#41999 does it contain rare parts ?
Perhaps much cheaper to buy parts and mod 9398 ?
The Official LEGO Enthusiast Club V15
Aug 20 2013, 03:10 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
Woo... new chapter.
#41999 does it contain rare parts ? Perhaps much cheaper to buy parts and mod 9398 ? |
Aug 20 2013, 03:54 PM
6,462 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: [Latitude-N3°9'25"] [Longitude-E101°42'45"] |
QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 20 2013, 03:20 PM) Had a quick look at BL database and it seemed to be made up of common parts except for the panels' colour which is unique to this model. Again, the box is unique! haha! Panel maybe can use other colours, depending on preferences, after all, can own mod based on it.Also, the newer-batch panels have extra holes, depending on the build if can replace with older-batch panels. Except for box-hugger, collector's or to resell later, I don't think I will get this limited-edition if the price is way too high like >RM1k. Playability is the same as 9398, except different top-cover and slight changes. |
Aug 20 2013, 04:14 PM
QUOTE(Lego_Jason @ Aug 20 2013, 04:11 PM) Actually, I managed to order this for myself. Have to pull a really big favour from USA and my estimated cost landed in Malaysia will be around RM1.1k... Yeah, those who doesn't have 9398 yet, 41999 is a good choice.Hmmm... It is pretty much a 9398 with a different skin so I suspect those who bought it are attracted by the colour scheme and slightly updated design... Dark blue parts are always rare in Lego... I was never attracted to the 9398 crawler, hated the colour! lol! 41999 appealed to me and the clincher was the box, it is very cool! Those who do, need to think twice, unless got unlimited money cheat code |
Aug 20 2013, 07:44 PM
Aug 21 2013, 10:30 AM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 20 2013, 09:48 PM) not online for yesterday and it already so much post and new version... There are couple of ways I use to mod rechargeable battery pack:anyway, congratulation on another new version so that's how u mod the batteries box... looks like very nice to play lego sets with remote control wish there will be new sets with remote control at next year... BTW, already do some little modification to my MKII here are some pictures: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « 1) The one you saw, 8x AA, but bulky. 2) 8x AAA, fits into the battery box, but juts out by 0.5cm 3) In plan: mod direct 9v adapter 4) In plan: mod out the board or direct-to-cable 9V (without box) My comments on your 42009: * Your gear looks good, but is it me, or the 20T right-gear (next to cab) is a bit slanted or under pressure ? Or you have not push the bottom axle fully-through yet ? * Can the left-yellow L-beam adjust left-right (and the grey-bush at the back) ? Since you take out the 1x3 Liftarm. * Since there is no 1x3 thin-liftarm (without axle hole), I think maybe can fit a 1x4 thin-liftarm as replacement ? Not sure will affect operation or not. Otherwise I have extra that can sacrifice to cut it. * yeah, the axle-pin without friction for the out-riggers looks good. Is it more smooth when motor the outriggers ? * Time for you to order parts ... Jealous ... I not yet have time to build this. But I think I will build B-model first. Play a while, then disassemble and build A-model, and keep it as that. Cause once I build A-model, don't think I will build B-model already. BTW, I found out a rough-way to synchronise the 2x LA. Just extend to maximum and let it grind 1-2 times. In my 8043 last weekend, it auto-sync my LA, since I switch it to parallel 20T gears also. |
Aug 21 2013, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 20 2013, 10:04 PM) can't post so many pictures in one reply so here's some more pictures aiya ... now only saw your post below » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « it was a quite easy modification than i expected and the blue pin at the outriggers really a lot of friction when i try to spin it with fingers after i replace the 8 blue pins, the motor able to raise the outriggers... before this, the motor almost unable/struggle to turn when raise the outriggers (lower is not problem) maybe these pictures can be a reference or inspiration to modify the 42009... any better modification is welcome and here are some of my old sets pictures that i mention before: » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « The blue pin, if you want to sacrifice, you can sand-down the ridges to remove the friction. LOL ... nice hidden-camera in plane. |
Aug 21 2013, 10:38 AM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 20 2013, 10:39 PM) quite a lot of forumers/tycoon here target the sydney opera house Make sydney opera into a coffee table with glass top i was planning to get this set next year but now quite interest with the rental service of Lego... my house now not much space for Lego anymore... only some little space for my future CMF and a small space for 42008...(yeah, i'm already plan a space for the 42008 even the MKII i'm also have to put it inside plastic bag maybe i'll rent the sydney opera house instead... unless i do some modification to my display rack/book shelf |
Aug 21 2013, 10:40 AM
Aug 21 2013, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(altaf_hoho @ Aug 21 2013, 02:52 PM) I already claimed MKII as my birthday present Last year was 9398 + 8110 to trigger my interest back into Lego. Not sure next year what new model However, is same. Give and take. She wants ipad mini 2 when launch later. Just the feel is different. |
