Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

mbax
post Nov 29 2013, 02:21 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(H2D @ Nov 28 2013, 04:08 PM)
tyres for 20 inch wheels....

for those looking for cheaper n not skinny tyres to trash...
apart from big apple n DTH which cost RM 160 a pair.....

majisee holly roller 1.95 .. got frm taobao..
less than RM 40 each... nos - new old stock...

[attachmentid=3744186] [attachmentid=3744189] [attachmentid=3744191]
found this Haro rap 2.0 100psi tyre for BMX in pg..
this is nos also but much older, compound still soft  biggrin.gif
bout RM 33 each...

[attachmentid=3744194]

kenda kracpot 1.95 for bmx. nos frm taobao.. rm 30 smthing each...
[attachmentid=3744192] [attachmentid=3744193]
FKR aldo have, 20+ only.... whistling.gif

By the way just purchase this for road ride.
edit: cannot upload, something wrong with the picture.

This post has been edited by mbax: Nov 29 2013, 03:05 PM
mbax
post Nov 29 2013, 03:11 PM

66 posts

For me fkr is decent if u compare to the stock tyre fitted to the motorcycle these day.

Try upload again see will black or not.- still black vmad.gif vmad.gif .....

it was cateye hl-el135 headlight got it for rm49. third light for my bike.. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by mbax: Nov 29 2013, 03:14 PM
mbax
post Nov 29 2013, 04:18 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ahsam1212 @ Nov 29 2013, 03:08 PM)
Where to get fkr for 20+?  sounds cheap n worth trying.
found it at ah pek shop in sg ara penang...

actually i was looking for this combo, but the shop only have the one with velo5...
mbax
post Nov 29 2013, 08:16 PM

66 posts

bought the front light alrd loo.. back now using cateye rapid 3.
mbax
post Dec 2 2013, 02:11 PM

66 posts

waah eigge, is the bike the same red bike that u bought months ago? now blue alrd...
mbax
post Dec 2 2013, 09:30 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 2 2013, 03:11 PM)
Buy that and you will regret!  sweat.gif  If you want to spend RM500 for a folding, I suggest you go for a second hand unit or if you still want a new one, at least go for the Oscar Imagine. At least there's a bike shop to service you later. Ace Hardware don't service bikes. sweat.gif
add another 350 can get ugo alrd...

QUOTE(lightning69 @ Dec 2 2013, 03:55 PM)
Yah, you can actually do that and get away with it but my bike was brand new.  I actually don't mind paying Rm50 for the tax.  What really piss me off is Airasia in HK.  I bought 75 kg luggage knowing I am carrying my bike back.  But during luggage drop, they say bicycle is sports equipment and need to buy separate sports equipment luggage for HK$300 for 20kg!!!  I say already have 75 kg luggage but they say those are for normal luggage. 

Just be careful if you carry bicycle when using airasia as you need to buy separate luggage for it.
same like golfing and fishing equipment i think, all kena AA chop...
mbax
post Dec 3 2013, 08:22 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(angelgemini @ Dec 3 2013, 12:33 PM)
arr, i still can't make up my mind to buy which foldie.
Please give some recommendation.
which is the best for value?
below 3k is the best.
buy etigge bike looo..

QUOTE(croomaniac @ Dec 3 2013, 03:37 PM)
What pump?

Your tires are designed to keep air pressure in. What happened when the pressure go down? Just pump in! But then, which pump? RM30, RM50 or RM10?

So i went to search for one. Read it here that it is not advisable to pump at the petrol station right? (my house is just next to Petronas)

So then i bought one. RM25. Its a handy pump. Made in China. And when i reached home, it just can't pump! Up till the pump is hot, the air is just refused to pump in.. Haih.. I think I rugi RM25 already.. The other day i went into another bicycle shop and bought a bigger (but still small) pump made in China (again) but this time is costs me just RM10. The OK ones are more expensive, starts from RM30+, but i guess i wanna try luck with the cheap one first. If this one still failed me, I'll buy the more expensive pump.. And when i reached home, its history. It just works! My RM10 pump works! Took me not more than 5 minutes to pump both tyres!  flex.gif

So moral of the story is that, no matter how much is the cost of one item, its the end result that counts..

Now i can start to cycle again, no excuse for low air pressure.. but it is a rainy season now, hope there is no rain tonight!

