4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber

300thecat
post Oct 6 2013, 06:25 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(fixgd @ Oct 5 2013, 06:48 PM)
can we customize the fonts, or ringtone (for different applications, wechat, whatsapp, etc)? i tried to find that option but could not find.
AFAIK you an't customize fonts. I'm not too sure about whatsapp notifications currently but it should be possible. As for sms ringtone, I heard that it would be customizable when WP Blue is out. Just a rumour though.
300thecat
post Oct 7 2013, 04:28 PM

790 posts

UC browser is just a skin for IE. Basically IE with added features like orientation lock and incognito browsing. For me, I have no problems with IE and I find it suits me well. I only turn on UC if i need to browse through stuff i don't want people to find out about.

Whatsapp is great now. Facebook is steadily getting better and is a far cry from what it used to be. The only problem i have with it is delayed messages and notification problems. FB chat could be smoother and more responsive too.

best app i found on WP so far is probably 500 background =)
300thecat
post Oct 7 2013, 09:42 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(AmmoShaf @ Oct 7 2013, 05:27 PM)
Do you have any other primary phone or WP8 is your primary? I don't want to use 2 phones just because there are so many bugs with WP8. I am hardly considering WP8 because of its smoothness and for sure i want to stand out from other people who mostly use iphone or samsung.

It will be good if you can share some more of your experience. Such as gmail, some mini games(light use to kill time), and anythings.
my first and only smartphone. My brother has android and my dad has an iPhone but I don't really fancy the two.

I don't play games because I can always find way to kill time off my phone. There are already plenty of well-established games though contrary to popular belief.

if you don't mind the wait, wait till early 2014 when windows phone 8.1 would be announced.

overall I'm pretty happy with my Lumia 720 and I have no regrets. I was genuinely frustrated at my first week but I got the hand of things and yeah, the pros do outweigh the cons. Plus, development has been picking up steam and I expect more improvements to come soon at a quicker pace =)
300thecat
post Oct 10 2013, 06:41 AM

790 posts

Question is, what and how would they replace the Back button? I also want Forward in IE :/
300thecat
post Oct 10 2013, 06:01 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(TongCN @ Oct 10 2013, 12:04 PM)
Hope they will update it in GDR 3, lol ...

Right now still ok cause i put all my frequent called ppl as live tile biggrin.gif
Same here lol. Found this to be easier than Rapdailer. So I deleted it and replaced it with 4 small tiles.
300thecat
post Oct 11 2013, 08:15 PM

790 posts

Meh, Nokia should've released it as an in-built feature in Glance, not as a separate app.
300thecat
post Oct 12 2013, 09:46 AM

790 posts

Hey guys, just wanna ask. Got any WP keyboard shortcuts the same as windows desktop ctrl+A? Very mafan to highlight text in chatbox.
300thecat
post Oct 26 2013, 04:37 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(Holyboy27 @ Oct 26 2013, 12:52 PM)
Does messaging apps like Line and whatsapp still have delayed notifications?
I don't use Line but Whatsapp is flawless now. Fb however, has delayed notifications.

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Oct 26 2013, 02:54 PM)
Why i dont get the update noti for whatsapp??
#wpproblems

You could go to the Store and manually updated as I did
300thecat
post Oct 29 2013, 10:08 PM

790 posts

So I found that amazing app called CamScanner. Would be even better if I had 1020 or 1520 camera though haha.

QUOTE(donizback @ Oct 29 2013, 01:44 PM)
Cocktail Bar free for today, 17 more hours to go. Grab it guys thumbup.gif
How you know much app free on which day wan?

