Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

lightning69
post Oct 8 2013, 03:21 PM

2,298 posts

My new full size folding MTB. Got all my parts 2 weeks ago and finally manage to get the pro in the shop to assemble it.

Nothing fancy. blush.gif

[img]https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/1275549_10200644400699063_1123624883_o.jpg/img]

My Montague specs:

Swissbike X70 frame by Montague
Truvativ Stylo T20 handle Stem Seatpost
Shimano M395 Hydraulic Disc Brake
Shimano M430 Alivio Groupset
Suntour Epicon fork with remote lock/release
Mavic Crossride Disc(downhill version) with Kenda K1010 folding type tyres
Rubar Saddle
Wellgo Pedal

I bought the frame from a very nice gentleman in bycyclebuysell forum. Here is his post for the Montague frame he is selling. SkabtSkabt

His montague frame is confirm original. He is also selling Montague Boston frame which don't have fake in the market yet. Absolutely no reason to believe its fake. The price is as stated on his post but due to currency RM dropping like bird shit, it might increase in future.

I got all the parts from him from China except the crossride disc wheel I bought from byciclebuysell too.

Total I spend on my bike is about RM3500. Clould have been less but the shop charges RM80 for assemble fee plus smoe Rm210 for some small parts and that I miss out.

If I buy the parts in M'sia probably would cost me more than RM5000

This post has been edited by lightning69: Oct 8 2013, 04:22 PM
lightning69
post Oct 8 2013, 03:38 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Oct 8 2013, 03:32 PM)
very nice bro!  rclxms.gif
3.5k is a good price  biggrin.gif

total weight? got timbang?
Not yet weight. Would like to know it too. But with low end gear like Shimano M430 Alivio groupset, i think it will not shatter any record LOL
lightning69
post Oct 9 2013, 02:23 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Oct 9 2013, 01:44 PM)
Hey i'm owning the China Hummer.. Envy of your Montague for sure.. Will definitely upgrade to this sometime in the future! The frame he is selling is super cheap i must say!  thumbup.gif
I did consider buying a china Hummer too. But eventually saw the ori montague frame at such a great price. No regret at all. Beautiful frame.
lightning69
post Oct 13 2013, 10:26 AM

2,298 posts

I bought all my bike parts from Taobao. However i bought thru a seller Skabt from bicyclebuysell forum. Bought my Montague frame from him too. He got a cycling friend in china that help to check on the parts before sending to Malaysia.
lightning69
post Dec 1 2013, 12:27 PM

2,298 posts

bought this folding bike from china taobao. Brought it back myself via Airasia whileon vacation there with my family. Very nice and solid bike. Much better than the Raleigh UGO i use to own. UGO is very fragile with squeaking sound but this is very solid. Its full alloy frame and wheels too. Paid slightly less than RM500 for the bike but got tax RM50 by custom in KK and stupid Airasia require me to pay HK$300 for seperate cargo as bicycle is considered sports equipment.

lightning69
post Dec 1 2013, 02:49 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Dec 1 2013, 12:47 PM)
kalak Q6..  rclxms.gif

here the price round RM1099 - 950...

10% tax frm kastam ? ...

how's your montague...??
The kastam is ridiculous. They were asking about what size is my bike. I say 20" and he say below 25" got 30% tax. Bigger bike no tax! WTF

The Kalaq is for my wife.

My Montague is great. Been riding with the Miri Mountain bike group twice already and really enjoying it. Will be riding again at 3:30pm later.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Dec 1 2013, 02:52 PM
lightning69
post Dec 2 2013, 03:55 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 2 2013, 02:37 AM)
hmm what if you told him it was a bike you took out from KL, to cycle at your vacation location and now u bringing it back?
Yah, you can actually do that and get away with it but my bike was brand new. I actually don't mind paying Rm50 for the tax. What really piss me off is Airasia in HK. I bought 75 kg luggage knowing I am carrying my bike back. But during luggage drop, they say bicycle is sports equipment and need to buy separate sports equipment luggage for HK$300 for 20kg!!! I say already have 75 kg luggage but they say those are for normal luggage.

Just be careful if you carry bicycle when using airasia as you need to buy separate luggage for it.
lightning69
post Dec 5 2013, 11:25 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Dec 3 2013, 03:37 PM)
What pump?

Your tires are designed to keep air pressure in. What happened when the pressure go down? Just pump in! But then, which pump? RM30, RM50 or RM10?

So i went to search for one. Read it here that it is not advisable to pump at the petrol station right? (my house is just next to Petronas)

So then i bought one. RM25. Its a handy pump. Made in China. And when i reached home, it just can't pump! Up till the pump is hot, the air is just refused to pump in.. Haih.. I think I rugi RM25 already.. The other day i went into another bicycle shop and bought a bigger (but still small) pump made in China (again) but this time is costs me just RM10. The OK ones are more expensive, starts from RM30+, but i guess i wanna try luck with the cheap one first. If this one still failed me, I'll buy the more expensive pump.. And when i reached home, its history. It just works! My RM10 pump works! Took me not more than 5 minutes to pump both tyres!  flex.gif

So moral of the story is that, no matter how much is the cost of one item, its the end result that counts..

Now i can start to cycle again, no excuse for low air pressure.. but it is a rainy season now, hope there is no rain tonight!

My 26" x 1.75 ideally may need 60PSI (rear) and 45PSI (front) but i just pump in by agak2.. hahaha (i dont have air pressure gauge)  tongue.gif
I bought this pump from taobao for about RM25. Works awesome and easy to pump. Can pump both types of connection.

giyo pump
lightning69
post Dec 6 2013, 03:53 PM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Dec 6 2013, 12:38 PM)
I bump into this pump during my 1st visit to hunt for pump, but since it is too small i doubt the pump.. if only i knew it will pump, i definitely buy this.. and the guy quoted me RM30 for this pump..
Hahaha...don't judge a book by its cover. I went cycling with my friend yesterday and my friend checked my tyres and say not enough air. I say no problem and took out the small Giyo pump and he say its gonna take forever to pump with it. I told him no lah...very easy to pump. In less than a minute I got the pressure of my tyres up. flex.gif

0.0416sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:29 AM