free security software for pc

leoyew
post Dec 7 2013, 12:37 PM

Don't suffer your limited life ; Enjoy every moment!
2,021 posts

Suggest Avira
Angel of Deth
post Dec 31 2013, 12:29 PM

1,242 posts

Just want to clarify Malwarebytes Anti-Malware and SuperAntiSpyware even the PRO or Paid version only served as complementary to existing security suite. This is something their developers publicly admitted on their respective forum years ago even though they never made it clear on the product page. That's why I never contemplating of spending money on MBAM and only restrict it as second opinion scanner even though it is affordable and comes with lifetime license.
Angel of Deth
post Dec 31 2013, 12:47 PM

1,242 posts

Another tool developed by Microsoft to complement your AV and added another layer of protection that probably not many people heard before:

EMET: A valuable tool for PC protection

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, then you’ve probably already taken steps to help protect your PC. You have antivirus software that you trust and you keep it updated automatically. You’ve activated your firewall. You regularly install security updates. You know not to respond to suspicious emails or to click links with promises that seem too good to be true.

Today we’d like to tell you about an advanced tool that complements your existing defenses, making it even more difficult for malicious hackers and cybercriminals to get into your computer. If you feel comfortable performing more advanced computer tasks, consider downloading the free Enhanced Mitigation Experience Toolkit (EMET).

EMET is a free tool available for Windows 8, Windows 7, Windows Vista, and Windows XP. EMET works by taking advantage of security technologies that already exist on your PC, but might not be used by all of your programs. EMET helps protect your computer from new or undiscovered threats until they can be addressed through formal security updates. Katie Couric, a journalist and a talk show host, recently hosted a segment called Protect Your Computers from Hackers and recommended that families install and use EMET.

Download EMET now

Once installed, EMET works quietly in the background without interrupting your computer use. Like any security tool, EMET doesn’t guarantee that you’ll never have any problems, but it does make it much harder for an attacker to succeed.

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/securitytipstalk/a...protection.aspx

blastmeister
post Mar 3 2014, 12:26 PM

105 posts

When free, don't expect the best. Standard virus scanning yes. Imagine, you need to use multiple software, at least 3 software to run behind your windows to protect from malware (Virus, trojan, worm, rootkoits, spyware, adware &etc). if you r serious about gaming or performance, go buy real software lar.

nowadays, good security software comes cheap for 1 year protection. eg RM80 per year, like less than RM7 per month...dai to lan lor..,

This post has been edited by blastmeister: Mar 17 2014, 08:16 PM
Value-Price
post May 13 2014, 09:06 AM

42 posts

My Kaspersky licence expired and I start using Qihoo 360 Internet Security with Spybot Search and Destroy. Very impressed with Qihoo to date. I use their 360 mobile safe as well. Give it a try before you purchase some proprietary internet security suite.
Angel of Deth
post May 13 2014, 01:44 PM

1,242 posts

Free Panda Cloud Antivirus PRO for 6 months. It's long enough to keep accompany you whilst searching for the 'perfect' security software.

0.0177sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:25 PM