QUOTE(etigge @ Oct 30 2013, 12:05 AM)
All mountain bike shifters are compatible with Shimano Rear derailleurs. Although the indexing of the road bikes and mountain bikes are different, somehow or rather, they do work. Eg. my wife's Boardwalk is using the Shimano 8 speed trigger shifter and Sora RD and Shimano 2300 FD. They work! I never really tried using the other way round though. Using road bike shifters with mountain bike RDs, this I am not sure.
MY ADVICE ! To all who are using adapters for RDs, do get a spare one. I knocked on my wife's Boardwalk a while ago and the bike fell over and the adapter broke!
sorry etigge, i will rape a bit of your posting in sharing my experience & opinion. hehehe ...To make situation simplfied, i will only elaborate on SHIMANO SETUP, let alone SRAM - they dont get along well with shimanos as we all know.
All Road Deraileurs works with MTB shifters - vice versa. Be it 7 speed, 8 speed, 9 speed. Until the latter Shimano introduced "Dyna Sys" system in some 9 speed MTB groupset. You will find the "Dyna Sys" chap or logo in the packaging and only in MTB components. The Deore, XT, XTR are the ones to watch out.
Dyna Sys components WILL NOT WORK with ROAD COMPONENTS. As i mentioned, Shimano introduced Dyna Sys in the newer 9 speed systems, so all 10 speed component are DYNA SYSed. So the tricky part is if you were to match up a 10 speed bike setup.
How does Dyna Sys work and why?
Dyna Sys system are designed with closer gear ratio, smoother shifting performance and improved power transfer. Closer gear ratio means smaller jumps between gear changes and less chance in chain dropping in rough conditions.
And for those who realize a shorter RD cable routing will affect your gear changes, and because of Dyna Sys short close ratio you can have the benefit of using shorter routing cables which long cable are dangerous in trails.
Dyna Sys uses 1:1 ratio (and no, they are not compatible with SRAM either, confuse & strange eh?!?) Meaning, it will jump 2 cogs or doesn't shift gears if you mix road & MTB (Dyna Sys) components.
Long to short:
A 10 speed road RD is not compatible with 10 speed (Dyna Sys) MTB shifter. - Chain will jump 2 cogs with 1 shift. And vice versa - it doesn't jump at all.
A 9 speed road RD will not work with a 10 speed (Dyna Sys) shifter too, but will work on a 10 speed road flat shifter. (Because of the pulling ratio)
This also applies to:
A 10 speed (Dyna Sys) MTB RD will not work on normal 9 speed shifters. But a 10 speed road RD will work with any normal 9 speed shifters
This is only RD side of story, there are other benefits for using Dyna Sys in FD too. Since RD setup is more crucial, i leave the FD alone lah..... hehehe.
Sekian terima kasih .

:D