11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

ABNxcess ABNxcess TV & Internet, Any comments from new users?

cedm
post Feb 24 2014, 12:47 PM

230 posts

QUOTE(Crystal2 @ Aug 8 2013, 11:01 AM)
I saw lots of bunting advertising ABNxcess Cable TV and Broadband and have pre-registered my interests in its website.

I would appreciate if anyone, who has subscribed, could comment or relate his/her experience on:
1] How long will the promotion price remain at RM98.99 (for 10 Mbps & TV) after installation?
2] How is the TV programs compared to Astro and HyppTV?
3] Any intermittent delays when viewing TV?
4] Whether its 10 Mbps broadband is stable and reliable? Any downtime so far?
5] What is the average speed recorded during speed-test?
6] Whether there will be landline or DECT Phone connectivity?
7] What is the range & speed of the built-in Wifi Router?
8] Any user email address provided? 

Thank You.
Been using ABN for a week now. Works pretty well, no complain so far. I'm on the RM99/month package (10Mbps / 50 channels).

To reply some of your questions:

#1 I believe this promotion price last for as long as you're subscribed. No mention of a limit period in the terms and conditions. Futhermore, you can get an extra RM200 discount if you switch from another broadband provider to ABN (RM20 off every bill for the next 10 month) * I didn't bother to claim that myself, but the flyer and sales guy told me I was eligible.

#2 Never had Astro nor HyppTV, but the TV channels are somewhat average. TV is not important to me anyway.

#3 Didn't notice anything.

#4 Stable and no downtime so far (been using it for 1 week).

#5 10Mbps down and 2Mbps up to the nearest Malaysian server. Speed will drop when connecting to overseas servers, obviously.

#6 No phone service.

#7 Wifi G spec only (54Mbps max). It's not N-spec, though the range is better than the N-spec wifi I used to have, so it's quite alright.

#8 Don't think so but the TV have an email option. I didn't investigate further.

SUSMNet
post Feb 24 2014, 06:09 PM

11,954 posts

cheaper than unifi 5mbps rm149/month

chiwee
post Feb 25 2014, 12:02 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(kae7 @ Feb 23 2014, 11:12 AM)
There are various package
starting from 5Mbps, 10Mbps, 30Mbps, and 50Mbps
QUOTE(MNet @ Feb 23 2014, 01:56 PM)

my package 5Mbps RM69.99/month
I see. I thought lowest is 10mbps from ABNxcess, as their site didn't mention about 5mpbs.

This post has been edited by chiwee: Feb 25 2014, 12:11 AM
SUSMNet
post Feb 25 2014, 08:14 PM

11,954 posts

wah their ceo Sreedhar reply to my email with his private mobile number?
http://www.imghst.org/uploads/9tm49kwdkeqi.jpg

got mention 5mbps

rootlinux
post Feb 25 2014, 08:47 PM

898 posts

Can someone share the devices installed by ABNxcess at your premise? Thank u.

tomyamseller17
post Feb 25 2014, 11:11 PM

205 posts

One thing I don't like is their pre-registration that asks for your NRIC no. even before they can guarantee coverage expansion to your area.

Worst, their T&C clearly states they will reserve the right to utilize your personal data for marketing purposes by 3rd parties such as their agents, advisors and affiliates.

9. Personal Data

(a) Personal Data will be obtained from Subscriber at the time of subscription for the Services or as may be requested from Subscriber by ABN at any time thereafter or from existing Personal Data which had been collected by ABN previously.

(b) Subscriber hereby consent to the use, processing and/or providing of any and all of the Personal Data by ABN for the following purposes of
(i) providing the Services;
(ii) marketing any products or services of ABN, its affiliates and/or ABN’s business partners, including any promotional campaigns;
(iii) complying with any statutory or legal obligations and any applicable laws, rules, regulations, codes orders and/or directions issued from time to time by any bureau, statutory and/or regulatory body;
(iv) credit checking or for credit monitoring or record by third party;
(v) to process your payment transaction;
(vi) respond to your inquiries;
(vii) conduct internal activities;
(viii) market surveys and trend analysis;
(ix) to communicate with the Subscriber;
(x) any other activities which are ancillary to the Services; and/or
(x) other legitimate business activities of ABN;

© Subscriber also consent to the disclosure of any and all of the Personal Data to:-
(i) ABN’s affiliates;
(ii) any telecommunications provider in connection with the Services;
(iii) ABN’s agents, auditors and advisers and those of ABN’s affiliates;
(iv) any other parties which provides retail products and services (for the purposes of marketing activities);
(v) any organisation which provides credit checking services;
(vi) any entity or person, the disclosure to which is reasonably necessary or desirable for the provision of the Services; and
(vii) the transfer by ABN of the Personal Data to locations outside Malaysia for any of the purposes set out above.

(d) Subscriber may request for access to or correction of the Personal Data or for limiting the processing of the Personal Data at any time hereafter by submitting such request to ABN in writing to the “Personal Data Protection Officer” via ABN Cable Guy.

If they are serious and respect customer's privacy, all they need is Name, Address Location of Install and preferred mode of contact(tel no for house line/mobile or email).

