Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber
dgboy
Oct 2 2013, 10:00 PM
My Lumia 620 cannot switch off since Amber update. It closes down, then restarts about a minute later. I'm not charging the phone when this happens.
And I found someone reporting the exact same problem in a post this week at Microsoft forum.
Anyone else?
dgboy
Oct 4 2013, 03:32 PM
QUOTE(fixgd @ Oct 4 2013, 01:12 PM) do u guys have any tips to easily close background apps for 920? Just press the back button repeatedly till it stops at the home screen. Maybe GDR3 will have a better option in future.
dgboy
Oct 5 2013, 07:58 AM
QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 5 2013, 07:07 AM) Is t necessary to update these all? [attachmentid=3660961] Yes, some of the new features under Amber depend on it.
dgboy
Oct 5 2013, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(fixgd @ Oct 5 2013, 02:32 PM) is it normal for charging speed to be 28.7% per hour? isnt that kinda slow? using wall charger depends on the charger and the battery capacity. my original Nokia charger died recently, it used to charge my Lumia 620 in an hour plus. yesterday, I bought a normal USB charger after finding out Nokia wants RM112.70. the new charger takes about about 2~3 hours, but neither it nor the phone gets hot like with the Nokia charger, so I figure that's better overall. This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 5 2013, 03:39 PM
dgboy
Oct 7 2013, 04:29 PM
UC browser has more advanced settings than IE, for example
lock screen rotation
night mode
selectively delete records
incognito mode
This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 7 2013, 07:25 PM
dgboy
Oct 9 2013, 09:16 PM
I learned this trick to read the backed up sms in Outlook.com. Login, click Messaging History, then shorten the url, for example in my case original url https://blu174.mail.live.com/mail/#n=1593441296&fid=bshortened url https://blu174.mail.live.com/mail/#n=1This gives a list of all the sms backed up, and you can view one by one too. Once you've found the sms list, you can move any or all to a separate folder. Then you can easily find them next time, without having to shorten any url. For new sms, you have to follow back the steps above. This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 12 2013, 01:43 PM
dgboy
Oct 10 2013, 10:03 PM
QUOTE(lyrilmaki @ Oct 10 2013, 09:25 PM) just wanted anyone using Lumia 620 to help me confirm whether it has NFC function.. yes, got
dgboy
Oct 11 2013, 03:34 PM
Yalo, confusing. I keep try to slide up to open instead of press the lock button.
dgboy
Oct 12 2013, 01:37 PM
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Oct 12 2013, 11:36 AM) Is it possible to check my normal SMS messages I received on my Lumia on the internet on my PC ? Android got an app called MightySMS that could do that. I'm not aware of anything similar for WP8 so far. There is a way to view backed up sms from outlook.com, but I'm not sure the interval at which the back up is done, possibly only once a day. This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 12 2013, 01:42 PM
dgboy
Oct 12 2013, 06:03 PM
QUOTE(JasonWilton @ Oct 12 2013, 05:25 PM) the main purpose of the glance screen for me is to see the time, date and notifications totally agreed, the function of glance is to provide information the only use for a picture is perhaps as a fancy clock on the desk or bedside anyway glance background is just a beta right now since Nokia plans to add more notifications to glance, the glance screen may ultimately replace the lockscreen entirely and provide an always-on notification centre This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 12 2013, 09:03 PM
dgboy
Oct 14 2013, 11:20 PM
still waiting for GDR2 on Samsung Ativ S SME set
This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 15 2013, 09:54 AM
dgboy
Oct 16 2013, 07:03 AM
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Oct 15 2013, 03:34 PM) OK, GDR3 is up on my phone hehehe... Is there an option to disable haptic feedback on the three control button?
dgboy
Oct 16 2013, 01:10 PM
QUOTE(-ahtiang- @ Oct 16 2013, 08:02 AM) I dun think you can disable that feature It can in Samsung Ativ S, so I suppose it's up to the manufacturers. And post-Amber, the touch setting mention Windows keys in Lumia. I dunno if that's a sign of things to come.
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 09:10 AM
QUOTE(adibhaniff @ Oct 17 2013, 05:59 AM) if i turn glance to always on setting. Will it drain my battery quickly?? yes, it will be a drain in the battery. better to use Peek or Interval settings if you want to use this feature at all. This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 18 2013, 09:10 AM
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 09:48 AM
How to check whether my phone is developer unlocked?
This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 18 2013, 01:55 PM
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 09:56 AM
QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 18 2013, 09:16 AM) yup... it will onli turn on the glance for a certain time frame / when v hover our hand above the sensors rite? ya exactly.. peek is great if you got young kids, can show them some magic 😊
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 10:18 PM
QUOTE(ahnien @ Oct 18 2013, 06:34 PM) i believe so that i read from some where else saying that malaysian units are all locked, there's a way too check via the firmware version code and rom code. but i forgot it dy. i try google and see thanks after reading up more I found this Microsoft page, where it states To participate, you need to meet one of the three conditions: your phone is ‘developer-unlocked,’ you are a registered Windows Phone Store developer, OR you are a registered Windows Phone App Studio developer. if that's correct, it will suffice to register as a developer under App Studio? my problem is that i'm unable to run the Windows Phone Developer Registration Tool in SDK8.0 because that needs Win8 and my laptop is Win7 (64-bit). i've tried SDK7.1, but the registration tool in that does not find my phone. any idea how to register my phone for the GDR3 Preview in these circumstances?
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 11:23 PM
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Oct 18 2013, 10:57 PM) my lucky night, i've just managed to update to GDR3 without the need to register my phone This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 19 2013, 12:34 AM
dgboy
Oct 18 2013, 11:53 PM
yup, it's very simple
register under App Studio
install the Developer Preview app
check, download and install updates
This post has been edited by dgboy: Oct 18 2013, 11:56 PM
dgboy
Oct 19 2013, 01:01 AM
QUOTE(GothFebrio @ Oct 19 2013, 12:48 AM) nice one, saw a vid on wpcentral where they log in the dev account in the app right? yes, I had to login to my MS account to activate the Preview app and accept the term and conditions as per that video.