This post has been edited by 300thecat: Oct 29 2013, 10:31 PM
300thecat
post Oct 30 2013, 03:07 PM

790 posts

^Watching all these then comparing with what we have now makes it seem like MS is working at a snail's pace, doesn't it?
QUOTE(donizback @ Oct 29 2013, 11:14 PM)
there is an app I downloaded today in which you can download 1 app or game free everyday, known as myAppfree. Download it from the Marketplace and nail some awesome apps and games for free wink.gif
Thanks! Amazing recommendation =)
300thecat
post Oct 30 2013, 06:11 PM

790 posts

I think most of those are non-codable. Such as playing music and turning on WiFi straight from the Live Tiles. It'll come, definitely, the only question is when. My guess would be Windows 9, which would probably the built from the ground up again as a common platform between tablets and mobile devices.
300thecat
post Nov 1 2013, 09:22 PM

790 posts

I was so excited when I registered for Spotify Premium. Downloaded the app for my phone and then I discovered no radio function. I'm very very disappointed. The app is horrible, easily the worst I've ever come across the entire time I used WP.

Here I was thinking WP improved a ton with developer support, till today. Get your shit together Spotify. I paid good money for nothing.
300thecat
post Nov 2 2013, 07:12 PM

790 posts

Nope not that local Radio. I meant Spotify's radio, as in genre mixes. They have it for desktop, iOS and Android but sadly not WP.
300thecat
post Nov 5 2013, 12:19 PM

790 posts

Windows 8 might not be upgradable to Windows 8.1

http://m.computerworld.com/s/article/92436...43&pageNumber=1
300thecat
post Nov 5 2013, 12:49 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Nov 5 2013, 12:42 PM)
If this is the case, then bye bye Nokia and Microsoft, I am not gonna buy a single windows phone again.
This is stupid, how can they do that? I just wish that all wp8 will be upgradeable to WP 8.1 sad.gif
it might be due to the current OS limitations that is holding so many things back. If Windows 8.1 uses totally different OS architecture then I won't be surprised if we couldn't upgrade.

MS is probably in a dilemma now; progress vs welfare of current users. They could easily get both if they go all out to ensure we benefit one way or another, either by total reinstallation if that's possible, or coupons to upgrade our phones.

This post has been edited by 300thecat: Nov 5 2013, 12:50 PM
300thecat
post Nov 8 2013, 10:35 AM

790 posts

QUOTE(LightningZERO @ Nov 7 2013, 10:33 PM)
Yeah....

Just now I was chatting with my friend on wechat, and then there's never any notification. And later the notification came but the app itself never shows any new messages....

It might be the app problem but when most of messaging apps for WP all have this problems, it is really really annoying. I really want to jump ship when maybe Samsung S5 is unveiled
Notifications are probably the only problem that isn't getting addressed I feel. It will be solved soon, the only question is when. And I feel 'soon' is an understatement in this case.
300thecat
post Nov 8 2013, 05:00 PM

790 posts

Maybe the reason why I like WP is because I only use Facebook Beta and Whatsapp frequently, which are alright bar the notification problems on FB. I don't play games, I roll along fine with what MS bundled in my phone so the 'lack' if apps don't concern me.

I also like the 'improving' feel of the OS. It feels to be getting better and better everyday and it provides nice value-for-money on my lower-end phone. And I have a soft spot for underdogs, which just so happens to be MS in the mobile world in this case ;-)
300thecat
post Nov 8 2013, 06:01 PM

790 posts

Font at the place you type your message seems smaller to me.
300thecat
post Nov 9 2013, 06:19 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Nov 9 2013, 06:06 PM)
I recently tried to download it by changing it to Vietnam, Indonesia and Mexico. It isn't available anywhere sad.gif
I changed region to Vietnam, can install no problem.
300thecat
post Nov 9 2013, 06:52 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(donizback @ Nov 9 2013, 06:29 PM)
Then why can't I sad.gif
I did it twice, in the morning as well as now but can't download. Do you have a 512ram phone??
Yep, using L720. But even if 512MB RAM, you should still be able to see the app, just not able to download it.

make sure under settings, you change it under 'country/region'.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0258sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 11:13 AM