Official Windows Phone 8 Discussion Thread! V3, Manually Flash your Lumia 920 with Amber

-ahtiang-
post Jan 19 2014, 07:53 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Jan 15 2014, 04:07 PM)
my nokia story teller cannot detect photo location. do you guys have any ideas?
You need to activate the location enable function for your camera settings.

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 19 2014, 07:57 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jan 19 2014, 09:06 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(Zeuss1220 @ Jan 19 2014, 05:53 PM)
Updated my 925 yesterday. thumbup.gif

And also I have tried purchasing an app via Digi prepaid. For some reason, you need to have the data on when purchasing the app while the download itself can be done via WiFi of course. Confirmation of purchase email will be sent in a matter of seconds after purchasing. Personally, I think this is a useful way to buy apps, however, I don't have a postpaid data plan, instead I subscribe to daily plans on days I don't have access to Wifi, which is not very often. So the fact I have to have my data on when purchasing is a little inconvenient, especially when the pay-per-use data is ridiculously expensive on Digi, which leaves me with the daily plan which is RM3.

App that I bought was a game called Rayman's Jungle Run. I played Rayman games on PC and PS1/2 during my childhood which were superb, and this game does not disappoint. I like playing platformers so I am easily drawn to this game. Not only the gameplay, the game was developed extremely well by Ubisoft. Not the usual ported game with long loading times, this app is quick, which makes it even more addictive. I hope other developers like Gameloft learn from Ubisoft. Recommended if you like running based sidescrollers. Satisfied with my first paid app.
Still waiting for Lumia 920 Black Update to be available... latest status shows that it's Coming Soon rclxm9.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jan 20 2014, 06:36 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Jan 19 2014, 10:34 PM)
aiyoo bro where to update. in nokia story teller and phone setting already enable the location..aiyoo pening arrr
Go to Settings then swipe (left or right) over to Applications... find the photos+camera...

Ticked the checkbox "Include location info in pictures I take" and you should be able to include in GPS location into all your new photos taken... smile.gif

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 20 2014, 06:37 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jan 21 2014, 07:15 AM

435 posts

Lumia Black Update is out OTA this morning! for Lumia 920 icon_idea.gif go and click Check for Updates...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jan 21 2014, 07:16 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 12 2014, 08:35 AM

435 posts

Something really strange happening to my L920 since I came back from Cambodia. When I switch back my carrier to Maxis upon reaching Malaysia, my phone cannot received call, cannot send SMS and no data connection when on Maxis 3G (H or H+) band. Hmm... strange huh?!...

When I forced the phone to downgrade to Maxis 2G (EDGE) band, all seems to be fine and my phone can call, can send SMS and data connection.

Just to confirm my suspicious above, I go to area which have Maxis 4G (LTE) band, data is not a problem but as soon as I want to make a phone call it will be "Call Dropped" as the phone when you make phone calls at 4G (LTE) area the phone will utilize the 3G band (H). So this confirms that my phone for whatever reason just failed to work on Maxis 3G band!?

At first I suspect is the SIM card, but when I swap the SIM to another phone, no problem at all. I also put in another Maxis SIM card into my L920 the same scenario happens (the only thing I yet to try is to put in another Telco SIM card into my phone which I dun have lol). Then I decided to wipe out my L920 and the same problem still happening zzzz... I even called out Maxis to see anything wrong with my account since I roam in Cambodia with SMART Telco and nothing was found to be unusual... sigh*** I also setup a new APN manually but to no avail with the same issue... sigh***

OK managed to get a DiGi SIM card and worst it that it won't even get connected to DiGi Telco and says no connection. When I put my own Maxis SIM card into a L630, it works flawlessly...

I suspect if my 3G antenna is fried or something? not sure if this is even possible? Anyone had encounter such scenario before? I left it for few days and the issue doesn't seems to go away funny. Seems like I need to visit Nokia Care Centre (parking at AMCORP is superbly expensive!!!)...

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 12 2014, 08:35 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 13 2014, 05:38 PM

435 posts

OMG! this is my worst nightmare lol... motherboard!... rclxub.gif

I almost bought L930 yesterday but I was taken a back when the guy from Nokia Store tell me that for walk in customer they only accept cash term and credit card is only for pre-order?! shakehead.gif ... I was like eerrr... so I a bit annoyed and walk away if not I'm using L930 now while planning to send in my L920 for repair later... but now it seems that motherboard issue may not worth to repair huh... sigh***

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 13 2014, 05:41 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 13 2014, 05:41 PM

435 posts

at first I tot easy just to drop by Nokia Store and buy it... but then this is what I was told lol...
-ahtiang-
post Jul 15 2014, 09:45 PM

435 posts

L930 Orange reporting in biggrin.gif

Having migrated directly from L920, the first impression is that how light and how heavy was that L920 which I had been using for nearly 2 years... shall update as I use it along the way... thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 15 2014, 09:47 PM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 16 2014, 06:48 AM

435 posts

Over to L930 it's by default 3 column and makes the Live Tile size a bit small but compensated by the high res full HD screen makes the fonts readable, so still better than the 3rd column on L920 in my humble opinion.

I just managed to get the phone setup and configured with all the apps installed and home screen customized, yet to fully use it. Today should be the day. Apps load time are superbly faster than L920 in every way and the bottom part of the phone near the "Search" button does feel warm then gradually to hot after some usage (similar to L920 which is at the rear camera area where the heat start to build up).

Screen wise, absolutely brilliant in terms of resolution and color compared to L920 thus a plus point as well as on the overall build quality is very good. I know many struggle to find the reason to upgrade from L920 to L930 stating that the specification on L930 is a so called 2013 spec model but WP8.1 is never hard on phone resources, so I think is a great upgrade. Btw, I read also everyone hammering L930 doesn't have Glance but they managed to put in the "Double Tap to Wake" on it, so more or less similar but a bit more battery usage compared to Glance.

Now becoz L930 is using OLED and doesn't have the PureMotion HD+ technology as L920 have, you will notice that the font's and the color of the fonts including the refresh rate on the L930 struggles to keep up with your quick swipe up and down the screen. This can be easily notice when you are in the "Settings" section or the listing of Apps.

More to share as I use it... biggrin.gif

P/S: I will review this L930 based on my usage and compare it to the L920 which I have used for nearly 2 years

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 16 2014, 07:14 AM
-ahtiang-
post Jul 17 2014, 06:50 AM

435 posts

QUOTE(Foo Mun @ Jul 17 2014, 06:16 AM)
Which model get official Windows Phone 8.1?
For Malaysia is for L625 and L925... the rest are still in Testing mode...

http://www.nokia.com/global/support/softwa...n-asia-pacific/
-ahtiang-
post Jul 26 2014, 07:53 PM

435 posts

backup to server will it work? I tried the other time on my L920 but when I logon to my L930 they only restore the Group for me and nothing on the history of the chat sad.gif
-ahtiang-
post Jul 27 2014, 08:49 AM

435 posts

the new Live Lock Screen is now available for WP 8.1

** credits goes to WP Central

This post has been edited by -ahtiang-: Jul 27 2014, 08:50 AM
-ahtiang-
post Aug 5 2014, 05:54 AM

435 posts

Folder options really works well in WP 8.1 Update 1 biggrin.gif
-ahtiang-
post Aug 6 2014, 09:30 PM

435 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Aug 6 2014, 09:08 PM)
Get Lumia Lumia 525 with 1 gb ram
Hold your horses as Lumia 530 is coming very very very soon...

0.0433sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:35 PM