Aug 22 2013, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 21 2013, 08:03 PM) mod direct 9v adapter is that means directly use power from plug with 9v adapter? wow... that's a great idea Yeah, direct plug in 9V adapter to the modded battery box, or cut a PF cable (need to study the 4x cables polarity and usage with and without the IR receiver). let me answer some of the your comments in picture » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « the 42009 B model also quite nice... however when i'm think of my hard work (1 day and a morning) for the main model (and also fingers painful for 1 day) makes me hesitate to build the B model... synchronise the 2x LA probably the hardest part when i modify it... getting the same point is easy but hardest part is when u put in the gear, the point will run away and need to synchronise the 2x LA again... but luckily i manage to synchronise the 2x LA after some trial and error well... i rather use my loose, old parts from my old sets than sacrifice the new blue pin... and i purposely take the pictures of hidden camera » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « That's the reason I plan to start with B-model first this time Not sure if the 42009 can motorise or not, i.e. if a single XL motor is powerful to drive it or not. Or the servo motor is strong enough. Else have to use another XL motor for steering. 9398 weigh in at 1.4kg without battery box 8110 is 1.8kg after motorized, and it has problem (gears grinding) when it hit a small obstacle which is about 1cm in height. Gearing down is an option, but then it will be slower than crawling 9398 I have another mod in mind for 9398 to make it a powerful crawler ... have to think and test first. |
Aug 22 2013, 10:19 AM
Aug 22 2013, 10:24 AM
Aug 22 2013, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(leo730 @ Aug 22 2013, 10:31 AM) Bros, Yes, next to JPN. You need to come in from PJ Hilton side, or use Amcorp Mall / LRT back road towards Nestle house.Received a parcel yesterday but receptionist was not at her desk when the post man came.. Collection area is located at the Cawangan Serahan Jalan Sultan, No.2, Jalan Sultan PJ. Always i claim my parcels from PPB but this time it's at Jalan Sultan and i've not been there before. Called the number and they say it is located nearby JPN, its the depoh next to it issit? Cheers QUOTE(scoop7 @ Aug 22 2013, 11:25 AM) Thanks |
Aug 22 2013, 10:30 PM
Aug 22 2013, 10:41 PM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 22 2013, 09:14 PM) the 2x axle does not spin... maybe u can test it and modify it directly when u build the MKII yeah, will improvise Technic builds like what you did. probably not too hard to make the 42009 motorise... there's quite a lot of space near the wheels/truck part, but it may not able to fit in the XL motor... i don't have the weight info for the 42009... sorry, can't help with this... BTW, found sets that come with XL motor from brickset and only 4 sets with this motor... and i'm quite interest with the 4958: Monster Dino and 8275: Motorized Bulldozer but i think these sets will be very expensive now so maybe get the XL motor instead hopefully there will be remote control and XL motor technic sets next year 4958 I'm not that sure. 8275 is expensive, I think RM1k or higher. I BL the parts for my build and it's not cheap either. XL motor can buy separately Only the L-motor and Servo-motor not available in parts, unless BL it. I got my XL motor more than half year ago. Not sure current price and our RM weakening I may need another 3-5 XL motor for my plan/mod |
Aug 22 2013, 10:42 PM
Aug 22 2013, 11:51 PM
QUOTE(zemperor @ Aug 22 2013, 10:53 PM) haha Sure the 8275 really expensive, just buy the XL motor and remote control is even better... well, can't wait for your build and modification of the 42009 remember to share some pictures here maybe the B model also not bad to modify... maybe RC both trucks RC both trucks ? LOL ... cannot lah. I'm not tycoon or got unlimited money cheat code. Can't afford multiple 42009 sets Will be very busy with work until early Oct. Boss already preparing plans and I'm clearing leave also. But will have time in LYN Maybe I take pic & video of my 8043 mod, follow from internet taiko mod. Not my own mod. |
Aug 23 2013, 02:14 PM
Aug 23 2013, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Aug 23 2013, 02:33 PM) I just bought #8881 Battery Box & #8882 XL Motor without checking whether it works in #41999 or not...... If anyone is retailing here, I'm interested to know also. Anyone know the retail price here? Im a noob in Technic... #8881 battery box works with #9398, hence will work in #41999 #9398/#41999 comes with L-motor. Not XL. It will still work, but need some own-mod. Need 2x. BTW, I thought #41999 comes with #8881, 2x L-motor, 1x servo-motor, 1x LED already ... |
Aug 23 2013, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(Mr. Alby @ Aug 23 2013, 03:39 PM) Alamak..really?? Some PF info here.When i saw the #41999 comes with L motor, i thought i can just swap it with XL..i need more power ! ..and i always assume if buy XL motor, you need to buy that battery box.... *will read more review now... Battery box can reuse. Different size with the train-PF, but same connector. Motors are different sizes, recalling from my mind M-motor is 3x3x6 L-motor is 3x4x7 XL-motor is 5x5x6 The RPM and torque are also different. Very comprehensive info here. |
| Change to: | 0.0556sec
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 11:31 PM |