My 26" x 1.75 ideally may need 60PSI (rear) and 45PSI (front) but i just pump in by agak2.. hahaha (i dont have air pressure gauge)  tongue.gif
i have the small one as backup, it is really hard to pump with it so keep ip for emergency only (attached to the bike).. i use the big one all the time..
mbax
post Dec 4 2013, 03:20 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ecneret @ Dec 3 2013, 11:27 PM)
Didn't notice the bolt was actually not centered  sweat.gif 
btw, even after twisted it nearest to magnet, it improved slightly... around 10% now
[attachmentid=3752108]

After few trial-n-error, noticed when the handle post is upright (as attached), bolt & magnet manage to snap closely around 95%.... but once handle post is folded, it's again far apart  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
still trying to figure out what exactly the prob is...  hmm.gif
try adjust the handle when it is fold down, my wife eco c7 also have the same problem sometimes cannot snap, due to handle bloack the way..
mbax
post Dec 9 2013, 02:46 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ecneret @ Dec 6 2013, 11:23 PM)
yeehaaa !! finally manage to snap magnet & bolt about 90% (vs initially only 5%) biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=3757079]

few fixes done:
a) prob spot: when the handle bar is aligned (parallel) with riders shoulder, the wheel is little bit senget, means bar vs wheel is not in sharp 90 degree. fixed with re-alignment of handle bar.
b) there's an optimum position for handle post while in fold mode. (digging some official photo from tern website + d/l the user manuals helps to find the optimum position)
c) as mbax suggested [ try adjust the handle when it is fold down ]
Thanks mbax ! it helps.
in fact, the bike is nice
in this case, user in-experiences (my 1st foldie  tongue.gif ) has to take some blame
also the shop that doesn't able to advise me the optimum position during fold mode + handle bar is not fully aligned when setting up the bikes
shop even trying to justify the magnet issue "it's like that one... normally it's only about 10% snap, nothing much can be done....bla bla..."
u r welcome bro.. now enjoy your ride. thumbup.gif

long time never surf bbs.. then saw this rims from KHS bike.. hmmmmmm broke the bank or just ignore it hmm.gif ...

This post has been edited by mbax: Dec 9 2013, 08:21 PM
mbax
post Dec 10 2013, 03:32 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Dec 8 2013, 05:40 PM)
Ok thx. But I lost the cap, normal bicycle shop got sell the cap?
this might help.

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 9 2013, 11:22 PM)
If I am not mistaken, the front wheelset is 100mm and not 76mm as used by many foldies. It can be used but you have to pull wide the front fork which is not really advisible as many will not get symmetrical widening. As for the rear wheelset, it can be used in all foldies. Advantage of this wheelset is, you can use any mountain bike hubs which are easily available and 32 holes.
yup interested in the rear wheel only front cannot fit and will not take the risk..
mbax
post Dec 13 2013, 08:48 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(ecneret @ Dec 11 2013, 10:50 PM)
any idea where can I get the Biologic rack ?

[attachmentid=3764666]

a bike shop told me it's not sell separately...  hmm.gif
why buy rack? get whole set lah..see bbs tern drool.gif
mbax
post Dec 14 2013, 12:04 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(earl-ku @ Dec 14 2013, 04:29 AM)
he has the bike already and you are asking him to get another bike? LOL
2 bikes aint enough tongue.gif

By the way justnow saw some guy with this at esplanade.

This post has been edited by mbax: Dec 14 2013, 12:19 PM
mbax
post Dec 14 2013, 09:38 PM

66 posts

Yup upgrade leg first then bike.
mbax
post Dec 14 2013, 10:13 PM

66 posts

Some picture of today ride from sg ara - jelutong - heritage zone - eplanade - clan jetty - bicycle lane then back to sg ara. 3 hrs ride from 7am and reach home at 10am, total of 40km.....result was pain in d butt.... blush.gif

Then saw 2 of this...

Penang bridge in morning..

This post has been edited by mbax: Dec 14 2013, 10:17 PM
mbax
post Dec 16 2013, 01:40 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(Klpegaso @ Dec 15 2013, 08:43 PM)
Mbax

Nice pictures.......

QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 16 2013, 12:06 AM)
Will keep on upgrading the legs though.I heard about Megarange cassette for 7speed.Is this thing helpful?
It will be 14-34 lost a bit on the smaller cog.. i have the 7 speed one but until now havent install on d eco7.
mbax
post Dec 18 2013, 03:26 PM

66 posts

i lke v-brake, but the oyama come with calipers... it will be good if can mod it to v-brake and change to bigger tyre.
mbax
post Dec 19 2013, 02:11 PM

66 posts

it should be at the part where the wire come in..

i.e. the chrome part in below picture.
mbax
post Dec 20 2013, 05:58 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(vincentwmh @ Dec 20 2013, 05:40 PM)
thanks etigge,

me in johor bahru. u are right, i think i will 1st try out those apek conventional bicycle shop. TCSS around to get more guidance. yes, i noticed also the front & rear brake are different. the front type i have seen it, same like like my school time bike, but the rear ones look odd to me. its something like a hub, fixed at the opposite side of the gears of the rim.

sorry, me 2/10 bike noob. my last bike was my form 5 school bike rclxub.gif
ur rear is using band brake right? apek shop will be able to help.

mbax
post Dec 23 2013, 02:13 PM

66 posts

vmad.gif vmad.gif almost have an accident today one F**ktard driver just came out of the junction without stopping while i on the straight road.. luckily didn't go fast, just few inch from scratch with the driver side..
mbax
post Dec 29 2013, 12:52 AM

66 posts

Saturday morning ride...
Reach Beach Street early in d morning, less ppl better come early.
Pit stop near Penang bridge.. too hungry to go on.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0254sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:14 AM