11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Investment MOVE TO COOL OFF PROPERTY INDUSTRY COULD BACKFIRE, None of the Asian countries had success

abgkik
post Sep 10 2013, 01:05 PM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 10 2013, 12:19 PM)
No. Nowadays fresh grad once graduated straight EXPECT to live the high life. They expect a japanese made car, mind you. Proton/Perodua just can't make it for them. In addition, they expect to be hanging out regularly at starbucks or cafes like they see in friends sitcom, they expect to have a smartphone and expect to take the gf/bf/family out for dining every week and expect branded stuff.

Anything short and they blame the gov
agreed... sweat.gif
For them, better buy Civic 2.0 rather than RM300k condo..
kochin
post Sep 10 2013, 01:08 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 10 2013, 12:41 PM)
You do know pr1ma is just another marketing gimmick for low cost flats, right?
We already have low cost flats/housing. Problem is nobody wants them. So the gov put a spin on it and call it pr1ma.
wrong, pr1ma is a branding tool to 'elevate' the status of low cost flats/housing.
a 60k ceiling product automatically 'enhanced' to 400k.

Rooney1985
post Sep 10 2013, 01:10 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Sep 10 2013, 01:05 PM)
agreed...  sweat.gif
For them, better buy Civic 2.0 rather than RM300k condo..
Can court girls ma... with car can say come I pick you up for dinner or... I send you home after work/ movie...

With condo... can only say.. come I show you my condo, but have to take LRT first... Wahlaueh... sounds like wolf, a cheap one...

drool.gif laugh.gif
kochin
post Sep 10 2013, 01:11 PM

I just hope I do!
10,314 posts

QUOTE(matthewctj @ Sep 10 2013, 09:20 AM)
At 28 & 30, assuming they started work at 20-21. If they are graduates and have been working for 8-10 years, rightfully they should have been able to save the 10% for a modest home.

So, the fact is, people need to buy within their means. But they expect the value of things to match their income instead. So, if they have slow growth in their income, then goods and services should also not grow? That's complete BS. There are always home that will match their income, but they do not want it because they either think it's too small, too far, too ugly, not in posh neighbourhood and all sorts of excuse. I remember in another thread someone posted an old house in Bandar Tun Razak going for less than RM200k not too many months ago. Now, tell me if that is unaffordable. Heck if they want to complain, I have a Low Cost Flat about 720 sqft going for RM110k if they want in Puchong. I'll sell it to them. Cyberjaya pigeon hole 700 sqft going for RM400-500k. So? If it's a home people are looking for, do they want it?

It is now about expectations. I bought a 1400 sgft condo for RM260k in 2005 when I was 31. Now you can't find one like that for sure. So, with the same budget or around 300k, opt for something smaller and maybe slightly further away. There is no price to suit everyone. But there are multiple price ranges to suit diff people with different earning capacity.

I only managed to buy my own home at the age of 32, mind you. That's why some people said, we have to work hard, be stingy and save to buy a home. We did not have it easy as you claim. Now graduates come out only, want smartphone, want nice car and etc. If you must know, they are born into an era of privileges as well where the previous generation has provided a roof over their head, provided for their education, provided for their current needs in a bustling environment where good food and entertainment are everywhere. Back in my 20's, I didn't know what fine dining was except at hotels. But now, all these teenagers are eating in them and they are everywhere. When I was in college 1992/94, I had 2 jobs; weekdays night till midnight after classes and Sat/Sun full day. When I started working full time, I still maintain my week nights job and the Sunday job. 3 jobs. Now Gen Y, tak suka only, quit. Look for job, ask for 4-6k even with only 1-2 years experience. Yes, not all of them, but many of them.

So, stop whining puuhleaseeee .. there are many others who had it even tougher than me.
nice.
is it in kelana?

KLsooner
post Sep 10 2013, 01:21 PM

737 posts

Blame the facebook. Everything face come first, what house to live, what car to drive, what restaurent to dine, which countries to travel, which GF/BF to go out with, what else do I miss on the facebook?

Facebook era, bro.
abgkik
post Sep 10 2013, 01:30 PM

2,142 posts

QUOTE(Rooney1985 @ Sep 10 2013, 01:10 PM)
Can court girls ma... with car can say come I pick you up for dinner or... I send you home after work/ movie...

