Got charged RM3K at CB even though cancelled!, Celebrity Fitness charged suddenly

TSslickz
post Aug 13 2013, 11:47 AM, updated 13y ago

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

My friend was shocked to see her credit card got charged RM3000 for a one year membership when in fact she had told them to cancel 2 years back. There has been NO charge at all since 2 years and now suddenly it got charged RM3k. Something's really f***ed up here. Called maybank and they told her that she need to liaise with celebrity fitness. Called celebrity fitness and they told her that since got no black and white cannot cancel.

Is there a way out of this?

WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 13 2013, 11:48 AM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

go make noise
calvin_ng
post Aug 13 2013, 11:49 AM

TeamCity | HCC | Insighters
1,583 posts

Tell Maybank is FRAUD!!!

Dispute the transaction / tell MBB that you never sign up for the package /

This post has been edited by calvin_ng: Aug 13 2013, 11:50 AM
shakku
post Aug 13 2013, 11:57 AM

365 posts

Call Maybank telling them that you didn't authorize the payment.
If Celebrity Fitness insist, request for signature prove.
TSslickz
post Aug 13 2013, 12:01 PM

2,149 posts

ok got it.... it's weird that maybank said cannot do anything since they already swiped 2 years back....
WaCKy-Angel
post Aug 13 2013, 12:04 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 13 2013, 12:01 PM)
ok got it.... it's weird that maybank said cannot do anything since they already swiped 2 years back....
Ask ur fren to read the contract she signed 2 years ago.

Does it says auto-renewal ?

If not, then they do not have black and white to charge ur fren.
In that case, report to Maybank for fraud case and if they dont care, report to Bank Negara.
TSslickz
post Aug 13 2013, 12:12 PM

2,149 posts

I checked online and it seems that the proper way to do cancellation is that she needed to submit a cancellation request form and keep a copy for herself for proof. Probably there are cancellation fees as well.

It's really hard to argue for her case with no black and white. She shouldn't have done it verbally.

This post has been edited by slickz: Aug 13 2013, 12:13 PM
chiahau
post Aug 13 2013, 12:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

Either way, you should call up maybank and dispute the transaction 1st.

Cite your fren's CC usage, and how there was no charge for 2 years but suddenly got charge.

Cancellation, regardless it is done verbally or not, should be taken seriously. If you are not happy, can lodge a dispute in Tribunal to circumvent this issue.

Once you are done being angry to maybank, it's time to hire a good lawyer to be angry at CF for trying to be funny.
TSslickz
post Aug 13 2013, 08:08 PM

2,149 posts

She's really upset about this. Kinda feel sorry for her. What I can think of is that she need to dig back her receipt that says she charge monthly, then show the same credit card transaction as proof that they stopped charging and the sudden charge again.

I'm definitely not giving CF my business. I nearly considered them!
chiahau
post Aug 13 2013, 09:28 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 13 2013, 08:08 PM)
She's really upset about this. Kinda feel sorry  for her. What I can think of is that she need to dig back her receipt that says she charge monthly, then show the same credit card transaction as proof that they stopped charging and the sudden charge again.

I'm definitely not giving CF my business. I nearly considered them!
Ask her find a good lawyer. Definitely a winnable case.

In fact, if you dig tribunal cases, alot of people win against this kinda fraudulent charges with commercial gyms.

The 1st step is to always take control and don't let to deceive you to settle.

You are well within your rights to cancel, and they are definitely out of their power to charge you for a service you did not use for 2 years.

Stop talking to the management and talk to the bank and a lawyer. That would speed this process up seriously quick.

There are few cases where forumers here were charged and they manage to overturn the case, after a while.

Good luck.
max_cavalera
post Aug 14 2013, 12:59 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 13 2013, 01:56 PM)
Either way, you should call up maybank and dispute the transaction 1st.

Cite your fren's CC usage, and how there was no charge for 2 years but suddenly got charge.

