144 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Bottom

Folding Bicycles v2, Dahon, Tern, Java, Oribike, Bromptons

melvintkw
post Dec 21 2013, 01:45 PM

100 posts

My advice,Don't go USJ CYCLES for folding bike upgrades.All they can say is,"Folding bike can't upgrade one.If want upgrade better buy from us better."
And they thought they r the pros & gives u the lansi/corky look.
etigge
post Dec 21 2013, 02:40 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 21 2013, 01:45 PM)
My advice,Don't go USJ CYCLES for folding bike upgrades.All they can say is,"Folding bike can't upgrade one.If want upgrade better buy from us better."

When I started with my first foldie, an Eco C7, I found an 8 speed rear cogs and wanted to upgrade to 8 speed. Together with an appropriate shifter, I went to a bike shop in Bdr Mahkota Cheras to get it changed. Although I know how to do it, I didn't have the tools at that time so I rather pay to get it done. First thing that 'sei ngan chai" says when I told him, he said, it can't be done as the frame can't take more than 7 speed. So, I just ask him to take off the rim and change the cogs only. After much hassle he did it but the hubs were long on one side and shorter on the other. He can't take out the cogs again! rclxub.gif I have to buy my own set of tools and later the Eco C7 was modded to 27 speed! modded by myself. Most bike shops can't be trusted or rather they only want to untung the easy way. Anything that's not worthy, they become choosy but most don't have the skills actually.
KrankZ
post Dec 21 2013, 02:58 PM

178 posts

QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 21 2013, 02:45 PM)
i agree, plus they didn't even know how to tune the bike properly.
melvintkw
post Dec 21 2013, 06:08 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 21 2013, 02:40 PM)

When I started with my first foldie, an Eco C7, I found an 8 speed rear cogs and wanted to upgrade to 8 speed. Together with an appropriate shifter, I went to a bike shop in Bdr Mahkota Cheras to get it changed. Although I know how to do it, I didn't have the tools at that time so I rather pay to get it done. First thing that 'sei ngan chai" says when I told him, he said, it can't be done as the frame can't take more than 7 speed.  So, I just ask him to take off the rim and change the cogs only. After much hassle he did it but the hubs were long on one side and shorter on the other. He can't take out the cogs again!  rclxub.gif  I have to buy my own set of tools and later the Eco C7 was modded to 27 speed! modded by myself. Most bike shops can't be trusted or rather they only want to untung the easy way. Anything that's not worthy, they become choosy but most don't have the skills actually.
DIY is still da best.Am a XC & DH mountain biker myself 16yrs ago.Use to have all kind of tools and mostly is DIY.
After retiring for almost 10yrs,all my tools is given to friends who is still cycling.After this 10yrs I find that a lot hv changed.Now slowly hv to pickup the brands,tools,gadgets & bikes in the market.LOL cry.gif
Now cycling a 20" folding with 9speed is so unusual to me. flex.gif

Am thinking of going DH with this foldie...lol icon_idea.gif
melvintkw
post Dec 21 2013, 06:19 PM

100 posts

Me & my wife's budget foldie to start back cycling.

Last night cycling with my kids at Desa Park City

My bike after modded to Deore 9speed.

SRAM Attack 9speed grip shifter

Can share you guys foldie & what u have or modded? Just to share share for a better ride. thumbup.gif

Am going to FRIM for cycling tomorrow morning with my family.

This post has been edited by melvintkw: Dec 21 2013, 06:23 PM
melvintkw
post Dec 21 2013, 06:21 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(KrankZ @ Dec 21 2013, 02:58 PM)
i agree, plus they didn't even know how to tune the bike properly.
Some shops owners is pickie & mostly is depending on how much they can profit & job difficulties.
etigge
post Dec 21 2013, 07:50 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 21 2013, 06:08 PM)
DIY is still da best.Am a XC & DH mountain biker myself 16yrs ago.Use to have all kind of tools and mostly is DIY.
After retiring for almost 10yrs,all my tools is given to friends who is still cycling.After this 10yrs I find that a lot hv changed.Now slowly hv to pickup the brands,tools,gadgets & bikes in the market.LOL  cry.gif
Now cycling a 20" folding with 9speed is so unusual to me. flex.gif 

