Investment MOVE TO COOL OFF PROPERTY INDUSTRY COULD BACKFIRE, None of the Asian countries had success
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 08:31 AM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 5 2013, 06:07 PM) I vaguely remember Bandar Utama DSL houses in 1996 was more than RM180k already. More to RM300k-RM400k range. The RM180k ones maybe the 1st phase launch price deep inside near Damansara tol side. Not the 1 Utama shopping centre side. But I agree with you. I also Gen X. Nowadays upon graduation, they are talking about buying properties. Our time, we don't even dream to buy property until working for 5-6 years to accumulate 10%-20% deposit. Recent years got DIBS, zero down, free SPA, 40 year loan and BLR -x%. With RM10k they can buy RM500k property. Our time, no zero entry packages, loan tenure max 20 years and interest always BLR +x% And look at Gen Y salary. Some of them before 30 year old hit RM10k already. Gen Y should appreciate the good times they are enjoying now. Be more patient. Don't expect to buy property right after graduation. Your turn will come eventually Huh? Do u know what u r actually saying? Do u know that salary hasnt moved much but property prices have moved so much that gen Y cant catch up? And the loan period, we only have 35 years, not 40 years now, mind you. Even with 35 years, u think that is good affordability? We have to pay until we are old, liao. Yeah our salary hit rm10k by 30 years old. So what? A rm7k earner also finds it hard to afford normal houses these days. Not like last time. There is this thing called inflation too. Look it up. Remember, it is the gen x that shaped this screwed up malaysia for gen y. Not to mention that gen x inherited most of the lands from previous generation freely and sell and used the money gao2. Gen y got nothing mah. Check la which generation that boasts about having so much of land. Gen x or gen y? Gen x was imho the right generation to make money because they came in just after merdeka and development was quite rapid. Now gen y peeps have to be more creative to get the same wealth. Gen x gets scholarship easily with stupid results. Gen y no way. Gen x easily gets a job with a degree. Gen y not easy to get a job with just a degree. Just because u r not gen y, dont think that situation is easier for us. I am speaking in general by not considering some exceptional cases. This post has been edited by AMINT: Sep 9 2013, 08:43 AM
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 02:04 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 9 2013, 01:10 PM) If you can't afford to buy then rent. Until you can afford to buy. That simple. Dude, i am not talking about me. My case is exceptional. I started buying when i was 23 years old. We should talk about general gen y. This post has been edited by AMINT: Sep 9 2013, 02:04 PM
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 9 2013, 02:06 PM) Same advise. Rent until you can afford to buy. Buying a property is not a necessity. One can always rent That is besides the point isnt it? That like saying if I employed a maid and the maid cooked lousy meal, then the maid said back to me," if u dont like the meal that i cook, u dont eat la. u go eat bread only". Also same like," you tak suka, you keluar malaysia la. sapa suruh u stay. nobody ask u to stay". This post has been edited by AMINT: Sep 9 2013, 02:34 PM
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 9 2013, 02:36 PM) How is that the same? The gov does not owe you a nice cheap house in a good location the same way as the gov dun owe you a bmw!! If you can't afford to buy a bmw then buy a kancil. Otherwise buy motorbike. How can blame gov? Errr. i never blame gov liao. check my previous comments bro. i said that it is harder for gen y to make a living and become rich as compared to gen x. thats all ma. not saying gen y never bs also. coz gen y also bs about not paying ptptn, complain2 houses so expensive but never want to resort to cheaper houses like flats and cheaper condos. but all these are besides the point that it is easier for gen x to become rich as compared to gen y.
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 02:52 PM
QUOTE(AmayaBumibuyer @ Sep 9 2013, 10:53 AM) last time RM1 can buy 5 karipaps Now RM2 only buy 5 karipaps So RM10k now is RM5k for the prveious generation. Inflation inflation inflation. And talking about previous generation screw us up, Who the hell agree with the existence of PROTON? Stupid morons! Should have known better. I was a small kid, so I dont know and cant say much. Previously I heard from people good branded cars were quite affordable by Malaysians after Merdeka. Then came PROTON and screw everything up for the new generations. Now good luck for us to buy good reliable cars that is worth the money. Good luck ever for the government to really do what they say and decrease the car price. They talk only, but they wont do it. Stupid previous generation. Face it, we are living in a world set by previous generation. gen-x provided the fundamentals to run our country and also our companies. our companies are mostly running like gen-x companies. even the gen-x are still there to be the so called dictator (tutup telinga and think ownself only right). sounds familiar in your company and Be End? it will take some time before we change this mindset when all gen y run the country and companies. This post has been edited by AMINT: Sep 9 2013, 02:53 PM
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 9 2013, 03:22 PM) Lets just concentrate on ease of buying property. Last time we never complain cant afford houses when we graduated. Because we are realistic. We knew we must work hard, save hard to buy property. It will be late 20s or early 30s before we buy our first property. Nowadays, fresh grad complain they cant afford. Just compare to yourself. You bought property at 23. At our time, it was impossible. We dont have Dibs, zero entry cost etc etc. We must have 10-20% to buy. I will be laughing if i can buy property 1-2 years after graduation. Be appreciative man  Thats why I said dont compare with me. maybe i was lucky coz also naik pangkat laju than the normal standard. but if u check the general gen-y, they are not doing good, bro. 1st house also kenot afford even though at 28 to 30 years old. u can say they are lazy, they complain too much, they dont work hard enough but the fact that the majority of them are facing this issue. takkan semua teruk2 kot.
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 9 2013, 03:30 PM) do you know what is the average age of house purchasers nationwide versus other countries? before we go to that question, how can we compare ourselves to other countries? how do you gauge? just by average age of purchasers? or must it be tied to other bigger issues?
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 04:03 PM
QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 9 2013, 04:00 PM) Thats even worse. Thats stating the obvious. There are more humans in gen y compared to gen x. We all want more of something that is limited in this world hence the intense competition. more human in gen y? or u are saying more human now (both gen y and gen x included)? yeah, we all want more of something that is limited hence intense competition. so true la. it is harder for gen y to become rich as compared to gen x.
AMINT
Sep 9 2013, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Sep 9 2013, 03:53 PM) Same with my generation. There are some who cant afford properties even in the early 30s. But thats because they are choosy. Nowadays properties like flats with security in the range from rm1xxk still got. Those walkup apt with security in the range of rm2xxk also got. They can buy these cheaper ones and upgrade later when they get promoted this one i have to agree with u. that part gen y really sucks.