> Stratford in East London is UK most violent

TSrobertngo
post Aug 11 2013, 01:04 PM, updated 13y ago

4,027 posts

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-23...ng-centres.html

It has had more than £9 billion spent on its regeneration, and boasts a modern transport hub, Europe’s biggest shopping mall and the vast Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park.

But today Stratford in East London is awarded a less welcome accolade as the country’s worst crime hotspot – a magnet for muggers, pickpockets and thieves.

Analysis of official police figures by The Mail on Sunday reveals that the postcode covering the huge Westfield Stratford City mall is plagued by almost 200 offences every month.
Revealing: Crime rates have been compared for every postcode in England, Wales and Northern Ireland over the course of more than a year

Scotland Yard has recorded 3,440 crimes in the area over the past 18 months, including 500 shoplifting offences, almost 300 violent crimes and hundreds of pick-pocketings and muggings.

Just last week five thugs were jailed over a gang fight inside the Westfield Stratford centre in which a young man, Liam Woodards, was stabbed to death in front of horrified shoppers.

In a further blow to the mall’s Australian owners Westfield Group, its other London shopping centre in Shepherd’s Bush emerges as the site with the second-highest number of crimes – 2,524.

Airports where weapons are often seized from foreign visitors, railway stations haunted by beggars and football hooligans, and high streets where drinkers gather also see large numbers of arrests.

But this newspaper’s pioneering research has also uncovered some unlikely crime hotspots.

They include a hospital in Northern Ireland where hundreds of violent attacks have been recorded, and a seaside resort on the South Coast that has suffered more burglaries than anywhere else.

Music festivals such as Glastonbury also trigger huge spikes in the usually sleepy countryside.

It is the first time that crime rates have been compared for every postcode in England, Wales and Northern Ireland, each covering just a few hundred yards, over the course of more than a year.

The data was taken from details uploaded by every police force in the country to a website maintained by the Home Office.

Nick Herbert, the former Policing Minister who has championed crime maps, said last night: ‘The power of crime mapping is putting information in the hands of people.

Noyoudontcare
post Aug 11 2013, 03:11 PM

252 posts

I was in Stratford during my summers holidays staying at my mates home. Nothing too shoddy about it in broad light but as it gets dark, it's a bit something else.
fabianz03
post Aug 11 2013, 03:13 PM

4,649 posts

WHERE'S LESTRADE OF SCOTLAND YARD WHEN YOU NEED HIM?
nearlee
post Aug 11 2013, 03:15 PM

105 posts

David Cameroon no take action?
TheEvilMan
post Aug 11 2013, 03:18 PM

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

where's statistic for Msia
oh wai, cos it's everywhere so they can't decided which is the top 10 most
smallbug
post Aug 11 2013, 03:18 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Aug 11 2013, 03:13 PM)
even Sherlock wouldn't be able to clean out this "Augean stables"
TSrobertngo
post Aug 11 2013, 03:22 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(fabianz03 @ Aug 11 2013, 03:13 PM)
busy protecting west London
seiferalmercy
post Aug 11 2013, 03:25 PM

135 posts

brows.gif
JustcallmeLarry
post Aug 11 2013, 03:37 PM

1,363 posts

QUOTE(Noyoudontcare @ Aug 11 2013, 03:11 PM)
I was in Stratford during my summers holidays staying at my mates home. Nothing too shoddy about it in broad light but as it gets dark, it's a bit something else.
vampires?
Robin Hood
post Aug 11 2013, 03:43 PM

289 posts

the only country in the world that u might consider of intimidate the police
asd5139
post Aug 11 2013, 04:04 PM

19 posts

Lol..Muckamore Abbey Hospital is Hospital Orang Gila what, of course have lots of 'violent crime'.

Belfast City Airport violent??
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 11 2013, 04:19 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

if you sort the criminals by race or religion... then you get your answer...
Luftwacko
post Aug 11 2013, 04:21 PM

682 posts

I bet the worst place in UK is still better than the best place in MY.
Pete the great
post Aug 11 2013, 04:37 PM

519 posts

I thought Stratford is a trendy place to go shopping in UK.

I didn't notice anyone suspicious there.
abang brother
post Aug 11 2013, 04:40 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(alaskanbunny @ Aug 11 2013, 04:19 PM)
if you sort the criminals by race or religion... then you get your answer...
lmao bunny still dummy as always rclxms.gif
SUSalaskanbunny
post Aug 11 2013, 04:46 PM

Foodie
4,283 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Aug 11 2013, 04:40 PM)
lmao bunny still dummy as always rclxms.gif
apalah dummy... perrghh! yawn.gif
FLampard
post Aug 11 2013, 04:51 PM

590 posts

a lot indians live there..
zeist
post Aug 11 2013, 04:52 PM

Mivec 1800cc
15,182 posts

Outside from Malaysia is not our territory.

watdahell
post Aug 11 2013, 05:05 PM

41 posts

UK need to learn from us how to combat crime so that they can become the safest country in their region

Akii
post Aug 11 2013, 05:08 PM

QUOTE(robertngo @ Aug 11 2013, 01:04 PM)
Get rompak banyak happy je?

inb4 modelling

2 Pages  1 2 >

0.0186sec    0.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:22 AM