Sony XPERIA™ Z Ultra, Official Thread V3, 14.1.B.1.510 -New UI & X-Reality FW out!

thesting
post Aug 14 2013, 11:36 PM

106 posts

Anyone tried peeling off the shatterproof sheet? wonder if the sony logo will go off as well..searched everywhere still cannot find someone took it off the xzu...
thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 12:25 AM

106 posts

Just sharing a photo taken during my trip to singapore late evening yesterday.

Been using the xzu for almost 2weeks now but honestly I am still not very impressed with it. This is the first sony smartphone ive ever used n this is my POV cool2.gif :

The goods:
-Superb 6.5" 1080 display..a bit whitish when crank to full brightness
-Super sexy n super thin....top notch build quality..
-Camera seem to be very nice in good lighting.. The front cam is good as well
-Speedy fast phone..opening n closing apps good, multitasking good.
-Good battery life.. Am impressed with the power even with the big display

The bads:
-Super bad speaker..listening music, movies n youtube with loud speaker is a real nightmare for me! I reallyx3 hate the speaker!
-I will never wake up in the morning if I use this phone as my alarm clock!
-Using the headphones doesnt really help as well.. Till now I still cant find the right adjustments to suit my ears! Tuning to 8tracks with the headphones made my cry..haha
-Bad os overlay..very glitchy at times if u put widgets on the homescreens
-Dont take pictures at night! Just memorize the moment! Lol!
-The pencil feature thing is a useless crap
-Hate the usb port n headset jack location..shud be on top or bottom instead of the sides

For now, im starting to miss my mighty note 2 already..
This is my personal POV n im just an average user..no bashing please..just feel like sharing...smile.gif

thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 12:32 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 14 2013, 11:40 PM)
apparently you haven't search properly.
Back few pages there were some posting in relation with the removal of the sheet.
and yes the Sony logo goes off with it if removed and apparently the warranty is also void based on the info from Uncle Benny.
Oh really? Sorry my bad....this topic is so fast moving...does the post shows the actual xzu without the shatterproof sheet? I only able to find the xperia z only..

Am a bit concern mine will get scratched bad soon n I dont like screen protectors
thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 12:36 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(joytest @ Aug 15 2013, 12:28 AM)
Swap it out when the Note 3 arrives tongue.gif
Confirmed! thumbup.gif
thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 12:44 AM

106 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Aug 15 2013, 12:37 AM)
i know, a touchpiss user.. oppss.. tongue.gif

i means, some might very used to touchwizz interface might find other UI not good.. i used to be like that too, but then if you use the UI for quite sometime, you will start to appreciate it.. IMO this phone overall better than Note 2 except the stylus capability. just my opinion

but i do agree about the alarm.. me too, most of times i woke up myself without hearing the alarm. LOL
Hahaha..mayb I am a touchpiss fan..but I do like the simplicity of wp8 more... Used wp8 launcher for a very long time on my note2

N yes specs wise xzu are far superior then then note 2, nonetheless a better experience on the note2 for me still...
thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 01:44 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Aug 15 2013, 09:17 AM)
Thanks for the link brader, dunt understand a single thing thou...hahaha...

Sad the sony logo goes off together with the sheet..

Does it say that removing the sheet will interfere with the touch sensitivity guys? Will peel it off once it have scratches...
thesting
post Aug 15 2013, 01:53 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(benny888 @ Aug 15 2013, 11:16 AM)
The anti shatter film is said to be scratchable but I am indeed very impressed with it. I was daily using a ballpen with it extensively replacing my finger ( tapping launching app, writing using keyboard, scrolling in browser and moving among homescreens/app drawers etc) and in past 14 days I have yet to see even a single hairline scratch
I just put on a Niilkin SP only yesterday
But I do read at least 2 users here who had reported scratches even on first few days usage !!!
Good info..thanks uncle...

Ill just leave it naked for now n see how it goes.

thesting
post Aug 16 2013, 10:29 PM

106 posts

Experimented 2 thing with my xzu today

1st, Tried using a working steel ball point pen i found unused laying around my house.. N wow im impressed! Using the pen as a stylus operating the phone is a really cool man..a bit scared thou..feel like knocking metal on a glass..haha.. It is very responsive, sometimes too responsive for me..clicking on a small link on a web browser is a breeze..now no need to zoom if wanna peck that small button on the web!

Attached is the picture of the pen..i recommend u guys to use a metal pen..it is very responsive..

Tapi a bit scared will scratch the sp sheet if use many times..for now no scratches nor ink on the device yet..

2nd, crossed finger n threw the device in a water bucket n washing it...so far so good!