Cancellation, regardless it is done verbally or not, should be taken seriously. If you are not happy, can lodge a dispute in Tribunal to circumvent this issue.

Once you are done being angry to maybank, it's time to hire a good lawyer to be angry at CF for trying to be funny.
hi...just to inform u...it is actually totally not maybank's fault...been a maybank customer service credit card and handle this complaint before...i get scolded by the customer for allowing this transaction to go through...but lemme tell you this...

credit card is a virtual payment system...you can either swipe the card physically to charge it, or even charge it without the card physical if you already have the customer credit card detail...and its usually only 2 or 3 details...that is the customer 16 digit card no and expiry date...that is all needed to charge the cust card...in some case the 3 digit cvv number at the back is required...

what im trying to say is this..bank cant do anything if in the 1st plac eif u as a customer provide to any merchant or celebrity fitness in paticular your credit card number, expiry date and cvv number for them to charge you anytime at will...when they key in the correct 2 or 3 of those details and as long as there is available limit the transaction will go through instantaneously...the only thing u can do is dispute this transaction with maybank branch or their customer service...and then lodge a police report...and next ring up their manager in celeb fitness in charge and intimdate them that you already lodge police report on this fraud and the police is investigating...

but lemme give you guys a simple trick..let say if u guys sign up for any of these dubious plan in the future...and after that you guys cancel...but your credit card number and all details is kept with the merchant company you dealing in the past...best prevention is simply ring up your bank customer service credit card officer....inform them that your credit card info has been comprimize to 3rd party and request cancelation of your current card and request new replacement be sent to you....when you report your card as being lost or 3rd party info comprimise...we the bank will issue you a new replacement card with a new 16 digit card number...so any past merchant that plans to fraud charge on your card wont be able to do so...
chiahau
post Aug 14 2013, 01:16 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 14 2013, 12:59 AM)
hi...just to inform u...it is actually totally not maybank's fault...been a maybank customer service credit card and handle this complaint before...i get scolded by the customer for allowing this transaction to go through...but lemme tell you this...

credit card is a virtual payment system...you can either swipe the card physically to charge it, or even charge it without the card physical if you already have the customer credit card detail...and its usually only 2 or 3 details...that is the customer 16 digit card no and expiry date...that is all needed to charge the cust card...in some case the 3 digit cvv number at the back is required...

what im trying to say is this..bank cant do anything if in the 1st plac eif  u as a customer provide to any merchant or celebrity fitness in paticular your credit card number, expiry date and cvv number for them to charge you anytime at will...when they key in the correct 2 or 3 of those details and as long as there is available limit the transaction will go through instantaneously...the only thing u can do is dispute this transaction with maybank branch or their customer service...and then lodge a police report...and next ring up their manager in celeb fitness in charge and intimdate them that you already lodge police report on this fraud and the police is investigating...

but lemme give you guys a simple trick..let say if u guys sign up for any of these dubious plan in the future...and after that you guys cancel...but your credit card number and all details is kept with the merchant company you dealing in the past...best prevention is simply ring up your bank customer service credit card officer....inform them that your credit card info has been comprimize to 3rd party and request cancelation of your current card and request new replacement be sent to you....when you report your card as being lost or 3rd party info comprimise...we the bank will issue you a new replacement card with a new 16 digit card number...so any past merchant that plans to fraud charge on your card wont be able to do so...
Anyways, I know it's not the bank's fault.

But the bank could do something in this case, which is to withheld the transfer of the amount charged until proper explanations is obtained.

It's simple.

An unknown charge that is incoming to my CC, which I did not approve => Fraudulent.

Yea, one could argue that as long as you have the card number, name, CVV and expiry date, you could charge.

But 3k is a large transaction. Maybank should notify the customer immediately as this is considered as an unusual transaction unless she's a heavy spender of 10k per month.