With condo... can only say.. come I show you my condo, but have to take LRT first... Wahlaueh... sounds like wolf, a cheap one...

drool.gif  laugh.gif
when is girl around.. bring back home by taxi bro.. blue color taxi.. wink.gif
Rooney1985
post Sep 10 2013, 01:37 PM

986 posts

QUOTE(abgkik @ Sep 10 2013, 01:30 PM)
when is girl around.. bring back home by taxi bro.. blue color taxi..Ā  wink.gif
ehhh.... have you tried imagining that in boleh-land? ... I think I agree with the early posting on FACE-book... laugh.gif Nowadays, city dwellers have become very materialistic, they see others have they also want... at all costs.

Nice idea though... blue taxi... brows.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Sep 10 2013, 01:42 PM
ecin
post Sep 10 2013, 01:59 PM

5,857 posts

QUOTE(robertchoo @ Sep 10 2013, 12:41 PM)
You do know pr1ma is just another marketing gimmick for low cost flats, right?
We already have low cost flats/housing. Problem is nobody wants them. So the gov put a spin on it and call it pr1ma.
no PR1MA project been completed to date, concept looks wonderful, but we know la it'll not be like that e end-product .. by e way, I foresee it'll definitely not flat-like.
matthewctj
post Sep 10 2013, 02:00 PM

1,304 posts

QUOTE(kochin @ Sep 10 2013, 01:11 PM)
nice.
is it in kelana?
Cheras, Taman Midah smile.gif
wil-i-am
post Sep 10 2013, 02:35 PM

10,001 posts

Enjoy 1st n suffer later lo...
kh8668
post Sep 10 2013, 02:38 PM

Mamma Mia!
5,488 posts

Buy house first, youngsters told
Posted: 6:27 pm, September 2, 2013 by editor
PEMBUKAAN MAPEX 2012
PETALING JAYA, Sept 2: These days, it has become a trend among the young who enter working life to place priority on owning a car, instead of a home.

Perhaps, buying a vehicle which gels with their current lifestyle is cheaper for them, as compared to purchasing a house.

Nevertheless, Real Estate and Housing Developers’ Association’s (Rehda) immediate past president Datuk Ng Seing Liong said the trend should be reversed.

ā€œBuying a property, such as an affordable house, should be the main priority among youngsters and they should not wear out their salary in owning a car,ā€ he told Bernama when met at the Wisma Rehda here today.

Thus, he suggested that youngsters begin buying property, early in their careers, especially for those located in hot-spot areas.

ā€œI understand that car is a necessity to the younger generation, but bear in mind that property prices will always goes up. Take this as an investment and in the meantime, commute via public transportation,ā€ advised Ng.

He said there were affordable houses outside areas which were in high demand.

ā€œHigher prices are only in the hot spot areas, but it seems to reflect the whole market. If they look at the bigger areas, such as in Malacca, Pahang and Kelantan, the prices are still affordable.ā€

He also explained the property value rise could be attributed to ā€œpeople are not just buying a house, but they are purchasing the lifestyle that comes with the propertyā€.

According to the Rehda’s Property Industry Survey for the first half of this year, the top five ā€˜hot spots’ in the Klang Valley are Puchong, Cheras, Kota Damansara, Kuala Lumpur City Centre and Shah Alam, with landed properties ranking at the top, followed by condominium and serviced apartment.

Meanwhile, Rehda deputy secretary-general Datuk Anthony Cho Tian Han said low-cost houses were losing appeal, as the latest trend showed people were willing to fork out money to buy comfortable houses, with spacious living room and extra bedrooms.

He said Rehda was willing to meet the relevant authorities to find a solution which would eventually benefit the consumers. - Bernama
Rooney1985
post Sep 10 2013, 02:43 PM

986 posts

WoW!!! Looks like some people trying very hard to find buyers/ demand for properties... have to compete with auto mobile industry... laugh.gif after this they will try the next level, don't go out and eat, don't buy luxury, don't use so much electricity, don't need to send kids to higher education... afterall after higher education come out and work also low pay... give them a house better... ROFL!

