Mechanical Keyboard Thread Reload V14

Xaphier
post Aug 21 2013, 03:44 PM

495 posts

Hi guys, I just received my Morphling Plum-87 wireless MKB biggrin.gif

Nothing interesting about this keyboard, but so far the wireless has been working great, and it feels good too.

One thing which is a little disappointing though, is the font of the key caps, they just don't look nice, so now I am searching for a TKL key caps set to replace this default one. How do I know if the key caps are compatible or not?

Can someone recommending me a good-looking key caps? I like something with white keycaps and blue font tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Xaphier: Aug 21 2013, 03:44 PM
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 09:49 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 21 2013, 03:56 PM)
Congrats, you are the first white rat here to get the board. tongue.gif jk jk.

Btw, how long it takes from order to reach you? Total damage?

Looks forward for a for reviews of it, with disassembly even better. rclxms.gif the board any visible or noticeable flaws like slanted keys or squeaky stabiliser? How does the stock POM keycaps feel like?

For keycaps compatibility, i guess all standard keycaps will do. Though, to be safe, try to remove the spacebar to make sure it first. Also, words of warning, be extra careful while removing keycaps from it, I not sure if the stock keycaps are tight or not.

For blue fonts on white keycaps, seems like imsto thick dye sub are your only choice.
Sorry guys, wasn't active these few days, mood spoiled because my friend was involved in the Genting bus accident sad.gif

Anyway, I will try to answer as much questions as I can biggrin.gif

The parcel took about two weeks to reach Australia, total damage is about 122 USD after including the 10% service charge. Postage fee to Australia is killing me though, I bet you can easily get a RM20 postal fees if you have it send it to Malaysia.

What kind of disassembly you looking for? A full torn down? tongue.gif This is my first mkb so I am not even sure if I am qualify for that, unless you sifus give me some proper guide for that laugh.gif

As for the flaws, there is one thing I notice, the spacebar does get squeaky if I tap them fast enough, I have a pretty fast typing speed, so it gets pretty noticeable when I tap them quick enough. The other thing is the font of keys. To be honest, they looks ugly, I think they look like alphabets written in chinese font, no kidding. I will take more photo when I got the time. That's why I am looking for a new keycaps sets biggrin.gif

I thought there is a response time issue when I first got it because I used the wireless mode right away. Keys took longer to register than normal wireless keyboard, disappointed me a little. Thankfully they are quickly resolve by plugging them into the PC first and install the proper drivers.

POM keycaps feels great, it has a matte texture that feels good to touch. However, I never use a ABS or PBT to tell you the difference, sorry.

So....any good keycaps set to recommend? rclxms.gif
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 10:32 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 23 2013, 10:14 AM)
Involved? shocking.gif

Feel sorry for that.

Back on topic. So you shipped the board all the way directly to Aus? Using what services? Cause krymian is also interested in such services.

Seems like china boards' most noticeable flaws are their stabiliser... Try so lube or apply some grease to the stabiliser first and see if it helps.

Regarding their keycaps, I think their targeted audiences are gamers. Another china gaming boards by them also using same fonts.

So the wireless input delay is significant? Cause mine having a very slightest delay that are barely noticeable when normally using, but somehow bordering a little during fast faced FPS (I have OCD on that...)

If full disassembly is too complicated, then how about some detailed photo session of the parts like switches, plates, stabilizers and so on. Also if possible, the weigh of it.
Thanks, yea he died sad.gif

I was using TaobaoFocus, decent automated service, but pretty expensive. I will try to apply so grease later.

I just can't take the font, they have inconsistent shapes and case, i.e. "B" key was wrote in lowercase b while most of them are written in uppercase rclxub.gif I saw the Raindrops set from geekhack and love them in first sight, too bad the groupbuy has ended and there is no way of getting them now sad.gif Did anyone of us here manage to get that Raindrop set?

The wireless mode got better once I install the keyboard driver by plugging it into the PC, not very noticeable now, but you might feel a difference if you type really fast ( I have an average WPM of 120 so sometimes I do notice the slight delay tongue.gif )

Yea I will capture some photos once I got home. biggrin.gif
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 10:40 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(joonwei23 @ Aug 23 2013, 10:36 AM)
^ I managed to get a set tongue.gif
ohmy.gif ohmy.gif Sell me! *jelly*
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 10:43 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Aug 23 2013, 10:41 AM)
Incase you are not aware, there are still some raindrop set selling at TB now.
Sorry if I sound stupid, but TB is an acronym of?

Thanks for informing smile.gif

EDIT: Ah, stupid me, it's Taobao right? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Xaphier: Aug 23 2013, 10:47 AM
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 12:26 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 23 2013, 10:49 AM)
He kaki gb one. laugh.gif

Btw, regarding the capital mix non-capital fonts design, it is "inspired by lajer"... doh.gif

Btw, what are your comment regarding the kbc ds pbt I posted in previous pages?

This one? It's not too bad, but if I were to choose, I would prefer the Raindrop font, and the Raindrop white on blue key is gorgeous. But I will keep this in my list too smile.gif

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Aug 23 2013, 10:49 AM)
Thats Taobao.

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....&id=26724732167

it was stated there no unique raindrop keycaps included and  additional RMB45 for 1.75shift+capslock.