I'm using maybank cards long enough to tell you, I've received sms for every transaction I made physically or virtually. Therefore, it could be said that it's the bank fault as well for not informing the customer on a huge dubious charge incoming.

max_cavalera
post Aug 14 2013, 01:28 AM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 14 2013, 02:16 AM)
Anyways, I know it's not the bank's fault.

But the bank could do something in this case, which is to withheld the transfer of the amount charged until proper explanations is obtained.

It's simple.

An unknown charge that is incoming to my CC, which I did not approve => Fraudulent.

Yea, one could argue that as long as you have the card number, name, CVV and expiry date, you could charge.

But 3k is a large transaction. Maybank should notify the customer immediately as this is considered as an unusual transaction unless she's a heavy spender of 10k per month.

I'm using maybank cards long enough to tell you, I've received sms for every transaction I made physically or virtually. Therefore, it could be said that it's the bank fault as well for not informing the customer on a huge dubious charge incoming.
the bank is providing customer an avenue to dispute the transaction and through their dispute dept n legal investigator they can reslove this case but it will take time between 1 week up until a month depending on the complexity of the case...that is why now for everyone trsc done any cust would receive a confirmaton purchase sms and if they do not do this trsc they can dispute...

3k is large trsc n ur fren should receive an sms notification or even a call from risk n fraud monitoring team....in some cases the trsc can be withold from being claimed by merchant with sufficient evident.

however in my experience handling case its not always the consumer become a victim of fraud....we receive numerous report as well crd holder trying to act smart n fraud the merchant back. how? simple n many case....some of them swipe their card n buy jewellery, laptops, even nightclubs....the moment they receive their goods n service they immediately ring the bank n said the trsc they charge just now under 'floating' status is not valid n ask us not to release pymt to the merchant when they claim it.

thus it is at any bank best interest to safeguard the safety of both merchant n consumer n not just provide unfair treatment of either party...with sufficient evident by your fren the bank legal ppl will even chase celeb fitness to demand the refund or they r going to be blacklisted...
TSslickz
post Aug 14 2013, 07:48 AM

2,149 posts

You know, I had the same idea as well. I use standard chartered and even for small overseas transactions done online like 15 ringgit I get sms notification.

She said she did not get any sms notification and I thiught it was simply because perhaps maybank didn't have that facility.

I've a feeling it's too late to witheld the transaction since the transaction is dated 27th July.... I'm guessing either she checked online, or the statement just came yesterday.

Best part is she didn't keep any record of her subscription since it's 2 years back. The only info related to the transaction are the gym's electronic records.

Any idea how much a lawyer would cost? Or does the NCCC have their own lawyer that we can use?

This post has been edited by slickz: Aug 14 2013, 07:51 AM
janson_kaniaz
post Aug 14 2013, 08:08 AM

6,955 posts

slightly off topic but SMS notification is random, not depending on the amount spent, unless you call the customer service to preset the value.

on topic, your friend is on the losing side IMO if she doesnt have any evidence in hand. and if you are on the losing side, try talk to the management of the gym instead to come out with the best solution for both sides.
chiahau
post Aug 14 2013, 08:36 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 14 2013, 07:48 AM)
You know, I had the same idea as well. I use standard chartered and even for small overseas transactions done online like 15 ringgit I get sms notification.

She said she did not get any sms notification and I thiught it was simply because perhaps maybank didn't have that facility.

I've a feeling it's too late to witheld the transaction since the transaction is dated 27th July.... I'm guessing either she checked online, or the statement just came yesterday.

Best part is she didn't keep any record of her subscription since it's 2 years back. The only info related to the transaction are the gym's electronic records.

Any idea how much a lawyer would cost? Or does the NCCC have their own lawyer that we can use?
If Tribunal, you won't need a lawyer, per say.

But if you wanna bring it up till court level, then you will need one, yea.

The cost varies for a lawyer, so..

But usually management will opt to settle, rather than letting it go outta proportion.