Am thinking of going DH with this foldie...lol  icon_idea.gif
You and me, same case. Not including the experience of spray painting bikes when I was schooling (dismantling and assembling back again) I was also a mountain biker in the Y2Ks era. That was disc brake just started emerging and those days they use the lethal DOT brake fluid which leaked onto the paintwork becomes like a paint remover! rclxub.gif Even from those MTB days, I buy just frames and assembled components that I liked. Those days components like Shimano XTs and XTRs, Mavic rims, DT Swiss made spokes only and now they makes rims too. Maguras etc etc were affordable. These stuffs are so expensive nowadays. Even brands like Kore and Ritchey were considered 'capalang' tongue.gif Seems they have grown into the good brands category.

Now I tinker in folding bikes, I can't get frames alone. And now I have loads of 7 and 8 speed cogs, shifters, original V-brakes etc. Except for the bottom bracket nothing much has changed about the bikes. Those days there's only square taper now we have Octal Link, ISIS, hollowtech, press fit which all uses different tools. Part from that, the bike is still the same.
melvintkw
post Dec 21 2013, 11:27 PM

100 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 21 2013, 07:50 PM)
You and me, same case. Not including the experience of spray painting bikes when I was schooling (dismantling and assembling back again) I was also a mountain biker in the Y2Ks era. That was disc brake just started emerging and those days they use the lethal DOT brake fluid which leaked onto the paintwork becomes like a paint remover! rclxub.gif Even from those MTB days, I buy just frames and assembled components that I liked. Those days components like Shimano XTs and XTRs, Mavic rims, DT Swiss made spokes only and now they makes rims too. Maguras etc etc were affordable. These stuffs are so expensive nowadays. Even brands like Kore and Ritchey were considered 'capalang'  tongue.gif  Seems they have grown into the good brands category.

Now I tinker in folding bikes, I can't get frames alone. And now I have loads of 7 and 8 speed cogs, shifters, original V-brakes etc. Except for the bottom bracket nothing much has changed about the bikes. Those days there's only square taper now we have Octal Link, ISIS, hollowtech, press fit which all uses different tools. Part from that, the bike is still the same.
Looking at the brands & tech used this days is so pening. LOL rclxub.gif

Bro,mind to share your foldie bike

This post has been edited by melvintkw: Dec 21 2013, 11:27 PM
danielcmugen
post Dec 21 2013, 11:50 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(melvintkw @ Dec 21 2013, 06:19 PM)
Can share you guys foldie & what u have or modded? Just to share share for a better ride. thumbup.gif

Am going to FRIM for cycling tomorrow morning with my family.
My foldie is very old, still using 6-speed gear laugh.gif . I dun bother to mod it as I'm satisfied with how it performs.
ipodunlimited
post Dec 23 2013, 07:45 AM

17 posts

Hi fellow riders,
Anyone currently using FnHon or Rhine frame? Would like too seek opinions from existing users or sifus who has modified one. Ideally I would like a Tern or Dahon frameset too but after after looking around, really not many choices except the 2 above which seems to be quite popular in china/thailand.
How are the quality of the FnHon/Rhine frame and durability of the folding mechanism compared to entry level brands from china such as Trinx,XDS,GTA...? On par or worse? Appreciate any feedbacks. Cheers

This post has been edited by ipodunlimited: Dec 23 2013, 02:59 PM
etigge
post Dec 23 2013, 10:21 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(ipodunlimited @ Dec 23 2013, 07:45 AM)
Hi fellow riders,
Anyone currently using FnHon or Rhine frame? Would like too seek opinions from existing users or sifus who has modified one. Ideally I would like a Tern or Dahon frameset too but after after looking around, really not many choices except the 2 above which seems to be quite popular in china/thailand.
How are the quality of the frame and durability of the folding mechanism compared to entry level brands from china such as Trinx,XDS,GTA...? On par or worse? Appreciate any feedbacks. Cheers
My guess is you are buying from Taobao. The FnHon is actually a parrallel product of the Dahon. Probably for the CDM (chinese domestic market) so I think the quality should be OK. News is they skipped 2 process, 01. is the baking process where the frames are heated up after welding to strengthen the weld and 02. the QC process. You can actually find a Dahon frame and the price to FnHon is sililar in fact from Taobao. I was actually aiming for the Dahon Cheetah frame but the RM400 volumetric charges for transport makes it not worth while. If you really want to order maybe we can combine on the transport and share the charges??