They are asking for many private confidential details even before they can confirm their expansion, that makes them dubious or even take advantage of the situation for getting your contacts.
SUSMNet
post Mar 2 2014, 11:27 PM

11,954 posts

abnxcess system not yet mature.

even u applied and installed, they did not even ask for ur IC

SUSstren89
post Mar 14 2014, 02:31 PM

276 posts

ABNxcess request coverage to Ipoh postcode areas:

31650 (Pasir Putih/Pinji)
31350 (Gunung Rapat)
30300 (Ipoh Central CBD)

The other suburbs already have UniFi so you will face fierce competition.
These postcodes already have UniFi in Ipoh:

31400 (Bercham/Tasek/Ipoh Garden)
30020 (Jelapang/First Garden)
SUSMNet
post Mar 14 2014, 08:48 PM

11,954 posts

u gather many people from same area and send them the application form

SUSstren89
post Mar 14 2014, 09:49 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(MNet @ Mar 14 2014, 08:48 PM)
u gather many people from same area and send them the application form
You can send a few sales people to areas under these postcode:

31650 (Pasir Putih/Pinji/Pengkalan/Station 18)
31350 (Gunung Rapat)
30000 (Ipoh Old Town and CBD)
30450 (Greentown & Ipoh Parade)

I'll be very sure when you tell them the price RM99.90 for 10mbps people will be signing up your interests form until you won't have enough in hand to hand out. Many people still cannot even get 4M until now due to very old copper cabling in the city.

Trust me we have waited for UniFi since 2008 and no news until today. Don't waste your time going after UniFi areas like Bercham, Ipoh Gardens and Tasek. They already have too many options to choose from UniFi, Maxis Fibre and P1.Very tough competition.

Sure you will call me out for belanja kopi after this. Every cyber cafe, shop in town and even residence dying to see a new alternative after being stucked with 1-2mbps Streamyx for so many years.
SUSMNet
post Mar 14 2014, 10:29 PM

11,954 posts

General Network Information
---------------------------
Network Name : ASIAN BROADCASTING NETWORK (M) SDN BHD
Name Aliases :
Primary ASN : 132514
IRR AS-SET :
Network Type : Cable/DSL/ISP
Approx BGP Prefixes : 4
Traffic Levels : 100-1000Mbps
Traffic Ratios : Heavy Inbound
Geographic Scope : Regional
Supported Protocols : Coming Soon
Looking Glass URL :
Route Server URL :
Public Notes :
Record Created Date : 2013-07-18 07:13:01
Last Updated Date : 2013-08-15 16:47:45
Peering Policy Information
--------------------------
Peering Policy URL :
General Policy : Open
Location Requirement : Not Required
Ratio Requirement : No
Contract Requirement : Not Required
Contact Information
-------------------
Role Name E-Mail Phone
---- ---- ------ -----
Technical Tan Chin Aik tanchinaik@abnxcess.com +60133995331
Technical NOC noc@abnxcess.com
Public Peering Information - 2
--------------------------
Exchange Point ASN IP Address Capacity
-------------- --- ---------- --------
MyIX 132514 218.100.44.164/24 500 Mbps
MyIX 132514 2001:DE8:10::65/112 500 Mbps
Private Peering Information
---------------------------
Facility Name ASN City Country
------------- --- ---- -------

seongmeng
post Mar 17 2014, 05:43 PM

567 posts

which area is under coverage now??
will4848
post Mar 17 2014, 05:46 PM

UNKNOWN
5,520 posts

setapak n wangsa maju area got coverage ?
odin88
post Mar 18 2014, 12:46 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(will4848 @ Mar 17 2014, 05:46 PM)
setapak n wangsa maju area got coverage ?
http://www.abnxcess.com/service-availability/
pcphobic
post May 8 2014, 08:50 PM

287 posts

Saw their ABNxcess outlet in Taipan USJ today. same row with Coffee Bean. Just a few doors away only from Magnum 4D.

chuahcs79
post May 8 2014, 09:20 PM

6,931 posts

saw ABNxcess sales team in penang a few places setting booth,.. but interesting thing is those area zero coverages doh.gif
goolias
post May 10 2014, 03:49 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(rootlinux @ Feb 25 2014, 08:47 PM)
Can someone share the devices installed by ABNxcess at your premise? Thank u.
2 motorola devices to be installed near your living hall TV
Coax cable laid from outside of your house to one of motorola devices and from this device connect to another motorola devices.
Same like Unifi that comes with one BTU and one router, except they dun provide voice (phone).

Thing I dun like:
The coax cable is damn ugly compare to the thin optical cable

Thing i like:
Motorola device run very cool, Motorla wifi signal is much stable than Unifi default router.
echoesian
post May 12 2014, 04:21 PM

3,253 posts

Can anyone here confirm if CCTV is able to use? Does it provide public IP?
canon18
post May 12 2014, 06:37 PM

162 posts

Thec sales man said abn xcess infrastructure is fiber optic. Is it ?
Madd3rz
post May 18 2014, 07:55 AM

183 posts

QUOTE(canon18 @ May 12 2014, 06:37 PM)
Thec sales man said abn xcess infrastructure is fiber optic. Is it ?
the fiber optic structure is until your house area,then they convert to coax RG6 cable to distribute the cable service into the neighbourhood.You'll see straight cable under the TNB wires.They're using HFC(Hybrid Fiber Technology).

11 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0252sec    0.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:33 PM