I really like this but I hv nv tried DS keycaps, no sure how will that be once turned shinny sad.gif
Thanks for the link! I am confused by few of the chinese term though. What is 增补组合? The 白蓝87键 should be good enough for my 87 Morphling right?
Xaphier
post Aug 23 2013, 12:33 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 23 2013, 12:29 PM)
Ada link tak untuk topi kunci biru atas putih tu?
http://www.pcwaishe.cn/forum.php?mod=viewthread&tid=512087

Inilah link yang diposted abang Human10
Xaphier
post Aug 29 2013, 08:34 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 23 2013, 10:14 AM)
Involved? shocking.gif

Feel sorry for that.

Back on topic. So you shipped the board all the way directly to Aus? Using what services? Cause krymian is also interested in such services.

Seems like china boards' most noticeable flaws are their stabiliser... Try so lube or apply some grease to the stabiliser first and see if it helps.

Regarding their keycaps, I think their targeted audiences are gamers. Another china gaming boards by them also using same fonts.

So the wireless input delay is significant? Cause mine having a very slightest delay that are barely noticeable when normally using, but somehow bordering a little during fast faced FPS (I have OCD on that...)

If full disassembly is too complicated, then how about some detailed photo session of the parts like switches, plates, stabilizers and so on. Also if possible, the weigh of it.
Sorry once again for the late brief review/photo, was too busy with work tongue.gif

Here are some photo of the Morphling Plum 87

Direct Top View

Side View

Front View, along with some of the shortcut key etched under the keycaps. (sorry for the dusts)

Bottom View, uses two AAA batteries

The Brown switches, not as quiet as I was expecting.

Keycaps bottom

The little wireless dongle, no brand no text, nothing special.

So far this keyboard has been serving me well. Wireless mode works without any issue, no noticeable delay even when gaming. Solid build quality, beside the little squeaky sound the space bar made when tapped too fast. Might try rubbing some lube as you said. Still, I dislike the font of the keyboard, and am researching for some new white keycaps now smile.gif

Let me know if you need any more details/photos of this keyboard. biggrin.gif
Xaphier
post Aug 29 2013, 08:50 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(c2_lover @ Aug 29 2013, 08:48 PM)
how long does the battery last?
I have been using it for nearing a month, yet to change battery. I think it can easily lasts for months.
Xaphier
post Aug 29 2013, 08:58 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 29 2013, 08:55 PM)
What battery? Duracell?
Yea, they are Duracell, come along with the keyboard, not sure if they are fake one or not though since they come from China, LOL
Xaphier
post Aug 29 2013, 09:03 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Aug 29 2013, 09:00 PM)
Not all China made are fake. Tested few China doll chest before, not fake. And made in China... wink.gif  tongue.gif JK... BTW, how much is including shipping?
Keyboard itself is 122USD after including the 10% service charge. But shipping is killing me, costing near 40USD to ship to Australia. You can easily have it ship to Malaysia for RM20 I think.
Xaphier
post Aug 29 2013, 09:15 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Aug 29 2013, 09:05 PM)
That actually looks very nice, it's too bad I'm allergic to wireless.

How did you get it shipped to Australia?
As I mentioned few pages back, I used TaobaoFocus, quite expensive, but the service is pretty decent.
Xaphier
post Aug 30 2013, 07:53 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(kyrmian @ Aug 29 2013, 09:45 PM)
a lot. probably selling everything. but stop posting here liao. OT.
anyway, the morphling looks good, but i really despise playing with anything wireless installed, or something
Got wired, I will show you the photo of the wire when I get home. Although I know you will give yaomingdisgusted.jpg face when you see wireless. laugh.gif

QUOTE(Human10 @ Aug 29 2013, 10:56 PM)
Really thank you for spend your time for this.

Any plan to do backlit mod on it in future?

Btw, another words of warning, don't plug and unplug the wireless dongle too often as the "gold" plating can get worn out or corroded easily for that.
Thanks once again for the recommendation bro! I might do a backlit mod, but not so soon, probably after I get a new set of keycaps. I am currently eyeing on this WASD set

Went to the website and check, so many layout, wondering which one is this hmm.gif (Modern, Classic, Dvorak, Colemak, Workman, US International)

Will keep your warning in mind.

QUOTE(ainuddin @ Aug 29 2013, 11:51 PM)
you is rich people. always buy...  tongue.gif
wah, nice. this morphling no backlit? will suit me well in my living room when using the main tv with pc.  hmm.gif
There is a backlit version, but there are around 100RMB pricier, and Human01 said it is using a inferior ABS keycaps compare to the POM keycaps in the non-backlit version. Also, do note that the backlit only functions when the keyboard is connected with wired. :/
Xaphier
post Aug 30 2013, 11:42 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(noobandroid @ Aug 30 2013, 08:25 AM)
we use either modern or US international
I see, so I guess the photo I posted from Geekhack is Modern layout? Thanks!
Xaphier
post Sep 1 2013, 11:46 AM

495 posts

Hi guys, I want to replicate this keycap set from the product selection at WASD online store.

What are the options I should choose? The owner of this keycap said it's a classic, yet I see it looks like a modern layout (from WASD layout guideline). Strange.

Anybody help? Thanks.

Xaphier
post Sep 1 2013, 01:54 PM

495 posts

QUOTE(BlizzardCraft @ Sep 1 2013, 12:36 PM)
what kb is that? ONI KBT?
I believe it's a Filco.

QUOTE(Human10 @ Sep 1 2013, 01:14 PM)
Imsto thick dye sub pbt?
But the owner said it's from WASD, so I am wondering how do I replicate it :/
Xaphier
post Sep 5 2013, 09:10 AM

495 posts

Hey Human10, where can I get the IMSTO thick dye sub PBT again? Is there any website for it? Or I have to get them from Taobao again?

Thanks man.

0.0365sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:35 AM