Personally, I would rather spend the 3k for charity, then letting CF just get away with that whistling.gif
Far-KingOfSorts
post Aug 14 2013, 10:18 AM

307 posts

Please sue their *ss !! PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE !!!! also, publish in news paper! need to teach these clowns a lesson !
Terence573
post Aug 14 2013, 10:56 AM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 14 2013, 01:59 AM)

what im trying to say is this..bank cant do anything if in the 1st plac eif  u as a customer provide to any merchant or celebrity fitness in paticular your credit card number, expiry date and cvv number for them to charge you anytime at will...when they key in the correct 2 or 3 of those details and as long as there is available limit the transaction will go through instantaneously...the only thing u can do is dispute this transaction with maybank branch or their customer service...and then lodge a police report...and next ring up their manager in celeb fitness in charge and intimdate them that you already lodge police report on this fraud and the police is investigating...

huh I'm getting 2nd thoughts of using cc after reading ur comments.

will there be any charge for replacing the card?
chiahau
post Aug 14 2013, 03:42 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Terence573 @ Aug 14 2013, 10:56 AM)
huh I'm getting 2nd thoughts of using cc after reading ur comments.

will there be any charge for replacing the card?
Standard 25 bucks ~ 50 depending on bank..

Or whether you are a big spender so that they can waive almost anything to keep your patronage.

And it's okay to use your CC.

Just inform the bank to send you regular SMS if there is any incoming charges above the amount stipulated.

That would keep you on your toes to prevent overcharging.
Terence573
post Aug 14 2013, 03:58 PM

wow!!!!!
2,459 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Aug 14 2013, 04:42 PM)
Standard 25 bucks ~ 50 depending on bank..

Or whether you are a big spender so that they can waive almost anything to keep your patronage.

And it's okay to use your CC.

Just inform the bank to send you regular SMS if there is any incoming charges above the amount stipulated.

That would keep you on your toes to prevent overcharging.
ya come to think of it.

there was time the bank phoned me while I'm buying something on9 using CC.

I guess still safe to use though lol.

pakdamek
post Aug 14 2013, 04:01 PM

646 posts

1. report fraud to maybank.
2. tell celebrity fitness that u'll make a police report
3. make a police report.
4. report to persatuan pengguna.
max_cavalera
post Aug 14 2013, 07:40 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

yes. celeb fitness should be worried if u report with maybank and police....maybank will blacklist them as merchant terminal if receive many case of fraud charging from them. Please highlight the manager in charge name as well.
TSslickz
post Aug 21 2013, 03:53 PM

2,149 posts

Update: I called up the manager and spoke on her behalf instead.

I sent an email clearly stating the points and basically told them that if they want to prove that they are committed to first class customer service, then they should process the refund since it's at least months and months that they never chased her for payment in the first place.

Now they agreed to process the refund, but it will take 4 - 8 weeks.
janson_kaniaz
post Aug 21 2013, 05:04 PM

6,955 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Aug 21 2013, 03:53 PM)
Update: I called up the manager and spoke on her behalf instead.

I sent an email clearly stating the points and basically told them that if they want to prove that they are committed to first class customer service, then they should process the refund since it's at least months and months that they never chased her for payment in the first place.

Now they agreed to process the refund, but it will take 4 - 8 weeks.
see. not all things can be settled by legal way. just be nice sometimes smile.gif

TSslickz
post Aug 21 2013, 05:44 PM

2,149 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Aug 21 2013, 05:04 PM)
see. not all things can be settled by legal way. just be nice sometimes smile.gif
exactly, I explained that we only want our money back. If he was in our position, he would have done the same thing.
taitianhin
post Aug 21 2013, 05:56 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

act donno..report fraud
dirtymartini
post Aug 21 2013, 05:57 PM

74 posts

my friend had this problem too. eventually the mgr told her he can settle it if she continues her subscription. which i think it's a form of blackmail. shame on these commercial gyms resorting to such tactics.

0.0213sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:39 AM