Now im like a jakun oredi..lol! A great device apparently!
thesting
post Aug 30 2013, 09:37 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(bosouman @ Aug 30 2013, 05:17 PM)
anyone notice that watching youtube on HD aint as beautiful as before?
Going to ask same question also..

Updated to latest firmware..sod or hang didnt accure to my device but youtube playback definitely looks super ugly even on hd..previous firmware also quite bad but now its so so ugly...

Any solution or its just me?

Dont really see the mighty truluminos xreality thing effect pun... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by thesting: Aug 30 2013, 09:39 PM
thesting
post Aug 30 2013, 10:00 PM

106 posts

Found another bug on 510.. Open sound enhancement, when click settings on the equaliser it force closes..

Anyone encounter this problem?
thesting
post Aug 30 2013, 10:36 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(bosouman @ Aug 30 2013, 10:16 PM)
well i think there's someone else faced the same problem.
benny suggested software repair.
might wanna give it a swing?
tho all ur data gonna be lost in the phone internal memory.
well for me both data and wifi is ugly.
+1

Im talking about HD in wifi..it is smooth but the pixels definitely noticable then before

Nooooo...i hate wiping of my phone! Any other suggestions guys..any workaround for the force close equaliser setting?

This post has been edited by thesting: Aug 30 2013, 10:40 PM
thesting
post Aug 31 2013, 07:48 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Aug 31 2013, 04:46 PM)
The fake dead issue or SOD when locked screen in. 510 - if happen - instructions at first page.

Root of. 510 with replace to Chainfire SuperSU - instruction at first page also.

Sound enhancement at setting for. 510 - only happen if previously you had manual install Walkman app update from third party source. Solution repair the phone.
Tq man for the info... But i never manual install or update the walkman app still the sound enhancement bug happened...but i do think its because i update firmware with mac.. N i know anything other then apple with apple products, sure problem will happen one..hahha..

Repair the phone using pc companion will wipe off all data right?

Confirmed youtube videos will be more beautiful with the xreality turned off but colours will look a bit dull..x reality ON, color more vibrant but very grainy n pixilated...
thesting
post Sep 1 2013, 06:43 PM

106 posts

solved the sound enhancement bug...

tried repair phone using bridge for mac but failed on the last step..'hold volume button down and connect usb cable'..nothing happened..

at last just reformat factory using the phone n voilà...all bug vanished!

yeah!
thesting
post Sep 1 2013, 06:46 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(un_id @ Aug 31 2013, 07:15 AM)
Errghh too many posts after I left for just 5 days, lol..

I went to Tioman this week. During that time, I experienced weird things with my XZU. I first noticed it when  I was in ferry to Tioman, I was asleep. When I woke up, I check my phone, unlock screen, then the touch screen become haywire.. It auto click here and there without me touching it, and it's not responsive to my touch. I lock back the screen, wait for about 1 minutes, then unlock it back, the  it's OK again. Then during the stay in Tioman, it happened many times that I thought my unit might be faulty and was very disappointed. But I wonder why suddenly it happened like that.. I was thinking to send it back to SC.

But then, I'm back yesterday.. Now I'm waiting for the thing to happen again, but it's not!  I dunno why it become like that.. Already overnight and I'm still waiting for it to happen again.. Weird...

Anyway, new firmwares .510 now is it.. Hope it will improve the device more
problem happend to me as well...dont know the actual reason but it will happen once in a while...the .510 looks like it rectified the prpblem..
thesting
post Sep 3 2013, 10:28 PM

106 posts

Shoot! I got 2 line scratches on the camera lens!

Carefull guys, the lens scraxth easily..im quite a carefull guy oso kena..

Whats the best diy method to remove the scratch eeh?
thesting
post Sep 3 2013, 10:44 PM

106 posts

Tried to by my nails but seems like dont have any..urs have bro?
thesting
post Sep 3 2013, 11:52 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Andrew_1980 @ Sep 3 2013, 10:57 PM)
No have, you go sony center ask about camera scratch
ok thanks bro.. gonna try the toothpaste miracle 1st see if can work..then try use autosol..this is what mr google recommends for diy scratch repair..

but im not sure the lens is glass or plastic..
thesting
post Sep 3 2013, 11:54 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(Andrewtst @ Sep 3 2013, 11:24 PM)
You need to tear of the whole shatter proof sheet if you want to tear it.

It not easier to tear and I not sure the Xperia and Sony wording print at that sheet or not.

The front Sony logo is confirm print at that sheet.
been exploring n confirmed no shatter proof or any protection on the camera lens..confirm plain naked..

but the scratches doesnt effect the finished photo currently..but damn its annoying man!

0.0233sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 12:37 AM