes.. uneed inspection
there is a Big difference 4G15 and 4G91 ..
in term of power, there is no big difference .... except that 4G91 had better peak power. that's why it had more hp.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0188sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:06 AM