Hmm I wonder... buy outskirts so far from town... without a car, how convenient would it be to get to work, walk, bus, MRT, bus, walk? must wake up 5am in the morning... drool.gif

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Sep 10 2013, 02:47 PM
Rooney1985
post Sep 10 2013, 02:45 PM

986 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by Rooney1985: Sep 10 2013, 02:47 PM
TSaccetera
post Sep 11 2013, 01:57 AM

Ambassador of ChatHouz AI
10,777 posts

Just buy MyVi

Just buy a simple 3-bedder in PJ... find subsale. Flora Damansara aso ok! (or stay with parents)

Hey, please find a good job with a reputable company not more than 30km away from home. (advice by career thread)

For the next 3 years...

After that, I beg u can buy any RM400-500k apartment in PJ.

Ripp87
post Sep 11 2013, 05:05 AM

Zombie
726 posts

Keyword : PEMANDU, 10 million people, 1 million/year demand
lucerne
post Sep 11 2013, 11:52 AM

1,946 posts

QUOTE(Ripp87 @ Sep 11 2013, 05:05 AM)
Keyword : PEMANDU, 10 million people, 1 million/year demand
is this 10mil ppl include foreign labor , legal + illegal migrants etc ???
estimate how many of them in KV?
KLsooner
post Sep 11 2013, 12:28 PM

737 posts

1.2 Mil Bangla waiting to come to bolehland, just announced by Labour Minister.

Those run down downtown apartment should be doing well.
Anon_1986
post Sep 11 2013, 01:13 PM

252 posts

Mmm, plenty of illogical arguments in the article. It is either the product of an uneducated, confused mind, or intentionally dishonest. Considering his status, I'm guessing the latter is true.

Cooling measures are good for property investors and bad for developers. The purpose of cooling measures is to avoid or modulate the expected crash part of an ordinary property cycle. Crashes are very painful for individual homeowners and investors, and drastically life-changing.

Most of the property cycle models adduced in this forum and elsewhere do not take into account government intervention to stop the positive feedback of higher prices that will ultimately always end in a crash.

I've always maintained that with proper policies, BNM may be able to cause stagnation instead of a crash.

Developers on the other hand who are selling properties at so called "future prices" have an incentive to maintain the appearance that future prices are going to be higher. Without that appearance, they stand to lose out against sub-sale properties selling at a lower price.

Again, just goes to show, the property market is all about smoke and mirrors. Appearances and sentiment. The fundamentals don't matter. Why should they?
woolei
post Sep 11 2013, 06:41 PM

1,745 posts

QUOTE(accetera @ Sep 11 2013, 01:57 AM)
Just buy MyVi

Just buy a simple 3-bedder in PJ... find subsale. Flora Damansara aso ok! (or stay with parents)

Hey, please find a good job with a reputable company not more than 30km away from home.  (advice by career thread)

For the next 3 years...

After that, I beg u can buy any RM400-500k apartment in PJ.
Flora Damansara???? buy if u think your life is too long. There are 1 murder case happen not long ago.
AVFAN
post Sep 11 2013, 06:49 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Anon_1986 @ Sep 11 2013, 01:13 PM)
Mmm, plenty of illogical arguments in the article. It is either the product of an uneducated, confused mind, or intentionally dishonest. Considering his status, I'm guessing the latter is true.

Cooling measures are good for property investors and bad for developers. The purpose of cooling measures is to avoid or modulate theĀ  expected crash part of an ordinary property cycle. Crashes are very painful for individual homeowners and investors, and drastically life-changing.

Most of the property cycle models adduced in this forum and elsewhere do not take into account government intervention to stop the positive feedback of higher prices that will ultimately always end in a crash.

I've always maintained that with proper policies, BNM may be able to cause stagnation instead of a crash.

Developers on the other hand who are selling properties at so called "future prices" have an incentive to maintain the appearance that future prices are going to be higher. Without that appearance, they stand to lose out against sub-sale properties selling at a lower price.

Again, just goes to show, the property market is all about smoke and mirrors. Appearances and sentiment. The fundamentals don't matter. Why should they?
enlarged comments is thumbup.gif.

if sime, inp, sunrise, setia founders/bosses get bought out at fat prices, why shud any of them n associates say anything negative or even real?!

those not bot out yet n their spokesmen wil b smart enuf keep prices high, suck them dry n then get forced to sell to u-know-who.

very boland. who buys, who sell or kennot buy or sell, who pays in the end, u decide.

"if u dun like it, u can go." - the new boland motto. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Sep 11 2013, 06:50 PM

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0164sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 01:17 AM