Most definitely the joints of the cheaper bikes mentioned will not be on par with the patented ones from Dahons and Terns. If you are a less frequent rider and rides mostly on tarmacs, it should be OK but once you use it more heavily or folds it too often, the inferior ones starts to creaks which obviously means the fitting are not perfect.
etigge
post Dec 23 2013, 10:28 AM

295 posts

Another Tern Link P9 came for upgrading! It is now the Tern Link P20. thumbup.gif

The rear RD is upgraded to Shimano 105 with the original Tern RD adpater which is sourced from SG.

This rider opted for the 56T and 42T chainrings. The crank is the original pair.

This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 23 2013, 10:31 AM
mbax
post Dec 23 2013, 02:13 PM

66 posts

vmad.gif vmad.gif almost have an accident today one F**ktard driver just came out of the junction without stopping while i on the straight road.. luckily didn't go fast, just few inch from scratch with the driver side..
X-LaW
post Dec 24 2013, 10:33 AM

142 posts

My dahon MU frame having some sound on the joint part recently..

i tried to lock tight using the Allen key.. the sound less obvious.. but cant open up..

Any idea guy?
etigge
post Dec 24 2013, 11:15 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(X-LaW @ Dec 24 2013, 10:33 AM)
My dahon MU frame having some sound on the joint part recently..

i tried to lock tight using the Allen key.. the sound less obvious.. but cant open up..

Any idea guy?
How old is the bike, better send the bike back to Rodalink. It's under warranty. Of the 3 types of joints used by Dahon, the type MU or Vector or Vigor uses is the strongest. Shouldn't be any sound, sound means there's space. Are you sure the sound is from the joint? When you say 'allen key', you must be adjusting the nut on the outside clasp. To get tighter clamp, you have to adjust the hexagonal nut inside the joint. It's the minute distance that needs adjustment. Very minor adjustment only, too much you won't be able to clamp! shakehead.gif

NOT THIS ! nod.gif

X-LaW
post Dec 24 2013, 04:13 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Dec 24 2013, 11:15 AM)
How old is the bike, better send the bike back to Rodalink. It's under warranty. Of the 3 types of joints used by Dahon, the type MU or Vector or Vigor uses is the strongest. Shouldn't be any sound, sound means there's space. Are you sure the sound is from the joint? When you say 'allen key', you must be adjusting the nut on the outside clasp. To get tighter clamp, you have to adjust the hexagonal nut inside the joint. It's the minute distance that needs adjustment. Very minor adjustment only, too much you won't be able to clamp!  shakehead.gif

NOT THIS ! nod.gif

ooo.. salah..

will try again at night.. i tot small problem, lazy to bring back to rodalink.. can just screw.

if still sound.. i think i bring back to rodalink.

kcwo
post Dec 25 2013, 09:41 PM

93 posts

These few days I brought my bike back to hometown, Kampar. Really enjoy riding at hometown. I also tried to follow those footstep from Kampar to Malim Nawar. The road not yet complete but really enjoy. My KHS 8 speed is good enough already for those terrain.

This post has been edited by kcwo: Dec 25 2013, 10:20 PM
BoyGamer
post Dec 26 2013, 10:06 AM

After read for so many forum ... end up with dahon vigor (thks to etigge post) ... time to ride and pick up the balancing (didn't ride for 10yr++)

danielnet1728
post Dec 26 2013, 02:34 PM

Just joined the Folding Bike community yesterday! Got my Dahon Boardwalk D8. hehehehe... thanks to ettige's recommendation. biggrin.gif
cwkhang
post Dec 26 2013, 04:50 PM

76 posts

Hello all, where do you guys normally ride? I usually bring my Tern Link C7 to Taman Metropolitan, Kepong or best known as Taman Layang Layang MRR2.

This post has been edited by cwkhang: Dec 26 2013, 04:50 PM

144 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0341sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:57 AM